Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series
I quite discovered Swedish author Kristina Ohlsson by accident when I picked up her first book "Unwanted". Fortuitous accident - because it was the first in a fantastic crime series featuring Investigative analyst Fredrika Bergman. The third book, Disappeared, is newly released and it too was a fantastic read.

The prologue's opening lines, set in the...
Published 4 months ago by Luanne Ollivier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Swedish Noir
This is the first novel by this author I have read and at first I didn't think I would finish it, however I am very glad I did. The hunt for the murderer of a young student becomes ever more complex and involving, especially when the partner of one of the lead detectives appears to be hiding something.
Published 2 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Disappeared (Paperback)
I quite discovered Swedish author Kristina Ohlsson by accident when I picked up her first book "Unwanted". Fortuitous accident - because it was the first in a fantastic crime series featuring Investigative analyst Fredrika Bergman. The third book, Disappeared, is newly released and it too was a fantastic read.

The prologue's opening lines, set in the past, grabbed me immediately....

"When the film begins she has no idea what she is about to see. Nor does she realise what devastating consequences this film and the decisions she then makes will have on the rest of her life."

Present day. Two years after she disappears, the dismembered body of Rebecca Tolle is found by a dog walker in a shallow grave. When the crime scene team expand their excavation of the grave site, they find another body. But the second body has been buried for at least thirty years.

Are the two connected? Is this the work of a serial killer spanning thirty years?

Frederika and the special unit of the Swedish Federal Police are called in. Their case builds slowly, with multiple suspects - one of them close to a member of the team. I really enjoy Ohlsson's character building. She has given each main character a rich personal life that provides a more intimate reading experience.

Ohlsson is extremely clever with her plotting and delivery of her story. Interspersed with the investigation are Internal Affairs interviews held after the case has ended.

"You're here because you were in charge of an investigation that ended in disaster."

We get wee snippets of information that heighten the tension, provide subtle clues, provide teasers - and kept this reader up far too late. Midway through, I went back to read that prologue again as the pieces started to fall into place.

An intelligent, well written series (with a side of grisly) that I can easily recommend. I do hope Ohlsson plans to continue with this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stick with Kristina, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Paperback)
I nearly didn't bother with this book as although a scandi obsessive [ I read about 1 a week ] I never really found the 2 previous books by her up to a thrilling standard , but this is great . From the beginning this was really exciting; a bohemian author of childrens books who was rumoured to be a writer of violent pornography , who killed her husband and now lives in a nursing home refusing to speak . There is a real gothic creepy feel to this story and even the police with their own failings are human and interesting [ without the usual melancholia drunk cliché] . I have spent hours neglecting duties just to find out the truth and then Ohlsson leaves us with a twist at the end ... argh ! One of my books of the year !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Disappeared, 1 Oct 2013
By 
J. G. Spry "Crispin" (Hornchurch, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
An extremely good scandinavian crime novel. Had me guessing to the end. The story has multiple flawed characters. All of whom add to the darkness of the novel. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kristina Ohlsson--The Disappeared, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Simon Clarke (Hackney, London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Hardcover)
This is the third and most ambitious novel by this author,and reveals
why she is extremely popular in her native Sweden.
The body of a female student, who has been missing for many months,is
found unearthed on the edge of a forest.As additional bodies are discovered,
the case becomes more impenetrable for the three police investigators,
Alex Recht,Fredrika Bergman,and Peder Rydh.They all in different ways
become personally involved in aspects of the case that challenges their
professional integrity,and leads to an enquiry by Internal Affairs.
A thrilling and intricately plotted novel that keeps the interest and
suspense throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever plotting and a complex case, 23 Feb 2014
By 
A Common Reader "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Disappeared (Paperback)
This is obviously a very skilfully written book by an established "Scandi-crime" writer of considerable talent. I found it very difficult to get into however, because of the large number of characters who are introduced in the opening chapters. They all seems to have a complex back-story and I think the book would have been better if it has focussed on just one character to being with rather than darting around the whole team. This made the book quite hard work for me and reduced the enjoyment factor as I kept having to refer back to earlier pages to find out who was who. Otherwise, a rewarding read - eventually!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good plot.., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading this book, I love Scandinavian mysteries.. good characters also. Will read more by this author and its nice to find new authors you haven't read before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome thriller, 15 July 2014
By 
L. Wiles "Wiles" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book. Really kept you on your toes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
C. A. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Paperback)
Very enjoyable, especially if one enjoys the Nordic Noire translations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A long book that grips from the first page, 1 July 2014
By 
Dr R (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Disappeared (Paperback)
This is the third book about Alex Recht and his colleagues from the Stockholm Police following ‘’Unwanted’ and ‘Silenced’. I have not read these yet but, although there are references about what has happened earlier, this does not inhibit a new reader’s understanding.

The first few chapters address completely different stories – a woman watching a ‘snuff’ movie, parts of a woman’s body being found, the transcript of a police internal investigation and an accusation of improper behavior by a female university student against her supervisor. As this long novel proceeds these stories are brought together into a fascinating police procedural book.

The body is quickly identified to be that of a student, Rebecca Trolle, who went missing two years earlier. A great deal of information about her past is soon uncovered, but nothing that helps the police to identify a likely suspect. Recht is still dealing with the recent death of his wife, Lena, whilst his colleague, investigative analyst Frederika Bergman, has just returned from maternity leave following her partner’s sudden decision to look after their young daughter, Saga. Before long the murder investigation impinges on Rebecca’s private life. The third member of the police team, Peder Rydh, is in the process of rebuilding his marriage and also feels responsible for his older brother who, following an accident, is unable to live independently.

Before long, another body is found but this has been buried for decades which causes the police investigators more problems. Are the two murders related? If so, how? The author, ably assisted by her translator, Marlaine Delargy, balances the police team’s investigation and their personal lives in a seemingly effortless manner. A key character is an elderly female children’s author, Thea Aldrin, who had been imprisoned for murdering her partner and, as a result, has remained mute for almost three decades.

The police team comes to realise that Rebecca’s university dissertation about Aldrin is linked to her murder but, whilst they uncover more information, there is little that helps them identify the killer. When Frederika’s partner is drawn into the investigation we see different strands being pursued by different members of the team with key knowledge not being shared. The reader has regular updates on the progress of the internal investigation and, through this, gets an idea of what happens in the future, although the murderer is not identified. However, it implies that the final stages of the investigation did not go according to plan and this very effectively adds to the tension.

A disbanded film group, the delivery of a bouquet of flowers with the message ‘Thanks’, hard-core porn books, a deluded friend of Rebecca’s, her mother, corrupt police, a disappeared solicitor and two very successful businessmen, one with an unusual background, are all added to the mix. However, this complexity is not allowed to confuse the reader.

Unlike some other detective novels, the characters described by Ohlsson are all grounded in reality. They face personal and professional difficulties, and do not always make the right decisions. We understand their thinking as well as the external consequences of their actions.

Recht, Bergman and Rydh work well as a team but are also seen working independently and not necessarily communicating very effectively. All find their personal lives being drawn into the murder investigations. One of the most impressive threads is when Recht finds himself attracted to a woman but feels that he would be unfaithful to his dead wife should he respond to these feelings. There are just a couple of instances where Ohlsson introduces rather clunky exposition and the final scene between the murderer and the policeman has an element of unreality about it as the former explains his motivation. Before this ending, however, Ohlsson exploits the multiple layers of her narrative to repeatedly suggest the guilty party and motive only to reveal additional information pointing in a different direction. Not all of the loose ends are tied up, however, providing an entry into the next book.

The Swedish landscapes within which the investigation is conducted are beautifully handled by Ohlsson who is described on the cover as ‘Sweden’s favourite crime writer’. This is a big claim but, on the basis of this book, one that is fully justified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Read, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
Thoulroughly enjoyed this. I could not put it down! I am happy to have another Scandinavian author to add to my collection as I am completely hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Disappeared
The Disappeared by Kristina Ohlsson
3.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews