Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The titles says it all...definitive, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This Definitive Collection features a wide selection of Sarah Vaughan's most iconic recordings including songs such as 'S'Wonderful', 'Have You Met Miss Jones?', 'Broken-Hearted Melody', 'Summertime', 'Body And Soul' and not forgetting `Passing Strangers' with Billy Eckstine and many more. All 75 tracks have been digitally remastered for optimum listening. The periods covered by these discs are CD1 1954 to 1961; CD2 1947 to 1961 & CD3 1946 to 1961. The running time is an amazing 220 minutes. The sound transfers are excellent throughout and this is a collection that lives up to its title. Interesting liner notes from Joseph Adair. As a run through the popular songbook of the 20th century this 3 CD set demonstrates just how many fine compositions have still got that all important `class' and the combination of Sarah Vaughan and the songbook is a real winner hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Vaughan definitive collection, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Can't say whether this is truly "definitive", I only know there are 75 songs sensibly packaged at a very attractive price and I love 'em all! Tone is great all the way through the three discs and I particularly like the fact that each song has a recording date - not "published", not "copyright" but actually sung and recorded; to my mind having a recording date helps to place the artist on the overall musical time line (1946-61) and we can see how they slot into contemporary history. I would have liked details of the various bands too but I can live without it for this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voice like smooth honey, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Love this collection. Some collections include tracks just to make up the album, but I like every track. Sarah Vaughan is my favourite singer from the era, and I listen whilst driving home from work (35 miles), in the early hours. Its a good wind down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Vaughan Collection, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This is the best of her compilation cds of which I'm aware. Most of the tracks relate to the '50s and'60s and hence are of a better quality thamn her earlier works

Geof M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
If this is your kind of music this is a terrific collection, well recorded lovely quality. Sarah Vaughan at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING SARAH, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
What an amazing voice. I've played this CD over and over. Many songs remind me of my childhood when
my older siblings played some of this music. This lady will never date. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up there with the greatest jazz singers .............., 2 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
What style and emotion, Sarah Vaughan, brings to every song. My collection is pretty serious but not comprehensive and this added much to my delight in great singers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good recordings and a fantastic listing of some fantastic tracks, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Really good recordings and a fantastic listing of some fantastic tracks. I would recommend this as one of the best Sarah Vaughan collections
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery and excellent value but could have done with a bit more ..., 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Prompt delivery and excellent value but could have done with a bit more info. re dates and line up etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Have loved Ms Vaughan since my Dad introduced me to her music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by Sarah Vaughan (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews