Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book
Wonderful. I like the way this author writes. Liked the way she painted a picture of what life is like as an ex-pat. I have lived in deep rural France for some time and she is so right it is nothing like you imagine, then suddenly you become absorbed and it is so good and all you want. Loved the heroine, not simpering but stronger than she thinks. Buy this, it will take...
Published 6 months ago by Bobbi.B

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read at all
Emily Robertson and her family seem to live the dream life in the Tuscany hills, that is if you take the glowing, romantic, idealised articles on her life that she writes at face value. The reality is a little different, especially when her husband leaves her with no warning to look after their three children with very little money. She has two daughters and a son - Siena...
Published 7 months ago by ElaineG


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read at all, 13 May 2014
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
Emily Robertson and her family seem to live the dream life in the Tuscany hills, that is if you take the glowing, romantic, idealised articles on her life that she writes at face value. The reality is a little different, especially when her husband leaves her with no warning to look after their three children with very little money. She has two daughters and a son - Siena at 16 years old is discovering boys and has fallen "in love" with the local charmer", Paris at 13 hates life in Italy and is showing her feelings by refusing to eat and Charlie at three years old is turning into a spoiled little brat.

It is the story of how she gets on and copes with life as a single mother in a strange country. The bizarre thing is that up until now she has never really connected with the local community and it is only through the course of the book that she really starts to feel like a local instead of a tourist.

There is a lot going on in the book, especially when a local archaeologist turns up to dig for Etruscan remains and this part of the story really brought out a lot of history about the area, although not from the Etruscan era but from WWII. It was a fascinating read about partizans and SS collaborators and I learned quite a lot about how the people in the area suffered under Nazi occupation. I also felt that the author really made me want to visit Tuscany with her descriptions of the area and the people, the fiestas and the food just had my mouth watering.

However, I couldn't help but feel a little disappointed with the book as I read on. There were events going on around Emily, particularly to do with her daughters, that she should, as a mother, have been deeply concerned about. Yet, nothing seemed to touch her emotionally, everything was just glossed over, and read more like one series of events after another. At one point I thought the book was going to take quite a dark sinister turn, but again it just fell sort of flat in the end.

To sum up, this is not a bad read, it is one that really brings Tuscany to life, yet it could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful. I like the way this author writes. Liked the way she painted a picture of what life is like as an ex-pat. I have lived in deep rural France for some time and she is so right it is nothing like you imagine, then suddenly you become absorbed and it is so good and all you want. Loved the heroine, not simpering but stronger than she thinks. Buy this, it will take you to Tuscany, why not!
I am now looking out for more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Villa Serena, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
Once again the usual storyline, husband leaves
wife for younger model wife survives and meets
someone else.But it wasnt a bad story and lovely descriptions of
THE COUNTRYSIDE.

Once again same old story husband leaves wife for younger model(what a surprise).
Wife survives and meets someone else naturally.Was interesting story for the most part though
and the country was described beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... it was only a small price and had some good reviews. I really enjoyed the style of writing ..., 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
I bought this as it was only a small price and had some good reviews.I really enjoyed the style of writing as it went from one persons point of view to the other and I felt a liking for the characters.Not a book that I will ever remember,it won't stay in my mind at all but it was a perfect wind down for me to read at bedtime and got me into the mood for my upcomoing holiday to Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Couldn't put it down, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
Excellent. Couldn't put it down. Read similar stories, woman dumped by husband abroad etc. but had enough additional input to make it interesting. Characters well developed, interesting and likeable. Particularly liked Paris and her struggles with food. Funny too, especially when dealing with Italian ways and attitudes. Enjoyed the bits if history and politics, wanted to find out more. Reading Summer School at the moment and enjoying it, so will look out for more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fresh and informative but fun, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
Written from more than one age viewpoint this was my first read by Domenica de Rosa. Nice contrasts between Italian life and British seaside life (at its worst!) as a young family adjusts to living abroad. Nice friendly style. I almost felt I was part of the family. I enjoyed the historical influences, and the mysteries therein. Nice build-up of tension to the dramatic close. And of course I want one of those wild-haired Italian lovers! I am going to read more of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book although the storyline was hardly original however set in Italy it became different. It was easy to read and you could imagine life through her family. I particularly liked the descriptions of trying to settle into their new life against what seemed liked great odds and succeeding. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars emotional, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
Heart warming book on life going on after the death of a beloved spouse, very well written emotional, and at same time a compulsive read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kindle book, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villa Serena (Kindle Edition)
easy enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Villa Serena
Villa Serena by Domenica de Rosa
£2.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews