Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tale of family life in a Welsh valley.
Classic tale of family life in a Welsh valley at the beginning of the 20th Century. It's the story of Huw Morgan, son of a Collier in a small Welsh village, and his family. It depicts life in a small mining village at the turn of the Century, and how the lives of the Morgan family changed with the times. It also shows how the mines changed the Welsh landscape.
A...
Published on 14 Mar 2000 by richard@babfive.freeserve.co.uk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars matylda
I really enjoyed this old classic film. When I bought the film I was led to believe it was in colour as the image on the DVD showed this to be so. Unfortunately it was a black and white film and did feel rather let down by the sellers mis-packaging.
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by matylda


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia - Film and Book brilliant, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seen this as a child and remember thinking how lucky I was not to be born in these tough times. Colourful story of everyday life in a very close knit mining community. Big families, Fathers and Mother ruling the roost in such tough economic conditions. Great film that has stuck with me, the book is equally a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another black and white classic., 19 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderfully acted by all,perhaps if some of the bit-part players had been given more screen time the film would have had a much broader appeal in my view.

As it is,Donald Crisp,Wally Pidgeon,Roddy McDowall and Maureen O'Hara take center stage but I felt there was much more that could have been made of the other Morgan sons; all of whom reflected the changing times of the late 19th century in that they looked to the Unions for help in their fight with the mine owners and were to eventually emigrate as was typical for many Brits.

The film still has bags of appeal though,and carries a strong message about family loyalty and the traditional values of the Welsh mining communities and their lifestyle.

As usual a colourised illustration advertises the film on the dvd jacket:the production is in BLACK/WHITE you morons whom designed the jacket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars matylda, 31 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this old classic film. When I bought the film I was led to believe it was in colour as the image on the DVD showed this to be so. Unfortunately it was a black and white film and did feel rather let down by the sellers mis-packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 30 Jun 2010
Have seen this film many years ago, the magic is still there. Nostalgic, romantic, and "clean".
An excellent viewing for folk who can imagine how hard life used to be. Hollandaise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 15 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film it is all about Welsh life and their hardship in the coal mines it is also a love story it makes me and my family cry every time we watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy remastering for Hollywood's best film of 1941., 22 Nov 2005
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Richard Llewellyn's poignant, nostalgic novel "How Green Was My Valley" appeared in 1939. Hollywood was quick to work on a film adaptation, requiring a top director and producer, the recreation of a Welsh mining village in California, assembling a Welsh male choir and all the other essential requirements. Its success might be measured by the swag of academy awards and nominations it received, triumphing over such contenders for best picture as "Citizen Kane" and "The Maltese Falcon".

There is an appeal to the heart here. Homely, sturdy values and speech idioms of long ago are displayed in their best light. There is also an appeal to the mind. Political issues are examined, as are the effects of capitalization, worker exploitation and unionism.

Because a reading of the book and a viewing of the film have always moved me deeply, I have avoided them for many years. I recently watched the DVD version however, and can report that the DVD remastering has been completely successful. Although 1941 was a good year for cinematography, sound track quality was far from satisfactory. Some slight enhancing has been done here to render the choral singing and orchestral sound at least tolerable. Dialogue is clear.

The film immortalizes the work of veteran actors Donald Crisp and Sara Allgood, who play the parts of Gwillym and Beth Morgan, the parents of the mining family. It also best shows the child acting talent of Roddy McDowell, then aged 13. And it is Irving Pinchel who provides the unforgettable narration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillent, 3 Nov 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this for my granny and she just loved it she has been looking 4 it for ages and i found it here on amazon and u would have thought all her christmases had come at once when i handed it to her ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Men like my father cannot die.", 22 Dec 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A man recalls his early days growing up in a small village in Wales, the youngest in a family of coal miners. His father was wise and strong, his mother gentle, his brothers hard workers, and his only sister beautiful. They faced the ups and downs of life with courage and hope.

This Best Picture of 1941 has become a classic and deservedly so. The hard life of the miners contrasts with the warmth of family and neighbors, and the respect and loyalty of the Morgan family is inspiring. Roddy McDowell is adorable as the youngest in the family; he gives a restrained performance that is sympathetic without being too sweet. Donald Crisp is perfect as his father, a simple yet wise man. Maureen O'Hara is lovely as the sister, even though her storyline isn't fully developed or resolved.

This is a sentimental look back at a simpler time, a man's memories of his childhood in a loving family. It's quite touching and makes me wish there could be movies made like this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love film, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Green Was My Valley [Blu-ray] [1941] (Blu-ray)
This is a great copy of a lovely film. Anyone who has blu-ray would be advised
to add it to there collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good she loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Green Was My Valley [Blu-ray] [1941]
How Green Was My Valley [Blu-ray] [1941] by John Ford (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews