Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational Fast-Book i5 by Acer
The only One word I could use to describe this 2.5-3.1Ghz with Turbo, is: inspirational.!!
This Silver and Black design had me sitting in AWE when I removed it from its packaging,
oh! By the way "Acer had NO Foam" but Amazon made sure the ACER Box was well protected and
Packaged inside another Tightly fitting BOX. 5/5 for Amazon.co.uk and "NO Dead...
Published on 18 Jan. 2013 by David Glasgow

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acer Aspire E1
I have no experience of laptops so am unable to judge the hardware except to say I find it slow using a keypad compared to a keyboard. What I do find aggravating is the Windows 8 software which is inconsistent and I suspect was developed for a touch screen and not pad. It is slow and concentrates more on apps most of which I do not want. With hindsight had I understood...
Published on 4 April 2013 by rayb


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational Fast-Book i5 by Acer, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
David Glasgow "Wego" (Co.Tyrone, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
The only One word I could use to describe this 2.5-3.1Ghz with Turbo, is: inspirational.!!
This Silver and Black design had me sitting in AWE when I removed it from its packaging,
oh! By the way "Acer had NO Foam" but Amazon made sure the ACER Box was well protected and
Packaged inside another Tightly fitting BOX. 5/5 for Amazon.co.uk and "NO Dead Pixels"...
.
I have to say I had Planned in installing a Program called (Start8) which Automatically gives
you back the positioning of the Windows 7 (Start Panel), when after a few's hours of getting to
know my way around the laptop (which is dead ZIPPY) very Fast, and it doesn't need a Solid State
Drive for more performance. I ended up NOT needing the (Start8) Program after all, because after
Pressing the (Windows button + C) on the keyboard, the Start Menu appears, its just cleverly hidden.
.
It came with a host of decent software to start you off until you can make arrangements to get your
own Like McAfee Internet Security 2013, which was a relief because I would not go on the internet for
2 mins, without an Anti-Virus Package, thank goodness McAfee was inside. Which made me feel safe.
You usually have spend 20-30mins on the internet when you 1st boot it, to set up your own Twitter &
Facebook, settings together with a Microsoft security features, so if the laptop should fall into the wrong
hands, its NO good to them the DATA will be encrypted. (of course you CAN SKIP all that if its NOT for you).
.
So in theory if you just want to remove it from the Box and decide to give it a TEST DRIVE without anything
to hold you back, immediately (YES YOU CAN JUST PRESS SKIP) to it all.. its your i5 Laptop do as you please.
I thought being an i5 it would have been a quad core just like the Desktop, but NO its a Core i5 Laptop CPU
with 2 Cores and 4 Threads so it can Multi-task very efficiently indeed and the 4x Threads is NOT too far away
from a 4 Core solution, though it has the other main features which are the i5 "IVY-BRIDGE 3rd Generation CPU"
Architecture, which is 10% more in the performance table than the Sandy-Bridge CPU Plus it runs cooler (the laptop
CPU does anyways). It also runs on virtually the same power of one of those older light bulbs, which is very little.
.
Its Got 4GB Ram which is enough, until you find the time or money, to upgrade to 8GB Ram if you feel you need to,
however, if its a lot of light work you are going to be doing then give it a miss the 4GB Ram is sufficient.
8GB would just give it the edge on Program's running several at a time, but if that's not you're plans then Pls ignore.
A Stick of (4GB DDR3 So-dimm 204 memory 1333) for a laptop is only £14.99 on Amazon. And its very easy to fit.!
.
This Laptop has had some *5 Star reviews around the internet which swayed me, towards the ACER, and NO its NOT full of
Bloatware, it seems that ACER have "Listened to the customer this time".
.
For the Very Low Asking Price with (4 Threads), which show's up as 4 cores in the Windows 8 Device Manger, and a Turbo
Speed of 3.1GHz when you need the power, this Laptop, is certainly one of the "BEST BUYS" on Amazon at Present.
No it's not a finger print magnet either. Someone else mentioned that, and (I felt I had best to put that one to bed).
To wrap it up, the Keyboard is fabulous, and it has a very clever touch Pad, which is very intuitive, so no need for
a mouse when you take you machine outside. One last thing Please order any Tech-Air Laptop case, grate value, and
grate protection, the "back Pack" One Tech-Air has oodles of foam padding, for under £20.

PS. Please don't be afraid of (Window's 8) as it will grow on you very quickly!

Its got a very intuitive touch pad which is like the 50 quid Logitech ones, you have to pay for that operate on multi touch
especially, just for Windows 8, so you can use all the multi-touch gestures, its a really clever multi-touch pad unlike,
other laptop tracking pads. (please be aware of that so you do not need any special hardware)...

Thanks for reading... I hope its been helpful.! cheers.. David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value for Money Laptop, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
J. A. Sugrue - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
Well suited with the laptop, not so keen on Windows 8. But that is easly sorted by downloading the free "Classic Shell" software, then you have the option of Windows Classic or XP or Vista/Win 7 start screens, which are fully customisable. Wife likes Windows 8
so we are both happy.

Pros:
Its a fast PC, and video image is good, and build quality is good.

Cons:

Reflections on the glossy screen, but the work rounds are, dont sit with a table lamp behind you at night, or during the day with a window behind you. Or shell out [at time of purchasing] an extra £140 for a similair speced laptop sporting a matt screen.

Speakers do the job for a single user but lack volume. So for watching films stored on the laptop or streamed from the web I just hook the laptop upto my 37" Toshiba HD TV via the HDMI port. Job Shorted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acer 4GB Mem i5 core 500 GB, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
The cheapest intel i5 at the time. Great spec & has been faultless.
It is really fast, & copes well with all multimedia demands.

I was worried about Windows 8, but the Acer desktop app (installed) turns it
into a recognisable windows interface. Sure, you need to learn a few Win 8 basics,
but the quick start guide probably covers that. Saying that, I have had a bit of experience with an Android tablet,
and that helped the adjustment to Win 8. If you are undecided about Win 8, I'd say bite the bullet & go for it.

HDMI output looks great & far better than old PC connections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best laptop deal, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
This Acer laptop, with an i5 and as standard 4GB RAM and 500GB HDD must be the best value laptop currently available.
My 7 year old Acer 5630 was slowly dying due to power supply problems and had to be replaced, so I did a thorough review of all available laptops and deals. This machine at £330 is unbelievable.
Smart machine, although the shiny top does get fingermarks all over it too easily. Windows 8 is totally alien to me having been on XP for the last 7 years, I was totally lost when first switching it on and decided there and then to get a 'professional' in to set it up (whilst watching every move he made and asking appropriate questions). Best £40 I have paid, as he set up everything, my wireless connections to broadband and Brother printer, transferred my files via his USB, installed Avast security, gave me Libre office/spreadsheet programs to save me buying Word, Skype, home page set-up with Firefox (and Chrome as another choice), deleted all the junk and gave me a fair bit of instruction.
I have just ordered a 4GB RAM upgrade from Crucial for £16.79, which leaves me with an i5 8GB/500GB Windows 8 laptop fully set up for less than £400!!!!!amazing.
It will obviously take me a while to get a grip of Windows 8, but I suppose XP will eventually go, so time to bite the bullet.
I have just also ordered a 16GB USB drive (KIngston data traveller 101) to store back-up configuration for £7.42!!!!!great value.
I'm already liking this laptop and getting a grip of Windows 8. Great start to 2013.

Forget Samsung/Toshiba etc. This Acer is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Realy good value, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
R. Revell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
Took about half an hour to set up -which included stripping all the bloatware/apps, loaded AVGfree and installing winshell - really don't like win8!
One thing of note with winshell - in other than basic mode it would occassionally prevent the wifi from loading but seems ok apart from that.
Tried to backup to disk but it failed to complete the last (number twelve) on so had to backup to a usb hd.
Why only four star? Two issues - 1) I'm struggling with the screen colour balance if it's ok for desktop it's too dark for movies 2) the power connector port feels a bit insecure - wobbles about a bit, not sure it will last!
Other than that it's a good price for an i5

Update - changed the video settings on VLC to directx and videos now play ok
Just ordered a futher 4gb memory for under £15 - very good value!

Installed the memory (DDR3 PC3 - 12800 SODIMM from Crucial) - very easy, just two screws - now boots up in under 15 seconds
Having used it for some time now I find the keyboard is really well laid out and comfortable for touch typing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Intel i5) Review, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Andrew (England, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
This is an amazing laptop for it's price range, I didn't think you could get a decent i5 for -£350. This model is new and offers the new Windows OS which is much better than 7. The CPU is fast and can handle big tasks, along with the best graphics Intel have made (Intel HD 4000). 4GB RAM is more than enough (can be upgraded to 8GB) and the 500GB HDD makes storage a charm. Battery life isn't the best but expected for the specs.

- Powerful CPU
- Improved Graphics from the HD 3000
- 4GB DDR3 RAM
- Massive 500GB HDD
- Decent Battery Life

I would recommend this laptop over again to anybody who needed a budget, high performance build. 5/5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
By 
M. Acton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
This laptop is probably the best value on the market, I would have given it 5 stars if not for a small issue with the wireless drivers. My girlfreind had trouble for several weeks with incredibly slow internet so after looking into it eventually I found the wireless drivers were incompatible with windwows 8 and had to downloaded directly from Broadcom. I feel you average user might not know what to do in this situation and think it should have been shipped with up to date drivers for the correct OS. Other than that it is a good laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great looking core i5 Laptop, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
Sleek looking and a decent feel - at this price for an i5 processor with a good unit design and good styling you really can't go wrong. A few have mentioned that the glossy case gets fingerprinted easily but it doesn't with normal handling - it actually stays pretty clean. Bought this for my parents and I'm considering keeping it as it's actually better than the i3 Toshiba I bought a few weeks ago (for a higher price!) and giving them my old one! Very very very decent for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No case to answer, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
K. Lews - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
There simply is no better deal for a Core i5 laptop with Windows 8 then this Acer for the moment - it really does not matter if it is a 2nd or 3rd generation processor - it is very fast. Even better add a further 4 gb DDR3 ram and it flies. Forget the trial Office 2010, use Open Office - Office 97 also runs very well and has around 90% of the features of the very latest Office versions. Super screen and keyboard, battery life is average but as usual with a new lithium battery always try to condition it for maximum life and longevity...

WiFi is good, only USB 2.0 but fast enough for most users... on trial for a new laptop - no case to answer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer Aspire E1 15.6-inch Laptop (Black/Silver) - (Intel Core i5 3210 2.5GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 64-Bit) (Personal Computers)
I decided on getting this laptop after discussing it's specifications with a friend who is very knowledgable on computers. He advised me at present, a good option for me would be an i5 processor teamed with 4GB or more of RAM. At £329.99 this laptop is a bargain, and offers some fantastic features including the new Windows 8 operating system.

After having a few hours playing with windows 8, I can safely say it is a fantastic system. It's so intuitive and aimed at the 'normal' PC user - you don't have to be a pro to get your head around more complex tasks.

The laptop itself is slightly tacky on build quality, hence the 4 star review. The most aggrivating thing is the keyboard - not one of the best i've used. The whole unit is also very light - this is great until you realise its because the whole thing is quite plasticy.

Overall, if you want a reasonably powerful machine which can handle heavier tasks like video editing, this is the one to go for. Well done Acer, it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews