Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Update to prior poor review - fix for intermittant operation
I have 5 of these units all operating daily since December 2014, using on-off rules defined in the iOS app. They always turn on reliably in accordance with the programmed rules. However every day at least one of the five randomly fails to turn off (different one each time) requiring me to regularly check the app or appliance/light and manually turn off the failed one...
Published 5 months ago by BM Lowe

versus
70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg Automation
The WeMo switch is a very nice idea, poorly implemented. Once you've downloaded the WeMo app, installing the switch is pretty straightforward, although it's worth plugging it in close to your router in the first instance - it seems to get noticed more reliably.Then you can turn it on and off from your phone (or tablet).

The problems start when you try to set up...
Published 17 months ago by RobinJ


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Update to prior poor review - fix for intermittant operation, 11 Feb. 2015
I have 5 of these units all operating daily since December 2014, using on-off rules defined in the iOS app. They always turn on reliably in accordance with the programmed rules. However every day at least one of the five randomly fails to turn off (different one each time) requiring me to regularly check the app or appliance/light and manually turn off the failed one. (This defeats the object for having them) All units have the latest firmware 2.00.7166.PVT and the latest iOS App to control them 1.10.2 .
The units are maximum 20ft from the wifi hub, and signal strength at the unit is excellent checked by independent wifi analyser tools. There is also no co channel interference on the WIFI channel I am using. This would suggest that the firmware to these units is still only at prototype phase and flawed. I have cleared the units and reprogrammed all the units from scratch and within a couple of days they are back with their random failure to switch off. I would recommend waiting until the firmware is fixed or updated as there is a serious reliability issue with them when programmed to switch off at a certain time. (Maybe the switch software needs to be rewritten to ensure a multiple switch off pulse is sent?) If this could be fixed these units would be excellent.

Following extensive investigation of my issues by the WEMO support team and their engineering experts during February, it has transpired that if one does a soft reset (not defined in any instructions) and then reset the name of the device and the rules, they all work perfectly. It transpires that a soft reset clears down garbage in the Belkin Cloud server that can be prior present even for new devices. Not to be confused with a hard reset as defined in the instructions, a soft reset to "clear data" is available in the WEMO app as follows - select edit - select switch - select reset options - select clear data. I did this for all switches and they have worked perfectly since. Prior to this all switches would randomly stick on or off or fail to trigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg Automation, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
The WeMo switch is a very nice idea, poorly implemented. Once you've downloaded the WeMo app, installing the switch is pretty straightforward, although it's worth plugging it in close to your router in the first instance - it seems to get noticed more reliably.Then you can turn it on and off from your phone (or tablet).

The problems start when you try to set up rules to control the switch. Belkin say you need at least Android v4, which I have, but attempting to save a rule, having set it up, invariably results in the app hanging. That's assuming I've managed to set up the rule at all, which isn't guaranteed. A search of the relevant Web communities indicates that many users have exactly the same experience. Belkin technical support isn't good. There are several dead links to articles whose titles indicate that they address precisely these issues.

So why have I given the device 3 stars? Because, once you've linked the device to your wireless network, you don't need the WeMo app at all. Join the IFTTT.com site, link your device and account and set up whatever rules you like from there. It all works easily, transparently and reliably. Belkin seem to have shot themselves in the foot by reinventing the wheel and making it square.

There is one remaining problem (that I know of). The switch has a habit of turning itself on a little after midnight if no on-off sequence spans two days. Belkin appear to know about this because there's a support article about it. Or rather, there's the title of a support article. Naturally, the link is broken. There's an obvious work-around: simply set up a rule to turn the switch off at, say 00:15 but that's a bit primitive.

So, in summary, I like the device and find it very useful now that I've spent some time tinkering and understood what works, what doesn't and how to get round the latter. But it could be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Nov. 2012
By 
Greg (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
Summary: I recommend this product.
- Note: This is a review of the WeMo Switch, not the Motion Sensor.

### Unit:
- Size: A smaller unit would be welcome. The width of the unit can prevent neighbouring plug sockets from being used. However, this may not be the case depending on the chosen power supply (e.g. some power strips have a larger distance between sockets)
- Build quality: Very good.
- Initial set up: Easy.
- Weight: Appropriate.
- Design: Nice.
- Noise: Runs silently. Emits a Click sound when switching a device on or off.

### Functionality + iOS Application:
- Use with: iPhone 4S.
- Load time: As of version 1.8 the app takes a couple of seconds to load (i.e. open and find devices).
- Works perfectly.
- Easy to use.
- Very customisable.
- Extremely responsive. Triggered switches are nearly instant (under a second).
- Switches and status can be triggered and viewed remotely. (Handy for cases of "Did I leave the *item of choice* on?")

### Scheduling:
- Allows for fairly specific rules.
- Rules can be set for:
- Weekends
- Weekdays
- Individual days
- Rules allow for:
- Turn on only.
- Turn off only.
- Turn on then off.
- Keeps time perfectly.
- Active rules can be overridden easily.

### IFTTT:
- Set up: Fairly straight forward.
- Functionality:
- Works perfectly.
- Responsiveness: Very good. 8 seconds for IFTTT 'recipes' to trigger. (e.g. recipe 'if email contains tag '#hall-light' turn on hall light).
- Straight forward set up.
- Allows for interesting uses (Turn on a fan if the weather is over 18 degrees Celsius.) (if I'm approaching home [using phone's location], turn on the light.)

Product packaging: Very nice, good quality, easy to open, Apple-like in the fact that it's no nonsense. Would be easy to re-package.

### Price (As of 2012-11-23, £39 at Amazon):
- Single unit: Slightly expensive.
- Multiple units: This would get expensive quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID - these are terrible!, 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
Well, what a pile pf rubbish! Just returned the 3 I purchased as they DON'T work. Beware - if you have a network that comprises of more than ONE access point, this system will not work. The modules cannot connect between the different access points, even if you have your network set up so that anything else can. Having spent 4 hours trying to get 3 modules configured to turn some xmas lights on and off, I gave up as this should have been such a simple task and shouldn't have wasted my entire evening. AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too unreliable, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Rob UK "Robin" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great when it works... which isn't very often, and that renders this pair of lightbulbs a rather expensive (£80) gimmick!

First off, the WiFi unit took around three hours to get working properly. The included documentation is hopelessly inadequate, for instance there's a little LED on the WiFi unit that can flash in any one of four colours and at different rates, but the instructions (basically a set of pictures) gives you no clue what the different colours/rates mean. The biggest problem is that the WiFi unit would not connect to my home WiFi even though it is in the same room, has a strong signal throughout the house and no interference from neighbours. In the end it took repeated attempts which involved resetting the router and waiting, and trying, and failing, and resetting, and trying etc., before finally it suddenly connected! At that point the unit wanted a firmware upgrade, which failed. Once working, the unit downloaded a firmware update which promptly failed. Several attempts later the firmware upgrade finally succeeded and the two bulbs started responding.

For week the setup worked fine before it then simply stopped responding to the iOS app. At that point you have to remove the bulbs and plug them back in again just to switch them on!! They no longer respond to the app and I have tried all manner of resets of the WiFi unit and the app but with no success.

If the kit would work reliably they would be a 5-star product, but as it stands I have an £80 pair of LED light bulbs that are useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really awesome devices!!, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought a switch about a year ago, bought another a few days later, then bought some bulbs (with a link) and a switch + motion a few months later.
They're super easy to set up and have almost too many uses!!

The software is lacking at times, and was very buggy at first, but it seems they've fixed most problems.
One of the biggest problem I've found is when using a dual-band router that separates 2.4 and 5GHz networks. The wemo devices are all only 2.4GHz, and connecting to the 5GHz will not allow you to connect, unless you have remote access enabled.

Remote access is actually probably the most important feature in these devices. I have a switch connected to a radiator in my bedroom, and on cold nights it's amazing to walk in and find the place warmed up already.

The bulbs are really cool too. They have a built in dimmer function that works really well. It works with a percentage style system, rather than set brightnesses, so you can set it just how you like. At 100% they are VERY bright. Brighter than any other LED bulbs I've owned. When you turn them off, they dim down over 1-2 seconds, rather than just shutting off immediately.
They also have a 'sleep' feature, that dims them off slowly over time (anything from 1 minute to 1 hour), supposedly to help you go to sleep more naturally.

All the devices interconnect and are managed through the one app. So you can use the motion sensor to turn on a switch, or bulbs or a maker module (still haven't got one of those yet). Equally, you can set rules based on the day or time and by sunrise/sunset.
The only problem I have with this is that when you have a rule to turn on the bulbs, it immediately sets them to 100% brightness, rather than the last used brightness setting. But it's not too big a problem.

The popular automation app IFTTT (IF This Then That) integrates seamlessly with almost all Wemo devices (they're still working on the bulbs currently) so you can control them using text messages or your mobile devices location to name a few. You can even have rules based on when friends update facebook statuses or if you're tagged in photos. And, they're constantly adding more stuff, so the possibilities are endless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lasted 3 weeks, hopeless support., 25 Feb. 2013
By 
A. R. Capon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
This worked for three weeks and now has stopped working.

It looks like it is working, you can hear it switching off and the light goes off but whatever is attached to it stays switched on.

Trying to get hold of Belkin Support is impossible, totally hopeless.

Save your money, I'm going to see if I can return it to Amazon for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The future...almost, 23 July 2014
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
I love my technology and any notion of home automation is always welcome! I saw these on a promotional offer, did a little research and in the spur of the moment I decided to buy 3! I have only android devices, so any application that are named will apply to android only, as far as I am aware.

Pros:

Home automation! Once they are setup, they are a marvel! I have had mine for little over 3 months and they have never missed a beat. I have one set to turn on my LED strips around my house past a certain time in the evening. Another to turn my air purifier/ioniser on as a drive home so that my house smells lovely when I open the door! And the final one to control my wireless phone charger, at 5% battery it turns on and at 100% it turns off! I could probably put them to much better use, but what to use them for turned out to be the most difficult step!

Depending on the level of automation, setup can actually be very easy! Simply enter in the rules via the official application or a third party application. I find the easiest events are programmed via toggling a WiFi connection to your internet or time and date.

Despite having these for just three months, the application of the concept is tremendous! I am forever changing my mind about what to automate leading me to believe I need to buy a few more!

Cons:

The Belkin application is truly woeful. You would have thought Belkin would have the power to remedy this but currently the application is almost unusable. This would be a deal breaker for me, however, there are third party applications out there which work a lot better! Completely transforming this piece of kit! Although the initial setup still has to done via Belkin's app...which works around 25% of the time for me, once that is done you never have to use it again!

The plugs are massive, stick out a fair amount and are a little bit unsightly! They dominate any plug outlet and in some cases, are too big to be put next to one another. In particular, you may have this problem with surge protectors and extensions.

For complicated setups and events, a large portion of technical knowledge is required. Programming locational events, for instance, required external applications such as 'Trigger' and 'Tasker', to initiate a rule and then interact with the third party WeMo software (WeMo Manager). Perhaps the most impressive use I have seen is using 'Tasker' via voice control to turn on the lights, for instance. Such a setup requires in-depth knowledge of very complicated applications, processes and seems a little too unstable/unreliable for me to currently invest the time and effort it would take.

Verdict:

More of a luxury then any form of necessity. Home automation is fantastic and in my opinion will become much more prevalent in the next few years. You can either stay well away, wait it out for the revised technology or jump the gun and start now! I realise this is not the first attempt at commercial home automation but it is certainly one of the most user friendly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3 hours of my life wasted - it just doesn't work, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How disappointing. I had such high hopes for this, and had been planning how to use the Maker device in future. But.....after 3 hours of fruitless effort, I'm sending it back. The setup process refused to find the devices despite me following the instructions to the letter.....again, and again, and again. You can tell something isn't right when you do the same thing 10 times and get 4-5 different outcomes. Feedback on the iTunes App Store for the Wemo app would suggest I'm not the only one having issues, and that maybe the problem is caused by an app update. Maybe Belkin will fix the app and that'll solve the issues, but I'm not prepared to take that risk on a system which I had planned to deploy throughout my house and to form a security deterrent. Back to the drawing board...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't use with hidden SSID's, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apparently it can't connect to a hidden SSID. The only option is to unhide, connect then re-hide and yes you would have to do that EVERY TIME. Belkin support are next to useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews