Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.89
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2014
After seeing a programme on television about Will.i.am, I was keen to read his book. I am currently half way through and don't want to put it down. There were no concerns with the delivery and condition of the book on arrival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
An ok biography....not enough quotes from Will.I.am himself......in a weird order and in parts dull.....good easy read

Too much about Cheryl!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Like any writer of an unauthorised biography the author, Danny White, did not have the advantage of direct access to will.i.am (William James Adams). However, unless you avidly follow the news about Will.i.am - and know just about all of the story so far - it provides interesting insights into the character of the man behind the image. The book makes a really good, uplifting read.

It takes real brilliance to come up with a track like Where is the Love and not make it sound preachy and give it such wide international appeal. To make such hard hitting statements as linking the CIA to terrorism and to do so with such a light touch is an impressive feat. Perhaps it is no surprise to find that the track's had major success outside the USA first as people outside the USA are more accustomed to having mixed views about the role of the CIA in world politics.

Will's success as a mentor for other artists is not only due to his brilliant grasp of current musical trends. He seems to be a 'self belief machine' who inspires others to believe in themselves - as his band mate Taboo testifies in his biography. Will helped Taboo pull through a time of major self doubt early in his career.

If you wonder whether will.i.am us still true to his original values you can find some reassurance from his story. Superficially at least he seems to have drifted away from the vales of "Where is the Love?" to the more doubtful values of "Where is the party?". However, Will seems to be a genuinely decent and sensitive guy. He kept going despite having a long uphill battle to keep expressing a positive message in his music. Black Eyed Peas were about 'peace and love' when most Hip Hop bands were doing a lot of heavy aggressive raps and gangsta posturing.

Will and the Black Eyed Peas would have hardly generated such continual long-term interest from their audience if they only stuck to tunes like with an overtly 'meaningful' message. Audiences can be fickle - especially young audiences - and people would soon tire of them if Will.i.am and his band kept with the same message all the time. They obviously needed to keep things fresh and they have managed to do that amazingly well. Their message still seems to be pro-life, though more in the form of an upbeat celebration, than explicitly positive lyrics. It is curious that their video for one of their major hits, I Gotta Feelin, even with its party atmosphere had scenes of people being sick and looking wasted - as if it were a tongue-in-cheek versions of some government anti-alcohol abuse adverts. Will.i.am was at one point very worried about his band mate Taboo's heavy abuse of alcohol and drugs. The odd mix of scenes in the video (from party animals at play to somebody throwing up) may have been Will's light and playful way of putting across a serious message.

Will.i.am, despite his wealth and fame, often ends up "just friends" with women. I suspect his sensitivity causes him to suffer from Nice Guy Syndrome, a phenomena I've written about elsewhere which is where a guy gets on really well with women as friends, but often gets stuck in platonic relationships with them.

Will's refusal to be a tortured artists and his liking for corporate sponsorship have not endeared him to everyone. Even his moniker bothers some, but he seems to take that all in his stride.

One odd thing is that's Will.i.am suffers heavily from tinnitus to the extent that he says 'I don't know what silence sounds like anymore". It is reckoned that music is one of the few ways he can cover up the sound of tinnitus and relax. However, he does have a habit of listening to music very, very loudly. Is its just me, or could there be a connection? Listening to music very loud, getting tinnitus, turning up the music to cover the tinnitus.... Maybe... Just maybe a connection...;)

Will also seems to be a bit of a workaholic. I hope someone turns him on to some technology that would help him calm down. Something like HeartMaths' HeartMath +Inner Balance Sensor device might really help him.

If you are an avid follower of Will.i.am and then Black Eyed Peas and have kept up with all the news about them then not much in this book will surprise you. However if like me you find em intriguing and want to fill in the details then this book does the job and is fun to read. This book is recommended to anyone who wants to know more about will without having to scour the net to do so.

Since will.i.am seems to collaborate with just about everyone - I want to say I am real sick player (I think that is the cool way to say it) of super mega electro house bagpipes ... And the grooves I lay down with are really... dope.... At least I think that's the word he would use...

---
William Fergus Martin, Author
Forgiveness is Power: A User's Guide to Why and How to Forgive
Kindle Version
Forgiveness is Power: A User's Guide to Why and How to Forgive
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
I have read it and I can say that the writter did her best and this is a really good book about Will.I.Am.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
Thank you Will.I.Am. You are full of never ending contagious physical and mental energy that has and still is inspiring the world through music and publicity to be a better place to live in. You must have saved thousands of people from property repossesion ans dispair with your African and American charities and finally I read your book in about 2 days - could not put it down - have also pre ordered your next music album for Feb 2013
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I am a big fan of Will.i.am and this auto biography is a very interesting read. would recommend to any fan of Will.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Nice to read about a celebrity who not only wants to help others but feels he needs to help others, rather than just talking about themselves a great deal. Down to earth reading, for the tech savvy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Book is in excellent condition and extremely fast delivery. Very easy and good reading and portrays Will.I.am's loyalty and commitment to people and his profession.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
Made up mostly of research from paper clippings but this is reflected in the price. Worth a read but don't expect too much insight into Iam.will's life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Extraordinarily observant individual with amazing humility and confidence in turns. Need more like him for a healthier loving soulful planet...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)