Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The RAF's Worst Night
This is an excellent and gripping account of the story of the disaster that was Nuremburg. The detailed statistics of the raid have been more than adequately dealt with in previous publications; the story here is told, as it should be, by the men who took part and the effect it had on them, written by a man who experienced war operations personally. I agree with a...
Published on 29 April 2013 by Philip Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly the book contains virtually no new information and comes a poor second to Martin Middlebrook's brilliant book written in t
I was surprised that the author chose to write about this particular raid, since virtually all the Luftwaffe & Bomber Command veterans that took part have long since passed away.

Sadly the book contains virtually no new information and comes a poor second to Martin Middlebrook's brilliant book written in the 1970s. In addition, the photographs included were...
Published 7 months ago by History Buff.


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps ypu to realize what your grand parents suffered so that we can be safe today, 7 April 2014
By 
C. Davidson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
An excellent factual account of the bomber offensive against Nazi germany of the 1940's and the suffering of the very young aircrew who gave there all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Time Warriors, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
This is a first class book, well researched and we'll written. Much has been said about the tactics used by Bomber Command during the Second World War, but the fact is these brave young men put their lives on the line night after night. Whether Arthur Harris's tactics of bombing major cities was correct or not the fact that these guy's received no campaign
medal for their huge effort is astounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read!!, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always look out for John Nichol's work and I have enjoyed all his books immensely. The Red line is no exception. He has a tremendous understanding and empathy after his own career in the RAF. This was the story of bravery and commitment of a generation who volunteered to do this, they were not conscripted or joined for a career.
The book has pace and is a testament to those men who didn't come home. We lost a family member in the War and I quote from the Commemorative Scroll issued to the bereaved Widow, " He gave his life to save mankind from tyranny. May his sacrifice help to bring the peace and freedom for which he died". I leave readers of the book to think on those words. Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The worst planned RAF raid of World War Two, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gripping account of a disastrous raid that should never taken off. The route, the weather and bad luck made this the highest casualty RAF raid on Germany of the Second world war. Nichol, a victim himself of a badly planned raid in his Tornado, knows his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting book, well written, it conveys the reality of sitting in a vulnerable aeroplane miles from home, mostly bombing civilians over Germany. Of course these RAF crew were very brave men (well they really had little choice, doing the 'work' of the politicians, who in turn were doing the 'work' of the weapons makers and banksters) but near the end of the 'war' these bombing missions were unnecessary and politically motivated, explaining the absence of a memorial to the thousands of crew who lost their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book/paperback..., 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chose this volume to learn more about WW2.
My mother served in the Land Army, she had many friends who served overseas, and also refugees to Britain.
As a result, I have always been interested in the amazing accounts of what our "parents" did on our behalf.
The Great War, also has implications in our family.
My Grandfather fought on the Somme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Rollercoaster, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, well written and researched. Loved how you are introduced to some of the aircrew at the beginning and then follow their experience through to the end of the raid, and in some cases their experiences after the war in general. Highly recommend to anyone interested in the World War 2 air war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
I have read the Martin Middlebrook book on this raid, and hoped this would give some new insight into the raid.

The Barton VC information was interesting, but I did not feel I had discovered much new after reading the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Th e best, 29 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. Leslie Ballard (Cardiff UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written book, one of the best in my collection of true RAF books the sort of book that is hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be read by all people who have enjoyed the freedom which cost so much, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
I first started thusis while in hospital I became fasinated. Well written and researched . I t January could. it stop reading it I must see the bomber Just Jane

David Howell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews