Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and exciting to read, leadership experience and insights
Whilst the SAS would not normally grab my interest I head heard it was a good book for entrepreneurs and so decided to try it.

I finished the book in a day, which is extraordinary as I rarely finish books in a day and I almost never finish business books cover to cover (skipping chapters / getting board etc).

It felt like I was in the room with Floyd...
Published 22 months ago by I heart books and films

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Not bad for a quick scan but has the impression of having been written in a hurry and feels rather cobbled together. Unclear what the value of co-authoring this was as Simon adds nothing to the tale other than to provide someone for Floyd to have a conversation with. Odd.
Published 17 months ago by Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is what leadership is all about!, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS is what Leadership is all about!

I have read many books on Leadership and this is most certainly one of the very best. Buy it, whatever your role as a leader!

I particularly welcomed the very important sections on understanding different personality types and negotiating skills, which many such books fail to cover, and enjoyed the very practical, hands-on approach, demonstrating not just the value of the many tips and insights contained but their transparent authenticity and integrity which shines throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A top ten life changer!!!!, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the book, a little unsure at first. But I can honestly say this is one of the best sources of information for any coach, or sports team, or just any individual who wants to improve in any area of their life! We all try at our physical game and never really touch on mental preparation. This book not only gives you the tools, but also in clear English the understanding of mental preparation from someone who has performed at the highest level. I am happy i have my copy, and know it will be in constant use. Well worth every penny!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elite: Exceptional Leadership & Performance, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One cannot disagree with many existing comments on this book, that it has an authenticity, grounded in the experiences of the primary author. A key strength of its contents is that the majority of its analyses, reflections and recommendations are not drawn solely from theoretical perspectives nor academic tomes (although existing works are brought it to support and augment arguments where appropriate), but from real life experiences and practical implementation; not just at a personal level, but as a member of an elite team, a leader and then through working with top sportspeople, sports teams and large national and international organisations. Inevitably it will read as more authentic than many other books that aspire to engender similar individual, team or organisational success.
This is not a book for the faint-hearted. For many who may be largely content with their existing effort and performance, but hope this book will give them some inside secret to help them achieve the next level of success without any pain, this is not the book they should read. However, the pain required of this book is not necessarily what you might expect given the author's tough, physical background. It is worst than that. It requires a brutal honesty from the reader as to their current clarity of vision and commitment to change. These are just two prerequisite clearly articulated in this book for the achievement of elite performance.
The book covers elite performance for three groups; individuals, teams and leaders. These are not unconnected entities and there are themes, or `golden threads', that are common to all and provide a cohesive overarching narrative.
A key message for individuals is the idea of training for real and getting in the `red zone' It made me reflect on how I have trained in the past. How can training really help if you are generally happy with your training times but they fall behind the actual times required to win the race? What is the benefit of six a-side football training in a club if there no consequence for the losing six? Losing becomes the same as winning; playing becomes the end in itself. You have to train to win (or train believing you can win), or you will probably fail when you compete for real.
The section on teams was a revelation and painful to read, as I recognised that I have been a member of a number of teams that demonstrated few (possibly none) of the attributes required to be an elite team. Faith and trust in colleagues, positive disagreement, true commitment to goals, primacy of the team and joint accountability are the behaviours and values I now recognised should be the touchstones of all teams.
However if you are or become a member of such a team, it will stand you in good stead to becoming an elite leader, as a leader is essentially still a member of a team, albeit first amongst equals. Of course, a leader has additional responsibilities over and above their other team members, not least of which is to shoulder responsibility for performance and outcomes and to be humble! It is easy to be a domineering, tyrannical leader; however that is not leadership at an elite level. If you act like that you have failed in the essentials of good leadership. This book shows there is a radically different leadership model, which delivers success (and is more likely to deliver long term success).
The book `Elite' is wide ranging but accessible and no review can really portray its uniqueness. Simon Acland has played a masterful role in bringing together the vast array of Floyd Woodrow's experiences and ideas into a comprehensible whole. He enables the ideas to flow smoothly and hang together effortlessly.
In summary, this book is challenging because it requires honesty from the individual and perhaps a major rethink of some the behaviours readers may be familiar with now as team members or leaders. It is insightful and practical. It is founded in the real experiences of someone that has, and does, function at an elite level. It is also human, as it does not shout at you. Rather it provides direction, gives you some vital tools and stands, as it were, behind you as you move towards achieving your goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elite - The Secret to Exceptional Leadership and Performance, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished..Excellent book which relates the personal experiences of the author into a story line to demonstrate the elite leadership qualities that are there for all.

I found this to be an easily to follow explanation of the ideals that we all aspire to but sometimes become lazy and forget........Floyd brings this all back into perspective thru his story telling which is sometimes annoying as you want to get to the next chapter to see what happens next !

All in all an excellent read and well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elite!: The Secret to Exceptional Leadership and Performance (Kindle Edition)
Generally an interesting read, though at times it got a little prescriptive. There are certainly good lessons to be drawn nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Zen of Elite Leadership as The Wisdom of Teams, 28 Oct 2012
The interesting thing about the work of Floyd Woodrow and Simon Acland is that the book transcends Nietzschean Enquiry as merely 'Conversations with a (Nietzschean) Superman' and becomes an expression of the Zen of Elite Leadership as The Wisdom of Teams - Simon Ackland is a Venture Capitalist who works with teams and Floyd Woodrow is a former SAS officer who applies the British Military Psychology (and Social Anthropology) of Teams in how he reworks, (hermeneutically) alters and reapplies the work of Myers-Briggs on Personality Types and the work of Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi on the Positive Psychology of Optimum Experience or 'Flow' to an almost Zen precision in exploring, engendering and expressing Elite Leadership as the Wisdom of Teams in dealing with Elite Team Formation and Performance. The power of the book is the subtlety with which Simon Ackland uses the apophatic style of a 'silent commentator' to explore and (cognitively) map Floyd Woodrow in the same way he would explore a new business idea and harness and shape the entrepreneurial energy that investigative process releases - and this draws brilliance out of Floyd Woodrow and pushes him into a transformative perceptual state and opens up his whole 'inner Life world' and you begin to see that everythiong he does turns on the formation of Elite Team Performance - in the end, the importance of Simon Ackland and Floyd Woodrow is that they present a Hermeneutical Challenge which calls for a radical new reading and application of the British Army's Principles of War (Appendix II in the book) to Business, Commerce, Leadership and Management and you get the feeling the you have just been listening to Sun Tzu in conversation with Carl Von Clausewitz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great informative psychology based book that inspires you to be a good leader, i bought another one for a friend as i found this a great read ,thank you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Help yourself, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The acceptable face of self-help books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What rubbish, 20 Nov 2012
Save your money and buy a Beano comic. You will find it more interesting.
There are more credible people out there who have written books.
Don't buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews