Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted and hilarious - thoroughly recommended
Maureen goes to Venice

When Maureen, the overwhelming yet strangely lovable heroine arrives in Venice for a holiday, you know that she will attract trouble with a capital 'T'. She is cursed with a defective suitcase, an unwanted admirer and an inability to say no to wine. You will laugh at her when she gets into a tricky situation on a gondola, sympathise with...
Published 22 months ago by Jenny Worstall Author

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maureen Goes to Venice
Maureen, a widow, is going to Venice but first she must buy a suitcase. This episode - where all but the newest shop assistant vanish as soon as Maureen appears sets the scene for a catastrophe prone few days. But Maureen isn't as terrible as you might think. She has a heart of gold and doesn't want to upset people but the trouble is things just seem to go wrong for...
Published 24 months ago by Damaskcat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted and hilarious - thoroughly recommended, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
Maureen goes to Venice

When Maureen, the overwhelming yet strangely lovable heroine arrives in Venice for a holiday, you know that she will attract trouble with a capital 'T'. She is cursed with a defective suitcase, an unwanted admirer and an inability to say no to wine. You will laugh at her when she gets into a tricky situation on a gondola, sympathise with her when she wonders if she can get away with murder, and admire her taste in literature as she reads an ebook on her kindle.

Thoroughly recommended - a lighthearted and hilarious read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maureen Goes to Venice, 1 Mar. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
Maureen, a widow, is going to Venice but first she must buy a suitcase. This episode - where all but the newest shop assistant vanish as soon as Maureen appears sets the scene for a catastrophe prone few days. But Maureen isn't as terrible as you might think. She has a heart of gold and doesn't want to upset people but the trouble is things just seem to go wrong for her. Not that she isn't well able to rescue herself from her predicaments as this story shows.

I enjoyed this amusing story sufficiently to make me want to read the next one about Maureen - `A Letter for Maureen'. I think the author has created a memorable character and his writing is amusing and low key. He clearly has an affection for Maureen and doesn't try to get the laughs by ridiculing her. If you want an entertaining short read then try this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maureen is one of a kind!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
Maureen is one of a kind! This short story was funny enough to keep me entertained for a couple of hours. Maureen is a kind of 'Mrs Bucket' with a heart of gold. She finds herself in some very unsettling situations, often of her own making, but is always well meaning and manages to sort herself out eventually.
I look forward to reading more 'Maureen' stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously tragic, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly engaging from start to finish - I read this in one sitting and couldn't put it down. Hilarious in places with an undercurrent of sadness. Very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maureen goes to Venice, 30 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm not quite sure whether I Love or Hate Maureen, she's that kind of character. No mean feat for a writer to produce such a lovably detestable lead character. For some reason, I just kept coming back and reading more about her adventure in Venice and she grew on me. All in all, an enjoyable bit of light reading and worthy of recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grab a chunk of Maureen, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
I think we all know someone who is either very like Maureen or has aspects of Maureen-ness thrust upon her. Jonathan Hill does a good job of not making her into a complete caricature and I suspect that what makes all of us cringe is that there is a little bit of Maureen lurking deep down in our thoughts and habits. This is an assured short story that really makes you feel as if you have toured the canals and alleyways of Venice (and I haven't even been there - it's on my bucket list). Grab a chunk of Maureen (there's plenty to go around), you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful bit of fun, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
Started reading it on the train and kept thinking about it all afternoon. Couldn't wait for the return journey to finish it. It described the Venice I know and love. Felt Maureen could be me (though sadly without her cleavage). Don't think it is meant to be taken seriously. I found it delightful and wished it had been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic creation, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
Welcome to the world of Maureen! I really enjoyed this first short story. I was expecting a lot of silliness, which, of course there was, but there was also a good chunk of darkness within this tale that was surprising a good little twist.

Very well written and extremely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
this was another short read, but still enjoyable, funny at times and different! shall look for more books by same author!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyable, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1) (Kindle Edition)
A very well written short story which I thoroughly enjoyed. When I first read the product description and reviews I was expecting Maureen to be something of a Hyacinth Bucket type character, and whilst she did have some characteristics in common with her she turned out to be much more likeable, just a bit of a disaster area - she somehow put me in mind of an older Miranda, so if you can imagine a cross between Hyacinth and Miranda, then you are getting pretty close! A good fun read, with beautiful evocative descriptions of Venice sandwiched in, in between the mayhem that Maureen just seems to attract wherever she goes. It is not slapstick all the way however, there are one or two extremely poignant moments as well as a touch of dark danger in there as she finds herself in an extremely frightening situation. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maureen goes to Venice (Maureen #1)
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews