Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wine Book
This is the third year I've bought this book and found it very useful. Luckily the wines that are recommended are ones that we enjoy and they are generally easy to find in our local supermarkets. This makes choosing and buying wine much easier especially with the suggestions about which wine should be drunk with different food.
Published 21 months ago by H. Holland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all Wines easily found on the shelves
This book is great for Internet shopping - it's use is a bit restrictive standing in the supermarket aisles!

Have had the book for a couple of weeks now and have purchased some of the recommended wines - so far so good :)
Published 15 months ago by SheilaA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Hubby liked it - a lot!, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't get much chance to read this as it caught my husband's eye and he read it, and carried on reading it, he rates it and considering he is a 'grumpy old man who knows everything' it made him happy and that's well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fine, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all fine. No idea whether useful or not. but it was appreciated..... a little bit of fun and so on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Little Book., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my son's birthday. I had a look at it and it really is a comprehensive and very useful list of wines of all types, in all the big supermarkets. I would certainly carry it around whilst shopping. I never know what is good or bad, and this will certainly guide you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and vital tool, 7 Mar 2013
Even as an enthusiastic amateur it is difficult to avoid wine purchasing sometimes by "label appeal" and the insidious supermarket "half price" tactic, when trying new wine.
Ned's book, or easier still the web portal [accessed by purchasing the book] is an accurate, quick and easy way to filter out the rubbish. I cannot rate this service to wine lovers enough. Thanks Ned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just want everyday drinkers should have, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Diane Byett "Working Mother" (E.Sussex. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good layout and easy to use on a regular basis. Connoisseurs would be surprised at what good value wines some supermarkets offer at remarkably reasonable prices! Non-connoisseurs can equally benefit from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great wine book, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is ideal for picking out bargains and getting good tasting wines at your local supermarket, especially Aldi as I'm sometimes wary of trying out cheap wines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cost-effective way to enjoy good wines, 16 Feb 2013
For those who used to buy Malcolm Gluck's Superplonk book, this is very similar. It ranks selected supermarket wines out of 10, relative to their price (so a 5 10/10 will be a great value wine and very tasty but probably not as good as an 8 10/10). Generally only those wines with scores of 7/10 or 8/10 and above make it into the book. I have used this book often since receiving it as a Christmas present and the wines we have bought, from under 5 to over 10 and generally with scores of 9 and 10 out of 10, have been fantastic drinking wines and exceptional value. It makes buying everyday slurping wines fun and much less of a lottery, helping you to navigate through the wide range of largely average wines sold in Supermarkets, finding real quality and value in unexpected places. For those, like me who have an interest in wine but do not profess to be expert, this book enables you to taste wines with varietal and regional characteristics without having to spend a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great wine guide, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really practical and useful guide to cut through all those 'special' supermarket deals and ensure that you don't waste you money.Never bought a bad bottle of wine thanks to this book, writen by the wine expert on the west country regional newspaper the 'Western Daily Press' and recommend it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not an expert on wine, but do enjoy drinking it! This book has already provided us with enough info to get some good wine at excellent prices. Will use this throughout the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and quality, 2 Jan 2013
This book continues to provide excellent value for money and quality. It never fails to deliver on great advice and hints on the wines that the supermarkets stock. It can save you from wasting time and money buying mediocre or poor wines. A must have for any wine fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews