Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful revelation!
I've always enjoyed stuff produced/presented/offered by Jools Holland. He himself is a gem! However, this particular collection of offerings is one of the best ever. I have really relished the combination of some of my favourite 'golden oldie' songs, but performed by some of the younger talent each in their own inimicable style without losing the essence of the...
Published 21 months ago by Janey M (Happy Teacher)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not something exceptional either
Same old Jools Holland! Not bad, but not something exceptional either!
Published 3 months ago by Mar E. Psarros


‹ Previous | 14 5 633 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fab mix of songs, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
it has a good mix of artists. Thoroughly an enjoyable CD to listen to the different styles and moods it gives. Good addition to any CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gr8, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
We always watch Jools Holland when he is on TV and make an exception always on New Year's Eve for his Hootmahony (I probably have spelled this wrong, but you know what I mean) and I thought I would treat my husband to this CD of his. He loved it, and on further investigation, he didn't know that Jools Holland has a number of various CD's from his shows. We certainly will be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done Jools aND MANY THANKS, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
LOVED IT ALL ESPECIALLY CARO EMERALD INTRO.HURRY UP AND MAKE ANOTHER DVD.WITH HER HOW ABOUT A JOINT DVD? THANKS A LOT. CHEERS scud scudxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Compilation of Classics, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
I happened to stumble upon this album when looking for an mp3 version of Amy Winehouse and Paul Weller's rendition of 'Don't Go to Strangers'. Having looked at the tracklist I decided to buy the whole album rather than just the single, and I am very pleased with my decision! I knew most of these songs, but had never heard these versions before, and have been blown away by some of them. Stand out tracks are the aforementioned 'Don't Go to Strangers', as well as Paolo Nutini's storming rendition of 'Lovin Machine' and Florence Welch's 'My Baby Just Cares for Me'. I haven't given it 5 stars because it isn't perfect, due to the inclusion of a couple of rather forgettable songs on here, but that's to be expected on a compilation of 17 songs, so don't let that put you off. Very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jools Holland cd, 24 Jan 2014
By 
K. L. Naylor "karen naylor" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
Product arrived promptly and in good order. This was a Christmas gift that my husband had on his Amazon wish list and he is very happy with his gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
Like Jools Holland album, had read other good reviews on the album so decided to buy ..It is a good album... plus quick delivery from vendor so happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Xmas gift, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
This was on a Xmas wish list and the recipient was pleased to receive it. I am guessing it was just what they wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a good present for anyone with a large Jazz collection!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
Bought this for my Dad who has an astonishingly large collection of Jazz music from all the greats, and hoped that since this is newly released and guest stars some of todays musical jewels singing, it might interest my Dad in finding out more about the artists featured giving me further options for future gifts - It worked! he loves it. Thanks Jools, another great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous., 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
This is a really fab CD.there is not one track on it that I did not like.I am a fan of duet CDs and this one did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age Of Song, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Song (Audio CD)
The content of this volume is excellent and does Jools proud. The length of the tracks is just right for a "fill in" whilst performing house chores,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 633 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Age Of Song
The Golden Age Of Song by Jools Holland & His Rhythm & Blues Orchestra (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews