Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of Fun, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Baffin's Desire for Fire: Dragonasaurus Tales (Kindle Edition)
Disclosure: I was gifted the whole series of The Dragonasaurus Tales by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Baffin, anxious to grow up far faster than he should, has an uncontrollable desire to breathe fire, just like the older dragonasaurus do. His need is so great he is prepared to risk his own safety and travel through Trembly Wood and on to Fire Mountain, in search of the Great Fire Bird whom he believes will be able to help him. Unaware of the Grong, the terrible creature that wanders the woods, Baffin begins his journey.
"This monstrous creature had been stricken
with claws of a wolf and feet of a chicken!
These feet might look odd but mean it can race
right after its prey at a lightening pace."
Inevitably Baffin comes face to face with the creature and needs to use all his wits to save himself.

Josephine Young has taken two all-time children's favourites, the dragon and the dinosaur, and given us the dragonasaurus. These endearing little creatures fill the series with their captivating and comical adventures.
All the Dragonasaurus books are written in rhyme. The rhyme is excellent and works extremely well. The illustrations are cartoon-like and very colourful. The books are great fun, but quite long; so I feel younger listeners and readers may need more than one sitting. Something I very much liked was the language. It does not patronise young children, which is good. Instead it offers new words to learn in a diverting way. There is plenty of excitement throughout the stories and the endings to all are a surprise. And, of course, each tale has a message. I can definitely recommend these books to be read to or by any child. They are sweet, funny, charming, imaginative and entertaining. I hope author Josephine Young will be giving us more of these wonderful, original and well-written tales. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Childrens book, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was a great story and loved the illustrations, very colourful and eye catching for the target audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baffin's Desire for Fire: Dragonasaurus Tales (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable and humorous book which my daughter and I enjoy reading together. The scene with Baffin and the firebird is adorable, the pictures are fab and it's written in rhyme which makes it great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as Bella's Dancing Dilemma, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baffin's Desire for Fire: Dragonasaurus Tales (Kindle Edition)
Bought this on the back of purchasing Bella's Dancing Dilemma. I thought it may be a one off but this is equally as good. My girls (3) and (5) are really enjoying the two books and are eagerly anticipating more Dragonasaurus Tales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baffin's Desire for Fire: Dragonasaurus Tales (Kindle Edition)
My niece and nephew picked these two books out (Baffin's Desire for Fire and Bella's Dancing Dilemma) out yesterday because they loved the covers. I kept my fingers crossed and... these stories are great! Peter (6) loved Baffin the most, and Emma (5) loved Bella - no surprises there! They loved the pictures and the characters. The stories are funny, engaging and warm hearted with enough thrills and spills to keep two youngsters well entertained, and loads of wonderful pictures to convey the action.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nephew fav, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this book on my friends ipad and had to get it for my nephew as he is a massive fan of dragons. I bought both this and Baffin's Curious Consequence. He loves them both but this is his favourite as he just loves the Grong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hit!, 20 Mar 2013
I recently came across this book and it is a hit in our household.

My five year old loves it and has now learned some of the sections by heart and reads along with me. He gets totally caught up in the story and still loves the end (marshmallows are his favourite too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Mar 2013
Who doesn't love a story about little dragon creatures told in rhyme!? Especially when it is as good as this one. Baffin is so sweet and my son thinks that the Grong, even with his chicken feet, is great! We will be buying more books from Josephine Young!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent use of language, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baffin's Desire for Fire: Dragonasaurus Tales (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent story for children aged between 4-7. The thing that I find particularly impressive is the authors use of language. She doesn't shy away from using some difficult words which is great for building a child's vocabulary. However because they are always used contextually and often in an amusing way it is not remotely intimidating and makes for an easy and enjoyable read.

It is also worth saying that the illustrations are excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baffin's Desire for Fire: Dragonasaurus Tales (Kindle Edition)
Baffin is a dragonasaurus who believes that he has a broken snout, thanks to some wayward advice from his Uncle and so he sets off to fix it with not quite the results he is expecting.

The illustrations are fantastic and the story is both comic and tension filled as Baffin encounters the grong. Again, I think that this story is just ripe for animation.

All in all a great series which my daughter loves.

Recommended for children between 4-7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews