Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Official and Legendary. A Wonderful DVD
Having been in possession of this recording of the achievements of Frankel and the preparation, dilemmas, worries (Henry Cecil always looks about to have a panic attack), how wonderful to be the trainer of this wonder horse. The recordings not only show us his races from 2010 when he beat John Gosden's star, Nathaniel, but take us through his development to his ten Group...
Published on 5 Dec 2012 by ACB(swansea)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly disappointing DVD
This is a DVD about the great Frankel, covering his racing career. I wished it had had more about his early life and I had hoped for an interview with Henry Cecil and more background information, such as how easy (or otherwise), he was to look after, what were his quirks, etc. And there could have been more about his breeding and owner. So, I found it a bit...
Published 9 months ago by Veronica Allen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Official and Legendary. A Wonderful DVD, 5 Dec 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
Having been in possession of this recording of the achievements of Frankel and the preparation, dilemmas, worries (Henry Cecil always looks about to have a panic attack), how wonderful to be the trainer of this wonder horse. The recordings not only show us his races from 2010 when he beat John Gosden's star, Nathaniel, but take us through his development to his ten Group 1 triumphs (unbeaten in fourteen). His 2000 Guineas win was remarkable but the subsequent victories were under more pressure given his assumed stardom. Planned and successfully executed by the team, I never doubted his supremacy. Injuries, scares, meticulous preparation by trainer/owner, jockey, stable staff, vets, all involved and contributing to concerns and outcome. Frankel delivered the final say in judicious style on the turf, the complete and finished result of so much care and dedication. This DVD recounts the combination and records of all involved. The final enjoyment and admiration is here with a racehorse of dynamic ability. Hope his stud production is successful. Apparently in 2013 he will cover 130 mares at £125,000 each.

Stunning production values with intimate insight into the trials and tribulations of producing a champion. Cecil and Khalid Abdulla decided not to take him over more than 10 and a half furlongs. I think they were right for many reasons. The best at his distances I have witnessed. Whether he would have won at 12 furlongs we will never know. I go back a long way. The magnificent Sir Ivor, Brigadier Gerard, Mill Reef, Nijinsky, Shergar, Dancing Brave, Seabird, Camelot went further. All champions but not always successful.(I never saw Tudor Minstrel). Henry Cecil nailed it. For equine fans, this is a must. Who was the best is always going to be an unanswerable question and hence a continual subject of discussion. Frankel's rating of 147 is the highest ever above Seabird and Tudor Minstrel (146). It also brings in trainers. Without the horse, without the wins, no legend. At least this will keep the name of Frankel (and connections) immortal. A sheer delight from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest racehorse of all times?, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
Not only are all the races shown but added footage never seen - a great dvd for the racing enthusiast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
bought for my self as a racehorse faller at 56 i dont think i will see a better horse again very good documentary plus all the races in full very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankel DVD, 18 Dec 2012
By 
A. Knowles "horse lover" (The Cotswolds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD with excellent background material about Frankel at Warren Place and on the gallops. His races are there in full. I would recommend this to all Frankel lovers and lovers of great horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
Exellent,well made DVD,superb account of Frankels racing career.still brings goosebumps, watching Frankel stride away up the rowley mile in the 2000 guineas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the dvd very much and I have no problem in recommending the dvd
I cannot get this DVD in the shops
Great DVD Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd Great horse, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
The power and pace of this horse in the 2000 guineas was just unbelievable.
I owe at least this much it to Sir HRA Cecil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A slightly disappointing DVD, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
This is a DVD about the great Frankel, covering his racing career. I wished it had had more about his early life and I had hoped for an interview with Henry Cecil and more background information, such as how easy (or otherwise), he was to look after, what were his quirks, etc. And there could have been more about his breeding and owner. So, I found it a bit disappointing.
It was a treat, though, to be able to watch all of his races again, in full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant tribute, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
A must for any race fan, the story of a legand on screen, we watch it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest horse yet, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankel - The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
A gratefully received birthday present. This is a remarkable record and one for the archives. A must for all racing enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frankel - The Official Story [DVD]
£13.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews