Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than a tablet and not much bigger!
Was looking at something portable to take on the road and keep an eye on business. Looked at tablets but put off by lack of compatibility with desktop software. Then came across this little Acer. Unusually for me purchased from Tesco instead of Amazon as they had a flash sale one weekend at £229.

If you are looking for a power laptop then obviously this is not...
Published 21 months ago by Max

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Wireless Connectivity
On first inspection, a very impressive little machine that is very light and well screwed together. The screen is pin-sharp and setting up really easy - even like Windows 8, which I am finding straightforward to use! My major gripe is the poor wireless connectivity - unless it is within about eight feet of the wireless router it just won't connect to the internet. I...
Published 23 months ago by J. P. Mackey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than a tablet and not much bigger!, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Max "Max" (W.Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Was looking at something portable to take on the road and keep an eye on business. Looked at tablets but put off by lack of compatibility with desktop software. Then came across this little Acer. Unusually for me purchased from Tesco instead of Amazon as they had a flash sale one weekend at £229.

If you are looking for a power laptop then obviously this is not for you. Get something with an Intel i5 processor or similar, but you will pay double the price and get something much bigger and less portable, or much more for anything approaching something as light and portable as this.

This is great if you want something to:
Keep in touch with emails
Run office software (I always use the excellent and free Open Office suite)
View HD videos, iPlayer or YouTube (not DVDs - this doesn't come with DVD drive, but you can add an external USB DVD drive of course).

Not so good for:
High processor load tasks like editing HD video or very large file size graphics.

It has a very solid set of features which are so hard to find in such a small package:
Low weight - only 1.2 Kg
Great screen size to tote around but big enough to work on. Much better than a 10 inch tablet.
In connection with above, great screen resolution at 1366 x 768
Very good quality screen with loads of brightness, even visible in quite bright sunlight.
4 Gb memory built in
320 Gb hard drive (but beware, around 20 Gb lost to Acer recovery software + more to operating system leaves around 280 Gb for working - still more than enough)
Excellent Wi-Fi (but as soon as you get it go into "Power Management" and change Wi-Fi settings from "Best Economy" to "Best Performance". Took me a while to find out this was causing very poor wi-fi as supplied out of the box).
3 USB ports, including one USB 3.0 port (not even some bigger laptops have USB 3.0!)
Lovely keyboard. Nice feel, good spacing between keys.
Excellent large and responsive touchpad. Some don't like the "tap to click" feature but this can be turned off easily enough.
Win 8 gives best of both worlds. Large icon type screen for those who like the "tablet" app style look, and the old familiar desktop for day-to-day office style working.
(Tip - search on Google and search for "Classic Shell" if you want to restore some of the feel of Win XP or Win 7, including the older style "Start" menu).
Respectable battery life - I'm getting around 3.5 hours between charges with mixed office style/video viewing use.

Note to Win 7 lovers.... persevere with Win8. It's worth it in the end (this comes from a die-hard Win XP lover). Particularly, Google Win 8 keyboard shortcuts for users without a touch screen.

Only small negatives:
No Bluetooth, but you don't need it as wi-fi nearly always can be made to serve the same purpose, and faster!
Sound not fantastic, but still perfectly adequate for such a small package.... if you want quality get some headphones!

All in all, can't fault it if you want something to keep in touch, perform office tasks and watch HD video in excellent quality, but don't expect blistering "instant" performance of higher spec laptops. Just as a guide, from clicking Open Office "Writer" icon to getting to the open window ready to type takes around 18 seconds on this Acer versus around 5 seconds on my Dell 15R 15 inch laptop, but of course once it is open, the program itself is just as responsive on both machines.

Oh, and by the way, it looks great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acer Aspire One - Great piece of kit, 5 Dec 2012
I bought this instead of the smaller cheaper HP netbook and I am damn glad I did! The 11.6" screen is crystal clear and looks amazing, the keyboard is nice and clicks in a satisfying way, even the touchpad (I am not usually a fan of these) is nice and feels good to use. The only reason that I didn't give this five out of five is due to Windows 8!!! I won't bore you with the moan but I will add that I'm putting Windows 7 on it as soon as possible.

Other than Windows 8 (made for tablets and smart phones, not netbooks nor laptops! Moan over!) I'm very impressed indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Wireless Connectivity, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: Acer Aspire One 725 11.6-inch Netbook (Black) - (AMD DC C70 1GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
On first inspection, a very impressive little machine that is very light and well screwed together. The screen is pin-sharp and setting up really easy - even like Windows 8, which I am finding straightforward to use! My major gripe is the poor wireless connectivity - unless it is within about eight feet of the wireless router it just won't connect to the internet. I have checked all the network settings and made certain the latest network driver is installed, all to no avail. I might just have a rogue unit, but a netbook that consistently fails to connect wirelessly unless it's almost on top of the router doesn't seem like much of a netbook to me! I'll just use it as a dumb terminal and chalk it up to experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product, 18 Jan 2013
By 
This is a fantastic pc windows 8 fast easy to use a must for anyone wanting the latest tech netbook. The service was first class!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but for Windows 8, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Acer Aspire One 725 11.6-inch Netbook (Black) - (AMD DC C70 1GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
I bought this neat notebook a couple of months ago and instantly regretted the Windows 8. The notebook itself is great to work with, it's light and easy to use. However Windows 8 is a nightmare and I think is better suited to a touch screen pad if at all. I have since had Windows 7 installed which is better by far. Noted also is that connectivity to some sites can be slow if at all using Internet Explorer. I now use Google Chrome as well as Internet Explorer and this seems to have solved these problems. If I recall correctly the battery was stated as having a 5 hour life but in reality it's done within 2.
Losing the 1 star purely for the windows 8 & poor battery life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the bees knees, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire One 725 11.6-inch Netbook (Black) - (AMD DC C70 1GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
Expertly described in product overview. Its not fan-less but it is very quiet. Processer is a bottleneck for it, you don't need the extra 2GB. Speakers are poor. I love it though. Great Review here: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 Aug 2013
By 
C. L. James (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire One 725 11.6-inch Netbook (Black) - (AMD DC C70 1GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
love the small size, pre loaded software and specs - purchased this as a back up pc when I was 1/4 of the way through my degree course and my other(cumbersomely large laptop suddenly crashed) so it saved my life : ) (and I achieved a 2.1 mark) !! I got the other pc fixed and gave it to my partner so everyone is happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the touchpad, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very happy with the overall performance of this Netbook but i find the touchpad very sensitive and very frustrating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Netbook, 4 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire One 725 11.6-inch Netbook (Black) - (AMD DC C70 1GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
A very useful nretbook, as described on the website. It arrived on time, although the carrier recklessly left it in our proch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Notebook, 27 Mar 2013
By 
James Homer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire One 725 11.6-inch Netbook (Black) - (AMD DC C70 1GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
From my research this looked the best small notebook (not netbook) around.
Has been excellent so far.
Some reviewers have attacked Windows 8 - It's great, and having come from xp I had a shock but after a couple of hours I prefer it.
Overall would recommend the Acer - relatively good battery life - depends on setup and amount of processing.
I'm satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews