Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Christmas present for my rock loving husband!
There are lots of rock compilations out there so I did my research before choosing this one. Some of the compilations have some good tunes but then the rest are 'fillers' that most people probably wouldn't know. These 3 discs are all excellent with not a 'filler' in sight! I would definitely recommend this compilation to anyone who loves rock guitar music.
Published 6 months ago by Janeyjane

versus
54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Basic Misunderstanding
This is a collection of 61 songs. The chances are you'll like quite a few of them, may even view some as classics.
As is always the case there is a lot of filler & old standards & the chances are that if you like any of these you'd have gotten them by now if you were ever going to get them.
These albums used to sell fine by CD release as they put a lot of tracks...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Basic Misunderstanding, 13 Nov 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Greatest Guitar Riffs of All Time (MP3 Download)
This is a collection of 61 songs. The chances are you'll like quite a few of them, may even view some as classics.
As is always the case there is a lot of filler & old standards & the chances are that if you like any of these you'd have gotten them by now if you were ever going to get them.
These albums used to sell fine by CD release as they put a lot of tracks in one place which was convenient.
Now with MP3 it's just far too easy to collect you're own album together from your own library. Including gathering in the roughly chronological order shown here.

All this is secondary however to the fact that this album has absolutely nothing to do with guitar riffs.
The first section is the worst with some songs all but completely without anything even remotely like a guitar riff in them. Added to that is some real basic errors like the old Top of the Pops theme version of 'Whole lotta love' instead of Zeppelin's original!
The second section at least gets most of the tracks to have some recognisable riffing but this all collapses once more with disc 3, Coldplay's 'Yellow'?! If you like it then fine but it's hardly a guitar classic now is it?

It's hard to see the point in an album that doesn't contain what it claims to. I won't bore you with tracks missing as personal taste means too many to mention to keep everyone happy but surely the likes of ACDC, Jimmy Hendrix, Aerosmith, Blur, Oasis & even the darkness for crying out loud are better set for riff filled tracks than half of the tracks on here.

A pretty mediocre track listing that can't even achieve the album title's remit means that this is an overpriced cash in that doesn't deserve your hard earned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suffers due to lacking the bands who don't let their stuff go on compilations, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
That means AC/DC, Led Zeppelin etc etc, so while there are some obvious inclusions here there are some notable absentees. There is also the issue that the collection opens with a BASS riff - I know, I know it's a bass "guitar" - but hopefuly you will know what I mean. There are also some other "dubious" bass heavy entries such as "higher ground" by Red Hot Chilli Peppers and "peaches" by the Stranglers along with those riff-fests "wonderful Land" by the Shadows and "make me smile" by Cockney Rebel, decent enough songs, but "greatest" guitar riffs? No.

So what we have here is yet another "Rock" compilation that to be fair manages to juxtapose EMF with Iron Maiden and the Beach Boys with the Ruts which may be a first, but check the track listing and if you are any sort of a "rock" fan you will already have 90% of these tracks already so while a decent enough collection this is hardly a Must Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pile of stinky poo of an album., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS IS RUBBISH. Worst "guitar" album I've ever bought. There are some stinkers on here! I'm pretty sure some of the songs don't ever have a riff on them!

Save yourself some money and but one of the 6 disc 100 hits of rock type compilations. All the good ones are on there and none of the crap ones from this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Christmas present for my rock loving husband!, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are lots of rock compilations out there so I did my research before choosing this one. Some of the compilations have some good tunes but then the rest are 'fillers' that most people probably wouldn't know. These 3 discs are all excellent with not a 'filler' in sight! I would definitely recommend this compilation to anyone who loves rock guitar music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent album
May not have every song you would have put in but then the album would have been endless
If you don't already have some of these great songs then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of songs, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Guitar Riffs of All Time (MP3 Download)
Great collection of riffs to chill out to. Really enjoying this album. I would recommend it if you don't have most on the song list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 July 2013
I got these CDs as a birthday present. In my opinion they are SUPERB. 61 tracks of some of the finest guitar playing ever on three CDs. I accept that there are tracks that are not on them. However, I can not wait for a long car journey. It will go so quickly and be a real pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is other good addition to my collection so I am very pleased pleased with it. I seem to be playing it every day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bought as gift, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as gift, if you look at track listing is got some really great/classic rock anthems.
it was well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Guitar Riffs of All Time (MP3 Download)
This is amazing - so many great songs and well put together - a must for anyone who likes this kind of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews