Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WeMo Belkin switch
FANTASTIC! It operates from an app on my iPhone and it accepts programmes which it calls rules you can make on your iPhone. I find it easier to work than the conventional automated switches for home security and switching on of lights etc. You have a remote facility too which you need to enable in your app settings once you've set up the WeMo. You must download the...
Published 15 months ago by Cheryl

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can work on WiFi 802.11n but...
iPhone 5 users be aware - can work on WiFi 802.11n but only at 2.4Ghz not 5Ghz - not impressed!
Published 4 months ago by Rafu


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great interface, shame it's on WiFi, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
I can't believe that in order to make this work, I would have to install a Homeplug wireless system over the power lines, and that would still be a better way of controlling devices from a smartphone than X10 or Z-Wave etc. I don't have the Wi-fi range, but I do have power and ethernet, not that it helps.

What makes this even more ridiculous is that there is a Homeplug protocol for switching called Homeplug command and control (HPCC). It can turn every appliance or electric light into an energy efficent networked and controllable device just by plugging it in.

I guess there is some sort of patent dispute and they can't agree on prices, so nothing happens, and this incredibly logical technology which will would sweep the world is held up for another few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Andy CI (UK Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
These are unreal le.. I have 6 and spent 5 minutes in a dark house due to the iPhone app bit updating. Each time I load it, I get a different amount of switches. Great idea badly executed. Reported to support and they basically say turn it off and on again... Ironically that's what I try and do with the switches.

Wifi at home is high end Cisco - I work in it for a living... This is not a wifi / router issue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
Piece of junk simply does not work. Not worth any stars at all. Dont waste your time and money. One day I will buy a Belkin product that is satisfactory but not this rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WEMO LIMITATIONS WITH RANGE EXTENDER, 25 Nov 2012
By 
W. Simpson "Will" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
Basically Wemo is a really useful product but beware if you have more than one switch, and you have a range extender in your house. If one switch is logged via the range extender & the other is on the main router, they may not both show up, especially when you try remote access. Belkin say that they have not fixed this problem 'yet', so maybe a software upgrade will fix this sometime in the future.Belkin WeMo Home Automation Switch and Motion Sensor Bundle for Apple iPhone,iPad and iPod Touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be really useful BUT..., 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
I bought two of these to control remotely the heating in a cottage we own. If that is all you need they seem to work well. Each switch is very easy to set up and in addition to simple on-off commands from your i-phone you can also set timed periods. Now the down sides! They use your wi-fi router to communicate and the range to the router seems to be quite limited - not necessarily same room but not anywhere in the house. Also there is the inexpicable failure of Belkin to supply an Android version of the control app so you must have an i-phone or i-pad. Also it doesn't tell you in the sales info that you cannot control switches in more than one house [well you could if you bought 2 i-phones!]. Finally I got a movement detector with my second kit but cannot think of anything useful to do with it! When setup it automaticaly activates a wemo switch when triggered by movement - so what? If Belkin developed the software so that the movement could trigger a text message that would be really useful. So only 3 stars but if Belkin put some effort into developing the software they could be really good.

Addendum: just learned about IFTTT logic which should enable everything I want. Wemo supports IFTTT but no help on Belkin website about how to use it. In theory it is simple to make a wemo motion sensor trigger an e-mail if it is activated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A truly catastophically bad device, 31 July 2013
By 
Michael Ross (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
This is my first ever review on Amazon having bought 1000s of items over the last 15 years. I simply feel compelled to write given the horror story of the Belkin product. My next email will be to the CEO of Belkin, and then I will instruct a lawyer for compensation for wasting 3 hours of my life. True, I did manage to get the device to work once which lulled me into a false sense of confidence but then it didn't work, and then it lost all the settings, and then it lost the wifi access code, and then it wanted to update its firmware and then I had to start all over again because it had lost all my settings. It's too horrible to describe. How hard can it be? Did you do any testing whatsoever on this device? Honestly, it's embarrassing for Belkin to have its name on the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works and easy, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
truly "plug" and play haha great for turning off racks of AV gear from standby or even permanently on in case of my amp for multi-room without having to be anywhere near it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super, 3 July 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Heron "mheron" (ire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
Super idea - make power saving so much easier - and monitoring of tv usage by 15 year old as I can turn it off from anywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The new Belkin Wemo, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
The Belkin Wemo is a fantastic gadget that allows users to operate an electronic product via their i-device. Is the product worth the money... YES! It can be used for fun but also for more serious things like security lighting etc.

The product gets 5/5 but the Amazon Belkin Wemo only gets 3/5 because it is 6.65 dearer than the Apple Store (yes the Apple Store)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no 3g :-((, 5 Jan 2014
this needs to work on iphone 3g or 4g data not jut wifi to be any good as i can get up when im in my house and turn things off or on, if im 20 mins drive away i cant switch kettel on unless im in a wifi hotspot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa9e169c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews