Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tale of family life in a Welsh valley.
Classic tale of family life in a Welsh valley at the beginning of the 20th Century. It's the story of Huw Morgan, son of a Collier in a small Welsh village, and his family. It depicts life in a small mining village at the turn of the Century, and how the lives of the Morgan family changed with the times. It also shows how the mines changed the Welsh landscape.
A...
Published on 14 Mar 2000 by richard@babfive.freeserve.co.uk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars matylda
I really enjoyed this old classic film. When I bought the film I was led to believe it was in colour as the image on the DVD showed this to be so. Unfortunately it was a black and white film and did feel rather let down by the sellers mis-packaging.
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by matylda


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How Gree Was My Valley, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased as a Classic, but much outdated in its photography, story line and acting, sadly now terribly old fashioned. Not really worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Green Was My Valley dvd, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant dvd, acting wonderful as was the casting. In black and white it certainly caught the atmosphere of the time. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dated beyond belief, 30 Jun 2011
This film won Best Film in 1941, and Halliwell rated it 3/4 stars, so it must have been a fine movie at some point in the past, and no doubt I thought so when I saw it many years ago. But it has dated badly, and to be honest, I found it hard to stop laughing at all the terrible cliches.

How is it that a poor Welsh mining family in 'the valleys' lives in a house the quality of which would make it the envy of the Natioanl Trust, with grandfather clock, wood panelling, capacious saloons, etc? This was just the most obvious of all the awful cliches on show. Of course, the miners all march solemnly up the hill singing in tune, and back down again, and the woman in the sweet shop wears the traditional costume, and if there was a Welsh accent in there, I didn't hear it - the script was mostly cliched Irish, including the traditional Irish drinking games, is it, (a la 'Oh Mr Porter').

70 years has badly dated this movie which once pandered to the basic emotional cliches of the then mass-cinema audiences of the 40s, and is now to be viewed for its unintentional laughs. Sad, but true...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mother,s day present, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mother was very pleased with her present for mother,s day, not a easy film to find, i know where to look in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Because I was very pleased and will enjoy watching again and again and I do not want to say any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Funniest thing you'll see (if you're Welsh), 1 Nov 2012
By 
K. Richards (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Worst film I've ever seen. This might be because the book is so magnificent, and the ridiculous treatment of it is somewhat insulting. The full Californian knowledge of the South Wales valleys is brought to bear. You can imagine. The accents are hilarious, the vast, ranch-like size of the 'cottage' inside, as opposed to outside cracked me up, the miners singing in perfect four-point harmony as they walk up the street (quite a few of them mincing magnificently, I noticed) are straight off Broadway, the hairstyles of our leading ladies are enough to knock your eyes out (all miners wives spent four hours per day under the dryer having their make-up done, it would appear). Oh, such a terrible, terrible waste of a wonderful, sincere story. If you like the panto, you'll probably get on OK with this. I had to give it a star, or the review wouldn't be accepted. Ignore the star, do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived on time as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Green Was My Valley [Blu-ray] [1941]
How Green Was My Valley [Blu-ray] [1941] by John Ford (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews