Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows
AMAZING LAPTOP! The laptop is super fast, reliable, and great looking. The gunmetal is more of a dark grey which I like with a nice vertical scratch look. The keyboard is defined and easy to read, although has small enter and shift buttons. I'm really pleased I purchased this laptop, as it will be great for sixth-form and university. I can see this laptop lasting a long...
Published 23 months ago by wilks

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
I bought this Lenovo laptop as a replacement for an older Dell Inspiron.

The good:

- It's powerful & pretty fast. Of course, the hard disk slows it down quite a lot, but at least I'm not afraid to open many Chrome tabs, Eclipse and other stuff at the same time.

The bad:

There are a few things I find very annoying after using it...
Published on 18 Mar. 2013 by Anca


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows, 22 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
AMAZING LAPTOP! The laptop is super fast, reliable, and great looking. The gunmetal is more of a dark grey which I like with a nice vertical scratch look. The keyboard is defined and easy to read, although has small enter and shift buttons. I'm really pleased I purchased this laptop, as it will be great for sixth-form and university. I can see this laptop lasting a long time with it's excellent build quality. The price of this laptop is the best thing about it. This laptop is worth at least £800 from other sites and the specifications alone put it over 800 pounds in value. In my opinion this is the best laptop sold on Amazon and the delivery was next day, even though I used the free super saver delivery. All in all, this laptop is great value for money and I recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lenovo Ideapad z580 - i7 2.9Ghz, blue-ray, nVidia etc., 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Initial comments - Day 1 of ownership - Gunmetal looks superb and what follows - "for the price point" - just adds cream to the cake with just two small caveats... Windows 8 and the Hard Disk.

These two items, especially the HD, I think let the overall system down. A faster smaller HD would, I believe, be a better choice as would Windows v7 32/64bit.

Unit inspection of the outside shows no faults as described in others reviews. Best to check just in case before starting things up.

For those not sure of specs, and to answer some queries in other reviews, checking hardware via Control Panel > System > Device Manager, shows: Processor is Dual Core i7 showing 4 cores @ 2.9Ghz > 3.1Gz - nVidia 635/2Gb + an Intel HD4000. Make sure nVidia is in the header description as the Intel HD4000 is, as far as I know, integrated into the MB.
Bluetooth V4 - WD HD Blue 1Tb @540rpm - Blueray/DVD read/write // have yet to try the provided s/w, but suspect will have to buy a specialised 3rd party offering for Blue-ray playback.

I have yet to get to grips with W8 which, initially, is proving to be confusing - a bit like going from MS to an Apple OS - but feel it is wasted on a non touch screen system.
Screen is shiny but personally it doesn't pose any problems. As for the touch-pad complaints I haven't found any problems. A USB/ wireless mouse would benefit those that do.

For those, like me who find the initial feelings of being lost and confused at the first sight of W8, this might be of some use:

Tip 1 - W8 has 2 interfaces. W8 for use with touch screens & a 3rd party interface - Windows Classic - for use with standard screens which can be found at SourceForge.

Tip 2 -There is an updated version of Windows 7 within W8 - only accessed via W8 interface.

Tip 3 - The over-sized / sensitive touch pad can be used as a touch screen under W8.

Looking at an on-line manual, future H/W upgrades to memory, HD and DVD etc., look easy... undo one screw, slide off the base and everything is there in the open.

Prior to buying, I checked around the local IT places, including certain other 'High Street Stores' and had a good look at the various Lenovo offerings... less spec and more dosh outlay, but at least a hands on impression at what was on offer.

All-in-all, although this, according to some, is a middle of the road system, I am more than pleased with what I got for the dosh outlay. Bottom line, good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Laptop for Gaming, 2 April 2013
By 
M. P. Brice "mikybrice" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
The i7 processor is super fast and never fails or crashes the computer. Gaming on this thing is great I play Skyrim, GTA 4, Battlefield 3 all on high and it runs smooth thanks to the NVidia graphics card. amazing build quality and personally haven't had any trouble with the track pad and the Blue ray lets you play blue ray dvds on your TV with the HDMI input
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great laptop, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
Old Tyke (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I have never had a Lenovo product before so I did not know what to expect. I need not have had any misgivings - it is simply a superb machine, fast and powerful - easily the best laptop of the four I have previously owned. It is light but well made and has a solid and reliable feel to it. It is high spec and comes with Windows 8 - which you either love or hate - and some superfluous software. It also has McAfee antivirus which I have removed and replaced with my tried and trusted Vipre Antivirus. I am truly delighted with my buy and can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round laptop, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Runs business and games very well, only gripe is the 1GB drive (5200rpm) although big, it's slow. Booting the machine takes a while - takes minutes and even when windows appears with just a few apps loading it can still take some more time to be "ready" to use.

So I replaced it with a Seagate Momentus 750 XT Hybrid drive (750GB 7200 rpm with 8GB flash) and cloned the OS and other partitions to it with Paragon Hard Disk Manager 12. Now after 3 reboots the drive has optimized the most often used Windows files and now Windows is loaded in 15 seconds to the log on screen then 6 more seconds to loaded fully ready desktop really amazing difference.

Had no problems with the touch pad except to remember not to go too far right then the daft WIndows 8 options bar slides in from the right of screen too often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Laptop, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Ive had this laptop for about a month now and i still have no idea why everyone is complaining about the touch pad, it is a great laptop, good for playing games, works flawlessly with dishonered on max settings, beautiful laptop, highly recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
top spec machine that came in quick time. never off the damned thing to be honest! only issue i am having is with the new windows 8 trackpad but that is just operator error i am sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality laptop, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Bought this for my daughter for general office use and as an entertainment console. Previous Win XP laptop was Lenovo and is still going strong after 6 years.
Overall feel of the Z580 is solid and looks fine. The touchpad is very temperamental and difficult to use - need a mouse.
Win 8 a bit of a pain but decided to go with it rather than Win 7 because understand that is faster and I'm reluctant to drop back a peg on software releases. Once you get behind the front end and onto desktop then is OK (ish). The inbuilt media player software worked fine with the internal blu-ray drive, even though VLC wouldn't recognize the blu-ray disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I bought this Lenovo laptop as a replacement for an older Dell Inspiron.

The good:

- It's powerful & pretty fast. Of course, the hard disk slows it down quite a lot, but at least I'm not afraid to open many Chrome tabs, Eclipse and other stuff at the same time.

The bad:

There are a few things I find very annoying after using it for over a month:

- The keyboard: I'm very surprised that quite a few people here claim it's good quality (this is, in fact, one of the reasons I bought this laptop). It's not, really. The right SHIFT key is half the normal size. ENTER is skinnier than normal, so it's very easy to miss it. ESC is very small as well. Lenovo have cut the size of some keys so the full numeric pad fits in. This was a poor design choice, in my opinion. A laptop keyboard needs to have normal sized keys and also to be smaller than a desktop one, so why would you squeeze the full numeric pad on it, when the upper numeric keys do their job just as well?
- The monitor: very glossy, it reflects everything, I have difficulty using it outside even if it's not sunny.
- The OS. I simply didn't bother with Windows 8, I wiped it immediately. I think it's just a major fail to force it on PC users. Of course, the quiet fan feature is not available on Linux, because Lenovo didn't bother providing a driver for anything other than Windows.

The very bad:

- The touch pad: it's just terrible, it seems to have a life of its own. I am almost unable to use it, especially when lying down in bed, as the cursor keeps slipping everywhere.

Bonus info:
- Some people complained there is no way to know whether caps lock is on. There is, in fact, a very small white led on the bottom, in front of the laptop, that goes on when caps lock is on.

All in all, not really worth the money. I wouldn't buy it again: if I could choose another one I'd go for a lower spec'd one with a higher quality IO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the i7 with 6gb ram and windows 8 is fantastic! Buy!, 25 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Lenovo Ideapad Z580 15.6 inch laptop - Gunmetal (Intel Core i7 3520M 2.9GHz, 8Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD, Blu-ray, Nvidia Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
CONS: Junk software in bundle (this may pay to keep price down.)
PROS: Everything - don't struggle on with a noisy, slow, faulty imperfect machine.
Fantastic large size keyboard for long documents, everything is intuitive, i didn't need the O2 start-up disc. I plugged in the ethernet and Lenovo just grabbed it! Sheer delight! Strong body construction and clearly tailor made to windows 8. please don't believe the grumpy old men, windows 8 is fantastic, within minutes you'll find everything you want-it very readily presents you with an old style desktop at the touch of a button. My logitech minimouse - £15 - automatically raises the sign-in curtain when I switch it on. it feels a little more intelligent which is what people may be reacting to; 8 isn't boring & 8 is very complimentary to whatever you do with a computer. you will never go back. the absence of touchscreen is irrelevant - those tiles move effortlessly by several different means. Beware, the same price contender for a touchscreen comes from Samsung and it has one of those flexi-typing pads. Bad news in the long term as the whole thing sags and overflexes. for real work a solid type pad is best. this lenovo is silent in operation. shockingly silent, shockingly intelligent. the i7 with 6 or 8 may be something of a bargain, snap one up, both microsoft and lenovo (Chinese IBM) are pulling no punches with this combo. solid quality, great screen. Real Worth: circa £1000. You'll feel upgraded, from the depths of your lower-intestine, just at the outlet, to the vaulted ceilings of your skull. You weren't born in the West to suffer (like an Apple share-holder).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews