Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark
dark and quite disturbing. Many would find that a turn-off but frightening music scores many points with me and dare I say, cheers me up. Try it.
Published 22 months ago by mj53

versus
2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars S***e!!!
I took a gamble and purchased this based on the reviews...the gamble did not pay off! If you could 'hear' constipation; then this renders it extremely well.

Try before you buy...I'll sell it for a quid...I should ask this 'Raime' person a refund or compensation for the sheer level of disappointment!

As I said in the title...s***e!
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Tony Anderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
dark and quite disturbing. Many would find that a turn-off but frightening music scores many points with me and dare I say, cheers me up. Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Quarter Turns Over a Living Line' just misses the mark, 8 Dec. 2012
Raime's debut album `Quarter Turns Over a Living Line' is a foreboding beast, seven songs full of unsettling melancholic visions. The opening `Passed Over Trail' introduces you to a gothic world of gnarled textures, brutal rhythms and sinister ambience. Each track takes its time, nothing is hurried in a world where all things find their own sense of place, eventually.

`The Last Foundry' is a reworking of an old Raime track called `This Foundry', and its a good example of the subtle developments Raime have made in their music by using more live instrumentation. The sound is stripped to the bone, industrial sounds are set on the outer reaches, slow bursts of doomed noise and bass anger the mood which is already fraught and disturbed. `The Last Foundry' and `The Walker In Blast And Bottle' are the only tracks where the tempo increases from a primal crawl.

`Quarter Turns Over A Living Line' is defined by the exhilarating malevolence of the penultimate track `Your Cast Will Tire', where sluggish scraping industrial textures and scolding bowed guitar strings collide, forging the darkest possible matter. `The Dimming Of Road And Rights' is a fitting end to an absorbing but uncomfortable album.

Theres been such a wealth of great albums in the last few years by many bands which encompass the same funereal combinations of metal, industrial, techno, ambient and drone. 'Quarter Turns Over a Living Line' just misses the mark, it doesn't enhance this particular musical line any further.

Rating: 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like the vinyl better on 45 than 33, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quarter Turns Over A Living Line [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
I won't write a full review because I have no clue what to say about these sounds, is this music at all? Anyway, I like it. There's no info on the cover or label if this is a 45rpm or 33rpm LP, I tried both, and I like the 45 speed the best. Now bought the CD too, and 33 rpm is the correct speed, and still I like it best at 45 rpm speed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing, 4 Dec. 2012
There aren't many artists these days that really push forwards in electronic music and do something new, but this really is something different. It has a moody, dark edge to it which to me bridges the divide perfectly between techno and the more experimental side of electronic music.

If you have not heard anything from the album it might help to understand what it is most similar to. In my opinion this would be Demdike Stare, Roly Porter, Anduin, Vatican Shadow and maybe Emptyset, Anyway, it's slow, driving and very moody.

Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raime, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Play this when you aren't really doing anything that requires concentration, our first hearing was on a long drive back home over Christmas. Atmospheric, and interesting and 10 times better indoors on a proper player, rather than the car one, even though it is a good set up in car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quarter Turns Over A Living Line [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
Was a present for someone, it arrived in plenty of time, was well packaged and the recipient was very pleased with his present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars S***e!!!, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I took a gamble and purchased this based on the reviews...the gamble did not pay off! If you could 'hear' constipation; then this renders it extremely well.

Try before you buy...I'll sell it for a quid...I should ask this 'Raime' person a refund or compensation for the sheer level of disappointment!

As I said in the title...s***e!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quarter Turns Over A Living Line [Vinyl]
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews