Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of conflict with Free Trail Home Office Premium 365!
Amazon was great as usual; Word 2013 is beautiful, but I made the mistake of trying out the Free Trial Home Office that came with a new Lenovo 580 computer. I should have deleted the thing instantly and completely. I got to successfully enter the serial number in the box -you don't get a disk - but then it wouldn't download Word 2013 itself! Amazingly I found the...
Published on 28 Mar. 2013 by Stuart Cloete

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 steps back
Take a step back into the black and white world of 1960s TV with the new monochrome interface. Which shouts at you because it uses ALL CAPITALS in the tab labels. That's the obvious stuff. The annoying ribbon is still just as annoying as ever, resizing and moving the icons round apparently randomly if you change the size of the window or screen resolution. You also still...
Published 22 months ago by Comical Engineer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 steps back, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC) (Software)
Take a step back into the black and white world of 1960s TV with the new monochrome interface. Which shouts at you because it uses ALL CAPITALS in the tab labels. That's the obvious stuff. The annoying ribbon is still just as annoying as ever, resizing and moving the icons round apparently randomly if you change the size of the window or screen resolution. You also still get to play "hunt the icon" with the seriously annoying "context sensitive" menus. Ribbon customisation is equally as time consuming and clunky.

More pain comes with "live layout" - which is supposed to make text flow smoothly round pictures etc that you have inserted into the text. Except that whenever I try to put a picture in where I want it, Word insists in putting it somewhere else, e.g. at the end of a section or even another seemingly random page! Now, text wrap worked just fine in Office 2003, so 10 years on and another step back in useability.

Text still defaults to some ridiculous line spacing unless you re-edit it and the massive number of "themes" are still pathetic. Outline numbering is stupidly complex and the keyboard shortcuts are still bizarre e.g. why is the VIEW shortcut <ALT W> when there is no tab that begins with the letter V?

MS Office is like a new model of a car that has the clutch where the brake should be, all the gears in the wrong order and a huge bloated dashboard full of useless, distracting controls that obscures the view of the road. It doesn't add any new useful functions and is even less pleasant to look at than Office 2010. Most formatting options e.g. the "paragraph" menu is just the same as in Office 2000(!) except it's not more difficult to find.

The price of this software is ridiculous when compared against similarly performing products like Libre Office and Kingsoft Office (both free).

Don't buy unless you absolutely MUST have the latest version of Word (although I can't think of any good reason).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Last word 2013, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Dr. L. Offerhaus "lion temple" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC) (Software)
Unfortunately I completely agree with the last comment made by "comical engineer"; Word 2013 is a disaster. Normally I use WordPerfect, now in vs 6, but unfortunately Corel for commercial resasons only issued a French and an English version. But I am happy with that elegant software. I also use Word (as a necessity in connection with Email), but as the 2007 version was passable, the new one is a hopeless deterioration: The toolboxes are cluttered with myriad of mysterious symbols and references which nobody needs. There is no use of colour, and the lettering is hardly readable, and there is no system to enlarge the letters. Adding simple symbols and accents (normal for scientific and literary documents) is a time-consuming and confusing exercise. The problem is that most journal editors request submission of tekst in Word as most of them have no software available to translate from other word processors. After some delay I discovered where I could insert footnotes and endnotes but again this part of the software is unclear and confusing. I pity those students who have no choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of conflict with Free Trail Home Office Premium 365!, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC) (Software)
Amazon was great as usual; Word 2013 is beautiful, but I made the mistake of trying out the Free Trial Home Office that came with a new Lenovo 580 computer. I should have deleted the thing instantly and completely. I got to successfully enter the serial number in the box -you don't get a disk - but then it wouldn't download Word 2013 itself! Amazingly I found the freephone UK helpline number and a fantastic Russian lady took control of my computer, totally cleared the trial and brought Word through. I can't give you advice, but beware. After entering the long serial code don't hit the install button on the very next page that comes up. Scroll down that page to Word 2013 and hit that Install. They should clearly state in a different colour that Word Install is way down below. Good luck; as software it is the best yet. You get a very useful tile on your desktop for Word in the superb Windows 8 system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Features, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC) (Software)
Full of features/tools which I will probably not use, so I guess could have designed a cheaper 'stripped down' version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC) (Software)
Best Word program to this day. Very powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars latest version of word, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC) (Software)
keeping updated with latest version in word is much faster and easier to do word in computer at home and office
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC)
Microsoft Word 2013, Licence Card, 1 User (PC) by Microsoft Software (Windows 7 / 8)
£90.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews