Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, 10 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight Mover (Hardcover)
More than overdue - got a chance at a pre-publishing look at this and was thinking : well'it's about time. But this is actually really good. he's been all but forgotten apart from true soul brothesra nd sisters but BW was - and is judging by his performnces here a couple of years back - one of the mainmen, with songs to die for, guitar skills and one of the most achingly soulful voices ever.
You can tell this is from the heart. A truly staggering story of the ups-and-downs - and boy ahs he been down. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the immortals, 6 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Midnight Mover (Hardcover)
Read the book in one sitting - couldn't put it down. Bobby W - what a voice and what a life!! For me, Womack is up there with the immortals - Cook, Gaye, Stone - and his music is built to last. While much of his life reads like a modern tragedy, Bobby emerges equipped against all the lies - a tragic hero.
Uplifting, inspirational, cathartic, epic, funny and sad. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Ain't All Over Now, 3 May 2006
By 
Honey Robinson (Budleigh Salterton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Midnight Mover (Hardcover)
Wow! From page 1 you're on a journey full of hairpin bends and handbreak turns. Bobby W has been poor, he's been rich and he's been poor again. He's been feted by the Stones and shafted by record companies; he has loved and hated in equal measure. Through it all his talent has survived. The man is irrepressible. Written with gripping, quick fire precision, the book is a fascinating account of one man's vortex - it's harrowing and funny but, above all, heroic. Bobby dodges the hard knocks and emerges triumphant. Yeah Bobby, life is "a helluva tester." Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Autobiography, 19 Jun 2008
By 
M. Seaborn "msea66" (somerset, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Mover (Hardcover)
I have long been a fan of Bobby Womack and have loved his music for as long as I can remember.
Like most people I have read plenty of autobiographies. I picked this one up with a true sense of anticipation.....And wasn't disappointed.

This really is a great read. A tale of a man's LIFE. Not just his success. The book is remarkably candid (apart from a perhaps understandably brief description of his son's death). I found it; interesting, informative, poignant, tragic, hilarious and honest. That list is not too common in autobigraphies these days. Even if you have never heard of BW (even though you will definitely know some of his songs) I recommend you read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great read, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Womack: My Autobiography - Midnight Mover (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes sad, sometimes funny but Bobby tells it like it was. He's had enough heartache for ten men but he survived to tell the tale. And what a tale it is. Highly recommended just like his music. One if the all time greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
K. L. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Womack: My Autobiography - Midnight Mover (Kindle Edition)
Legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Womack: My Autobiography - Midnight Mover (Kindle Edition)
Cant put it down, very enjoyable read. The truth is stranger than fiction so they say and it certainly is in Bobby case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, tragic, informative, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Womack: My Autobiography - Midnight Mover (Kindle Edition)
Funny, tragic informative and entertaining
Recommended it to so many people. Could honestly say its one of the best books ive read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Womack: My Autobiography - Midnight Mover (Kindle Edition)
Although a very short book, it is one of the better music autobiographies that I have read lately.
Really enjoyed some of the stories about Wilson Pickett and Sam Cooke earlier on in the book.
Would have been better if there was a undated version that brings in his current work in. But regardless of that it is a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars soulman, 30 Mar 2013
By 
K. Bohacz "kim webb [ rookiekim ]" (stoke-on-trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Womack: My Autobiography - Midnight Mover (Kindle Edition)
this is a really good book , i love bobby as a singer and it was fascinating reading his life story so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews