Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars417
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2012
Have all of Jools' s albums and this one is just a brilliant album.....just have to keep playing and playing it. a must have in any ones collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
This is a superb collaboration with some real standout tracks - Jessie J and Rumer amongst them. Well worth downloading.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I don't think there is a such a thing as a bad Jools Holland album. The guy oozes musical nous from every pore and both his shows and albums are all largely brilliant. "The Golden Age Of Song", a loosely-themed celebration of classic music from the last century, is no exception and, although there are certainly some songs and collaborations which work better than others, the album, as a whole, is extremely enjoyable. As well as new recordings, there are a selection of performances from previous New Year's Eve "Hootenanny" shows which thankfully include Cee-Lo Green's version of Jackie Wilson's "Reet Petite" from 2010. My other favourite tracks are "Acc-Cen-Tu-Ate The Positive" (sung with gusto by Rumer), James Morrison's excellent rendition of "A Place In The Sun", "Don't Go To Strangers", featuring Amy Winehouse and Paul Weller (from the 2006 "Hootenanny" and worth the price of the album itself), Florence Welch's playful run through Nina Simone's "My Baby Just Cares For Me" and Caro Emerald's smouldering "Mad About The Boy". Least favourite are Jessie J's over-baked delivery of Oleta Adams' "Get Here", Lily Rose Cooper's attempt at a ska-flavoured "The Lady Is A Tramp" which sadly finds her out of her musical depth and Ruby Turner's "Get Away Jordan" which is a bit repetitive and gets a little boring quickly. Having said that, the negatives on this album are few and far between and there's much more gold here than anything less precious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 November 2015
Jools Holland, along with his brilliant Rhythm & Blues Orchestra, and a quality-picked line-up of singing talent gave us this very special collaboration album in December 2012, and what an excellent record it is.

If jazz, blues and soul satisfies you're appetite in terms of music and gets you're body moving, then I have no hesitations in recommending that you purchase 'The Golden Age of Song'. As the title suggests, the star name guests join Jools and the guys to deliver some of the most iconic songs from the 'golden age' of jazz, along with some lesser-heard gems and new material from the pen of the multi-talented Jools himself. The results are impressive, as everyone involved manage to deliver their own new refreshing stamp on these great songs, and the vocals of the guest artists are truly outstanding.

I obtained this initially for two of my favourite artist's contributions, Paolo Nutini on 'Lovin' Machine', and 'A Place In The Sun' with James Morrison, both of which will delight real fans of these two young men. However, there isn't one song on here that I really dislike, and with the likes of powerful contemporary female voices such as Paloma Faith, Joss Stone, Florence Welch, and the late Amy Winehouse also on board, it is obvious that it was hoped that this collection would appeal to both young and old alike. It may well have succeed in that aim, and certainly deserved to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Good album with stars covering songs from different eras. Especially loved Ruby Turner, and Amy Winehouse. Found my grandson (5) enjoyed dancing to most of the tracks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
So if you like JH & everything he touches; you'll love this.
If you don't know his work then this would make a great introduction to a brilliant musician with some fantastic collaborations.

The problem is that if you've ever thought "bit same-y" when listening to JH, this won't blow you away.

Now, I'm a fan, & I like his work, & love his collaborations; I just have to say that there's no particular innovation here. That's not a problem & it's a great album. You should just know what to expect. More great tunes from the man & all his friends!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
as you would expect from Jools Holland, excellent music, production, and performances. Can't go wrong really would recommend to any one into good music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Another fantastic collection, with great collaborations. You just know that the band is enjoying performing as much as you will enjoy listening.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Loved this - especially Rumer. The different artists are great. Wasn't sure what to expect, it's jazzy which surprised me that I enjoyed!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Great album with such a wide variation of talented artists, if you like Jools you will love this it,s a great buy,
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)