Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The RAF's Worst Night
This is an excellent and gripping account of the story of the disaster that was Nuremburg. The detailed statistics of the raid have been more than adequately dealt with in previous publications; the story here is told, as it should be, by the men who took part and the effect it had on them, written by a man who experienced war operations personally. I agree with a...
Published 23 months ago by Philip Harris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly the book contains virtually no new information and comes a poor second to Martin Middlebrook's brilliant book written in t
I was surprised that the author chose to write about this particular raid, since virtually all the Luftwaffe & Bomber Command veterans that took part have long since passed away.

Sadly the book contains virtually no new information and comes a poor second to Martin Middlebrook's brilliant book written in the 1970s. In addition, the photographs included were...
Published 4 months ago by History Buff.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The RAF's Worst Night, 29 April 2013
By 
Philip Harris (Cardiff, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent and gripping account of the story of the disaster that was Nuremburg. The detailed statistics of the raid have been more than adequately dealt with in previous publications; the story here is told, as it should be, by the men who took part and the effect it had on them, written by a man who experienced war operations personally. I agree with a previous reviewer that errors have crept into the text (Wrattling Common should have read Wratting Common), but mistakes of this nature appear to be prevalent in recently-published books on the RAF.

This book is a must for those interested in Bomber Command operations in World War II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right in the action!!!!!!, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read. You feel a part of the action and what these courageous guys went through brings it ALL home how lucky we are to be part of a free society. Anyone who loves aeroplanes and history will enjoy this. I admit I felt a sorrow at what these heroic guys went through, especially the ones who did not return. The experiences of the few who lived and shared their thoughts for all to read is a testimony to what we owe the RAF Bomber Command boys. A pity the politicians of the day washed their hands of the bomber boys sacrifices!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just as well we have made amends albeit a little late!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure, like me, your heart too will go out to The Few, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
As the title says this is a gripping story. My own Father served in Bomber Command (as a Navigator) and I now understand why he never talked about it. A must for anyone, even with a tenuous connection to the RAF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars makes you think...., 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...about what it cost to keep the free world free.
Meticulous research, and a very human approach to what is a story about young men who took as normal the kind of risks I couldn't comprehend.
well-written in a straightforward way, the simplicity of the "storyline" betrays the dreadful reality of Bomber Commands day in, day out battle over Germany. John Nichol's sympathy for his subjects is clear, and he has taken the "RAF's worst night" to highlight what they went through every time they took off, not just on this raid. And not just in the skies - the treatment these men received from their superiors when they couldn't take any more would be intolerable today, Nichol's examples of the RAF's attitude to battle fatigue are as chilling as the carnage in the air.
A well-researched, and extremely readable, account of a particularly bloody night, that pays an overdue tribute to 125000 heroes, 55000 of whom paid the highest price of all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Personal histories of the tragic events of almost exactly 70 years ago, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
R. M. Lane (UK Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Nuremberg raid resulted in more RAF deaths in one night than the entire Battle of Britain.

Even if you have read the Middlebrook account of the raid this is well worth the purchase. Whereas Middlebrook has written the definitive account allied to personal recollections, Nichol concentrates on the personal, some of which is similar, however it is the illustrations of the veterans which REALLY brings the story to life. These elderly gentlemen; many of whom one can also be seen in his younger version; as little more than teenagers (or even as teenagers) went through the most terrifying experience. It is being able to look at the photographs and realise that 'this' happened to 'him' - which strikes home. The extra previously unpublished information alone about Cyril Barton VC and Chris Panton (Just Jane) from their surviving families, makes the book worth the money. The account of one veteran who was unbelievably classed as LMF simply for sticking up for his rights beggars belief in the system. This book reaffirms John Nichol in the same league as Martin Middlebrook and Kevin Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book well written & researched. Gives the human side of so many ordinary young men who were doing an extraordinary job.
Recommended reading for anyone with an interest in history; however It would in my opinion appeal to those who would like to know what young people are capable of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and thorough telling of the story, 29 Sept. 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a modern German city, Nuremberg held great significance for the Nazis as the location for their major political rallies.

Wartime Allied policy was after 1941 to destroy as much of German industry, its infrastructure and transport systems as was possible with the view to shorten the War and to cause German surrender. It was politically a hot potato at the time and has remained so since. Certain town and cities may not have fitted into the main parameters but were politically important and that was Nuremburg's fate.

It was also one of the best defended locations in Germany and the death toll of airmen was very high and was even more catastrophic for its population as most of the city was eventually destroyed. This book is that story. Its author is John Nichol, the airmen's modern day equivalent who fought and was captured in the first Iraqi war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolutely gripping poignant account, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
I found this story to be very emotional and inspiring throughout and it helped me personally to appreciate the unconditional sacrifice these men made for us.
My own father was a tail-end Charlie and I have a hand written account of one his raids over cologne.
I salute them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read quite a few accounts of air warfare and bombers (both allied and German) and this one has a very interesting and engaging way about it. For example it gives great context to what the rest of the day of a mission was like. It looks at what they ate and what the girls they spoke to before take off said. It paints a very vivid picture of the younger brothers and sisters back at home anxiously thinking about their elder brothers.
All in all it's a great book. Even if it was just the mission details and some of the actual testimony of the raids it would be very good. But what sets it apart is the common everyday bits which give great context and tell us as much about the war as the bits about dropping bombs etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps ypu to realize what your grand parents suffered so that we can be safe today, 7 April 2014
By 
C. Davidson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Red Line: The Gripping Story of the RAF's Bloodiest Raid on Hitler's Germany (Kindle Edition)
An excellent factual account of the bomber offensive against Nazi germany of the 1940's and the suffering of the very young aircrew who gave there all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews