Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Product
I must say I am very happy with this product. It very quick, and very quite. Windows 8 at first I admit i did not like it especially having no start button, but now completely love it, and it makes sense the changes they have made.

The laptop itself is built well, and is sturdy, The USB 3 connection is very quick, which is a bonus. I also want to add that I...
Published 15 months ago by AP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three stars = OK
I have had mine for some time, and the 2 problems I have come across is that the position of the keys on the keyboard leaves a lot to be desired (constantly hitting shift instead of enter, or up, down.. and that's after any amount of practice! The other problem is that the wireless adaptor seems to connect when it feels like it.
Published 1 month ago by Mr. P. Jessup


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Computer, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
This computer is so far good quality but would prefer backup to be on discs and not on the hard drive.
Apart from the above it is so far a very good laptop
the new windows 8.1 is very good for touch screen machines so I have had to buy two patches which
redirects desktop to the windows 7 operation costs 12 to buy these patches.

So with the addition of the above patches this computer is very good and works like a dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD), 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
Lenovo's reputation is growing and this and a 15 inch I've used for years now. Upgraded purely for the 64bit that comes with many of the add-on softwear for photography - and yes will accept Apple is the accepted leader but this works out a lot less painful on the wallet - add too that Apple no longer do a 17''.

I've used this for a year - plugged in every day and happily use Light Room 5 and photograph in RAW with 300 or so photos at a time (Don't use video so no experience of how this reacts to that level of editing power) and have had no problems with overheating or crashes - apart from Windows butting in that is - and it deals calmly. I use it on a stand rather as a desk-top which I can put away afterwards - need the space. Will upgrade at sometime (I guess to Apple) but that will be because of the operating system and it's continuing need to update rather than the hardware. Nice buy and has produced photos others have thought worthwhile having - so well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible laptop, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
an extremely great laptop. the screen size is perfect and has great resolutions. the download speed for CD's to itunes is mere seconds with the 4 cores and the graphics card can handle most newish AAA games bf3 and older id say indie games and anything smaller "war thunder" CS:GO fallout 3/new vages etc work great on this laptop. the sound is great and the keys are a perfect size and well spaced apart so rarely a miss type. the fan is great at keeping the laptop cool even when a game is CPU intensive the laptop stays cool AND the fan is rediculously quiet, like i mean sometimes you wonder if it even has a fan. there is only one downside to the entire laptop and that is the touch pad, i would recommend buying a USB mouse with this laptop as it can be a pain to use the touch pad especially with windows 8 as theres loads of features that get set off if you move your fingers in a certain way on the touch pad. other than that the laptop is very reliable a little on the heavy side but thats to be expected but is an incredible laptop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lenovo G780 Intel i7, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
The space bar only works when pressed in the middle, (extremely inconvenient) the right-hand bar beneath the touch-pad sticks up. Text gets highlighted for no specific reason. I also find it extremely difficult to get around. Documents or email you are working on disappear for no reason and there is no indication as to where to retrieve them from.Windows 8 does not help either. I also find it quite slow to respond. I have only used email and docs since acquired 4 weeks ago. The battery life is very disappointing even on most "economical" settings. I now have 15% left after just 3 hrs use! I previously used Windows XP and much lower specs.but found it so much easier to use and just as fast to start. I also do not like to be constantly offered items to be purchased if I clicked on a icon. But the computer looks very good and appears very sturdy better than expected from some reviews I had read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good spec shoddy built, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
Excellent specification for price aluminium bronzr, looks nice however needed multiple replacements of same product as each one had distinct faults, all of them had a loose right mouse, one had a loose left key, one had crackling speakers which my old laptop got after 4 years and the third one had a broken USB port which was discovered two weeks after receiving it. Amazon did their best to refund it after a months trouble with impeccable customer service but would never recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and not a problem at all, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
Good product

No complaints whatsoever. I work on building and updating website content, so need some thing fast when I am on the move and this does the job fine. It is fast, the screen is great and forget all this rubbish you read about Windows 8. Basically, just go to your desktop icon and then it is more or less Windows 7. And then you get used to other bits of 8 as you go along, but it's no big deal.

Back to the machine - Well, so far, mine has been a good workhorse and I have played Call Of Duty on there as well and that ran great. Would I recommend this machine? Yes has to be the answer. For what it has in it, it is a great price. Only slight downside is the quality of the outside - just not as solid as some. That is a minor point though. Good Luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
I would recommend this product, especially for the price I paid for it! Beforehand I had an i3 Processor, 4GB hard drive and a terrible graphics card. Now with an i7 Processor, 8 GB Hard Drive and a pretty good graphics card it feels like lightning! It runs everything fine, although I was expecting it to be even quicker but thats more my high expectations!

I recently purchased Total War: Rome 2 which is a fairly demanding game and it ran it well on EXTREME! Very good on Very High. Amazing on High! I love it!

Very glad I made the upgrade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
I bought this to replace my HP DV8 and in many ways it is better although some things are lacking. No need to have two graphics cards, Nvidia on its own would do, some concerns about screen quality and optical drive door. I owned my HP for 3 years and must have used it for about 15,000 hours in that time maybe running for 12 hours constant. See how the Lenovo compares after 3 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
This laptop is amazingly fast! Here's my pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Lovely Keyboard
2. Speed is amazing. No slowdown problems at all during general use and gaming.
3. CPU and RAM is easily upgrade-able.
4. Fan can be accessed and cleaned easily, just consists of 6 screws and then cleaning.
5. Screen is very bright and spacious.
6. The laptop itself is very sturdy and feels very professional.

Cons:
1. Touchpad isn't the best around, but still useable and not that bad.
2. HUGE Fingerprint magnet but can be easily cleaned.
3. Harddrive is slow in transfers which can affect loading times, but due to the laptop being easily upgradable its easy to change the harddrive to a faster one later on.

Overall:

NO Regrets for this laptop, was playing Tomb Raider on high settings with no problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great purchase, 16 April 2013
By 
L. J. Foley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD) (Personal Computers)
just ideal for business use, love it, easy to use good speed and memory. Nice size screen and very good looking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Lenovo G780 17.3-inch Laptop (8GB RAM, 1TB HDD)
Used & New from: 590.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews