Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Summary: I recommend this product.
- Note: This is a review of the WeMo Switch, not the Motion Sensor.

### Unit:
- Size: A smaller unit would be welcome. The width of the unit can prevent neighbouring plug sockets from being used. However, this may not be the case depending on the chosen power supply (e.g. some power strips have a larger distance...
Published 22 months ago by Greg

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg Automation
The WeMo switch is a very nice idea, poorly implemented. Once you've downloaded the WeMo app, installing the switch is pretty straightforward, although it's worth plugging it in close to your router in the first instance - it seems to get noticed more reliably.Then you can turn it on and off from your phone (or tablet).

The problems start when you try to set up...
Published 7 months ago by RobinJ


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Greg (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
Summary: I recommend this product.
- Note: This is a review of the WeMo Switch, not the Motion Sensor.

### Unit:
- Size: A smaller unit would be welcome. The width of the unit can prevent neighbouring plug sockets from being used. However, this may not be the case depending on the chosen power supply (e.g. some power strips have a larger distance between sockets)
- Build quality: Very good.
- Initial set up: Easy.
- Weight: Appropriate.
- Design: Nice.
- Noise: Runs silently. Emits a Click sound when switching a device on or off.

### Functionality + iOS Application:
- Use with: iPhone 4S.
- Load time: As of version 1.8 the app takes a couple of seconds to load (i.e. open and find devices).
- Works perfectly.
- Easy to use.
- Very customisable.
- Extremely responsive. Triggered switches are nearly instant (under a second).
- Switches and status can be triggered and viewed remotely. (Handy for cases of "Did I leave the *item of choice* on?")

### Scheduling:
- Allows for fairly specific rules.
- Rules can be set for:
- Weekends
- Weekdays
- Individual days
- Rules allow for:
- Turn on only.
- Turn off only.
- Turn on then off.
- Keeps time perfectly.
- Active rules can be overridden easily.

### IFTTT:
- Set up: Fairly straight forward.
- Functionality:
- Works perfectly.
- Responsiveness: Very good. 8 seconds for IFTTT 'recipes' to trigger. (e.g. recipe 'if email contains tag '#hall-light' turn on hall light).
- Straight forward set up.
- Allows for interesting uses (Turn on a fan if the weather is over 18 degrees Celsius.) (if I'm approaching home [using phone's location], turn on the light.)

Product packaging: Very nice, good quality, easy to open, Apple-like in the fact that it's no nonsense. Would be easy to re-package.

### Price (As of 2012-11-23, £39 at Amazon):
- Single unit: Slightly expensive.
- Multiple units: This would get expensive quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super easy & works well, 24 Nov 2013
By 
A. Shah "sponge" (toronto, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
Really easy to install - worked like a charm. The app provides an easy step-by-step guide.
Sometimes the app does not recognize the device but that seems to be an issue with the wifi router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg Automation, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
The WeMo switch is a very nice idea, poorly implemented. Once you've downloaded the WeMo app, installing the switch is pretty straightforward, although it's worth plugging it in close to your router in the first instance - it seems to get noticed more reliably.Then you can turn it on and off from your phone (or tablet).

The problems start when you try to set up rules to control the switch. Belkin say you need at least Android v4, which I have, but attempting to save a rule, having set it up, invariably results in the app hanging. That's assuming I've managed to set up the rule at all, which isn't guaranteed. A search of the relevant Web communities indicates that many users have exactly the same experience. Belkin technical support isn't good. There are several dead links to articles whose titles indicate that they address precisely these issues.

So why have I given the device 3 stars? Because, once you've linked the device to your wireless network, you don't need the WeMo app at all. Join the IFTTT.com site, link your device and account and set up whatever rules you like from there. It all works easily, transparently and reliably. Belkin seem to have shot themselves in the foot by reinventing the wheel and making it square.

There is one remaining problem (that I know of). The switch has a habit of turning itself on a little after midnight if no on-off sequence spans two days. Belkin appear to know about this because there's a support article about it. Or rather, there's the title of a support article. Naturally, the link is broken. There's an obvious work-around: simply set up a rule to turn the switch off at, say 00:15 but that's a bit primitive.

So, in summary, I like the device and find it very useful now that I've spent some time tinkering and understood what works, what doesn't and how to get round the latter. But it could be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lasted 3 weeks, hopeless support., 25 Feb 2013
By 
A. R. Capon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
This worked for three weeks and now has stopped working.

It looks like it is working, you can hear it switching off and the light goes off but whatever is attached to it stays switched on.

Trying to get hold of Belkin Support is impossible, totally hopeless.

Save your money, I'm going to see if I can return it to Amazon for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. Dunne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
If you want to use these to turn things on or off when you're not at home - AVOID them.

Whilst you can turn switches on or off when you're connected to your home wifi network (i.e. at home), trying to see them over another wifi network or 3g/4g network is a waste of time - I have 3 devices and at best I can only ever access 2 of them remotely. It really defeats the purpose of buying these switches.

The internet is littered with people saying they have this problem from OVER A YEAR AGO - and with no fix being offered by Belkin to date. If you can see all the devices on the home network then there is either a fault with the Belkin App or the Belkin Servers and they don't seem at all interested in doing anything about it.

Belkin support is useless - all they send is a standard 'reset everything' email and when you tell them that the problem still exists, nothing.......!!

I wish I'd done a bit more homework before buying these expensive items......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WeMo Belkin switch, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
FANTASTIC! It operates from an app on my iPhone and it accepts programmes which it calls rules you can make on your iPhone. I find it easier to work than the conventional automated switches for home security and switching on of lights etc. You have a remote facility too which you need to enable in your app settings once you've set up the WeMo. You must download the app first, plug in the switch wherever you want it and the go to the app and follow the onscreen steps to set it up. I can switch lights and whatever else is attached to it on from Australia or wherever I am in the world through a wifi connection. Absloutely first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The future...almost, 23 July 2014
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
I love my technology and any notion of home automation is always welcome! I saw these on a promotional offer, did a little research and in the spur of the moment I decided to buy 3! I have only android devices, so any application that are named will apply to android only, as far as I am aware.

Pros:

Home automation! Once they are setup, they are a marvel! I have had mine for little over 3 months and they have never missed a beat. I have one set to turn on my LED strips around my house past a certain time in the evening. Another to turn my air purifier/ioniser on as a drive home so that my house smells lovely when I open the door! And the final one to control my wireless phone charger, at 5% battery it turns on and at 100% it turns off! I could probably put them to much better use, but what to use them for turned out to be the most difficult step!

Depending on the level of automation, setup can actually be very easy! Simply enter in the rules via the official application or a third party application. I find the easiest events are programmed via toggling a WiFi connection to your internet or time and date.

Despite having these for just three months, the application of the concept is tremendous! I am forever changing my mind about what to automate leading me to believe I need to buy a few more!

Cons:

The Belkin application is truly woeful. You would have thought Belkin would have the power to remedy this but currently the application is almost unusable. This would be a deal breaker for me, however, there are third party applications out there which work a lot better! Completely transforming this piece of kit! Although the initial setup still has to done via Belkin's app...which works around 25% of the time for me, once that is done you never have to use it again!

The plugs are massive, stick out a fair amount and are a little bit unsightly! They dominate any plug outlet and in some cases, are too big to be put next to one another. In particular, you may have this problem with surge protectors and extensions.

For complicated setups and events, a large portion of technical knowledge is required. Programming locational events, for instance, required external applications such as 'Trigger' and 'Tasker', to initiate a rule and then interact with the third party WeMo software (WeMo Manager). Perhaps the most impressive use I have seen is using 'Tasker' via voice control to turn on the lights, for instance. Such a setup requires in-depth knowledge of very complicated applications, processes and seems a little too unstable/unreliable for me to currently invest the time and effort it would take.

Verdict:

More of a luxury then any form of necessity. Home automation is fantastic and in my opinion will become much more prevalent in the next few years. You can either stay well away, wait it out for the revised technology or jump the gun and start now! I realise this is not the first attempt at commercial home automation but it is certainly one of the most user friendly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great concept but don't buy until Belkin makes it work out of the box!, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
I wasted three hours of my life trying to get this to work with my network and iPad. I tried every fix on the Belkin support website and looked at independent forums for help. The fact is that this product seems to fail more often than it works. Amazon should not be recommending it to their customers in my view. A great concept but save your money until they have got it to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW......., 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
WOW....... Something that does just as it describes

Have electric heaters at home, and needed something that takes out the frustration of manual timers and allows me to control when i want

In a world with apps - this is perfect. Easy setup, great timer function, and amazing that you can easily control systems in the house with the touch of a button.

Couldn't recommend this product enough - Amazing

Well done Belkin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can work on WiFi 802.11n but..., 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Belkin Wemo Home Automation Switch for Apple iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch and Android Devices (Accessory)
iPhone 5 users be aware - can work on WiFi 802.11n but only at 2.4Ghz not 5Ghz - not impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews