Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Listening, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
This is a very good value for money (public domain) compilation from `One Day Music'. This 2 disc package is nicely produced and designed albeit with only a few small pictures, liner notes and writing credits for eye candy. The sound quality is very good. The music is from 1959, `Top Ranks' first year (a selection of tracks from JAR 102 to 261).

Cd 1. (59.06 mins.):- Starts off with the fantastic `I've had it' by the Bell Notes (later recorded by the Chosen Few - the American garage group), other highlights would be `Tallahassee lassie' by Freddie Cannon, a couple of great tracks from the Crests, a couple of sweet songs from Terri Dean to satisfy my sugar levels, and cd 1 finishes with `Tempting Me' by Bobby Jack. There's lots of ok to good songs in between depending on your taste. Overall 7/10.

Cd 2. (57.19 mins.):- A very Doo Wop and Instro's tinged disc, some mediocre tracks but lots of good tracks overall,- classics from Freddie Cannon, Dee Clark, The Fireflies, Bobby Hendricks and Little Antony & the Imperials. 7/10

Overall a very good compilation to start off the 'Top Rank' story, it would have been nice to start with JAR 101 - 'Little Drummer Boy' by Harry Simeone Chorale but i'm nit picking. Good listening overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank Story 1959, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
It's what it says on the tin!

Lovely collection of old US and UK rock 'n' roll
Essential for lovers of the more obscure tracks that didn't make the charts as well as the hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top rank legends, 11 July 2013
By 
keith (st helens uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
i think the series 1959 to 1962 is very good a vastly underrated label run by none other than dick rowe and tony hatch the tracks are very good mix of uk and us releses i love labels and this is one of them i think credit is due liking for such a fine series so to them who are noy liking it because they have not got certain ones on it i say write to the makers because im happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Family, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. Hawley "Jay Hawley" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
I bought this product for my father, he seems very satisfied with itt and thats the most I can say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok sounds, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
as shown on time,, ok sounds,, not quite what I was expecting.. s s s s s s s s s s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars item very good, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
un periodo d'oro della musica popo americana contiene canzoni molto note e belle comprende pezzi ripresi successivamente da molti altri cantanti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank Story 1959/60/61, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
This is a great series of classic tracks from this great record label. The series is well produced and includes so many well known and slighlty less well known titles. Shall look out for other labels in this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars top shop, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
a lot of these tracks are hard to get if like me you like to hear the lyrics and music buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides), 14 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Moira May (Hull, East yorshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) (Audio CD)
Rock,N,Roll is what l live for, I can,t get enough of the these Records, many of which were never issued here in Great Britain, l,ve been interested in this type of Music for more than Fifty Years and apart from 80% of them having been Ruined by putting these Rare Recordings into Stereo (a Big Mistake) they are very Good indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides)
The Top Rank Story 1959 (A Sides) by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews