Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars123
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2003
The most exciting thriller I've read in a very long time. I found it absolutely unputdownable. The descriptions of China were so real, I had to occasionally look out of the window and make sure I was still in Edinburgh.
I don't read much crime and now I know the reason why - most of the British settings and plots are totally predictable - halfway through and I've worked it out! - been there, done that and have the T-shirt. Li Yan, the Chinese detective is a superb character and what really got through to me was not only a fiendishly clever plot with some villains who took me by surprise. Great, great story!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Peter May is that rare genius a good storyteller who can write and hold the reader enthralled without descending into the wham bam prose of many modern crime writers He is the modern heir to Dorothy Sayers, Agatha Christie, Henry James,Gk Chesterton, He weaves the plot and characters with superb skill. he has a depth of knowledge about the geography and history of the places he uses for his plots ( how diverse are China and the Isle of Lewis), but unlike a lot of novelists it doesn't overwhelm the storytelling. When you finish one book you are greedy for the next one. A lot of writers cannot sustain the quality when writing a series but this man can. A Damm good read
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
It's difficult to review this book without giving away the plot, so I'll keep it simple: the best story of the series to-date, with a credible story line and tension and mystery sustained successfully.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
If I have scored others in this series high - this is perhaps the best. The relationship between Margaret and Li takes a definitive and poignant direction as with the other family relationships, whilst providing a balance to the ongoing plot and never getting in the way of the developing story. Well researched and well presented with, as usual, good setting of scenes and character development. Gripping - and plausible - to the end.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Could not put This book down. Worthy of four stars. Excellent .
Settings brought China in to your living room.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
The chinese olympic team has lost several athletes, in a very short span of time, the death do not seem related but the numbers make it impossible for this death to be coincidence, and the powers of the party point and demand an investigation before the olympic games start.
Li Yan and Margaret Campbell are still struggling with each other but working together in the solving of this crimes. While hidden forces try to derail the investigation.

One more interesting instalment of what is a very entertaining series of thrillers.

We learn more about secret societies and their history in china, with villains straight out a Bond film, with money to burn, gambling on life and delivering death.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Peter May delivers yet another gripping story, cleverly incorporating scientific evidence with a strong story-line, keeping a twist right to the very end. All of the characters are so interesting in themselves and their relationships are fascinating to follow as never quite sure where they will lead. Also certainly gives interesting insight into the long reach of the cultural revolution and the immense waste of talent it engendered but also of the tenacity for survival which I feel sure runs true for many Chinese who were caught up in it.

I am saving follow-up as a special treat!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Again a story that builds until you can't put it down. The pace quickens, but the conclusion leaves you still wanting more . .. next Chinese Whispers.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
I was gripped right through,did'nt see the twist at the end The whole plot wasamazing a lot of reserch went into it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Another enthralling concoction of intrigue and pacy action set in the streets of Beijing. Developed characterisation that isn't becoming jaded with the passing novels, if anything, relationships and connections are more woven and realistic. A thoroughly gripping read which will now send me in search of number six.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse