Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Spell Is Cast
Another 2 disc compilation from 'One Day Music', which has fifty remastered tracks from the 'OKeh' label. There's a one sided intro as usual but no booklet - which is to be expected at this value for money price tag. The sound quality is good. The 50 tracks cover mostly R&B, Blues and Doo Wop (a decade later the label made many excellent soul records - many picked up by...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK.
Not bad, tracks very short. More like clips.
Published 17 days ago by Christine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Spell Is Cast, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
Another 2 disc compilation from 'One Day Music', which has fifty remastered tracks from the 'OKeh' label. There's a one sided intro as usual but no booklet - which is to be expected at this value for money price tag. The sound quality is good. The 50 tracks cover mostly R&B, Blues and Doo Wop (a decade later the label made many excellent soul records - many picked up by the Northern Soul Scene). There's a mix of well known artists such as Big Maybelle, Screamin' Jay Hawkins, Dave 'baby' Cortez and Chuck Willis among others with lots of lesser known artists making up the rest.

Cd 1. (58.56mins) Tracks from 1954 - 1961 but mostly mid to late 50's. This disc starts off with the awesome 'I put a spell on you' no other versions even come close to this powerful and bizarre original. Other very good tracks are 'You give me the heebie jeebies' by Dave 'baby' Cortez and 'Billy's heartache' which is an early track by the wonderful Billy Stewart. There's also an early track by Frankie Valli. Overall 7/10.

Cd 2. (60.42mins) Tracks from 1954 - 1960 but mostly late 50's. Great tracks include 'You made me love you' and 'Frenzy' by Screamin' Jay Hawkins, 'I've got it bad' by Lois Lee and 'Pearl' by the Schoolboys - a great slice of Doo Wop. Overall, 7.5/10.

Overall, a very good compilation. Also seek out this labels soul output - Major Lance, The Artistics, Walter Jackson etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, Great tunes., 14 Jan 2013
By 
Peter Penn "Peter" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
Hard to fault these essential packages, 40 to 50 tracks of previously hard to find Rock. R&B by leaders and unkowns of the genre, collected by the recording labels. All tracks older thean 50 yrs so all public domain, no copyright fees makes the prices very affordable. Great recordings, smart packaging, well chosen tracks. Missing 5 stars only because of scant liner notes but for the incredibly cheap price I cannot complain. Great value, Great tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I put a spell on you - The Okey Story, 15 Jun 2013
By 
R. Shaw "Ronboy" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
A nice collection of 50 tracks from the American Okey label. From doowop such as "Please say you want me" Schoolboys to raw R&B like "I put a spell on you" Screamin' Jay Hawkins. If this is your bag you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brillant!, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
Can't fault this collection. Great sound, great performers and great tracks - a real joy.
If you like this music as much as I do then check out the Stax and Satellite Story and The Chess Story
also from One Day Music, they are just as good. All in all a great bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great olldies, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
if you havent heard to much of okeh its great if you collect 60s soul ect try it you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK., 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
Not bad, tracks very short. More like clips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars usual quality, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
these label 2cd sets are superb -a really good synopsis of the labels issues at the time of the 50s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I put a Spell on you - The Okeh Story, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. Moira May (Hull, East yorshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
This CD - I put a Spell on you - The Okeh Story is Superb and has already given me lots of Pleasure listening to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
By 
PAUL NEEDHAM (DERBY, DERBYSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story
I Put A Spell On You: The Okeh Story by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews