Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I stumbled across this CD while looking for a Rod Stewart Christmas Album. I've never heard of Ceelo Green in all my years of listening to music, what a voice this man has.
All of the tracks on this CD are good but two for me make this a must buy CD.

Mary, Did you know? gives me goosebumps it's like poetry to music, amazing.

And River comes a...
Published on 19 Nov. 2012 by Misterf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, shame about the song choice.
No doubt about it, the man can sing! Like most American artists he feels the need to bring out a Christmas album (and there's nothing wrong with that) it's just a shame that the song choice wasn't more inspired. For the most part the tracks are fairly straight readings of Christmas classics, and he wouldn't be out of place belting them out wearing a fluffy jumper and...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by HowieL


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CeeLo's Magic Moment (MP3 Download)
I stumbled across this CD while looking for a Rod Stewart Christmas Album. I've never heard of Ceelo Green in all my years of listening to music, what a voice this man has.
All of the tracks on this CD are good but two for me make this a must buy CD.

Mary, Did you know? gives me goosebumps it's like poetry to music, amazing.

And River comes a close second.

All in all an amazing Christmas CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you feel all warm and fuzzy, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
Christmas is coming. So along with the old decorations being brought out from the loft - we normally blow the dust off our 'Greatest Christmas Hits' album, featuring every overplayed song that assails us as early as mid-September. If you want something new that still carries the old fashioned spirit of Christmas - I'd give this one a look. It probably won't make Christmas No1... but it's a splendid soundtrack for the season

I'd only really noticed CeeLo Green after his superb 'Lady Killer' Album of 2010 - And I fell in love with his charming ability to give old school jazz, swing, soul and blues a fresh kick into modern life. And I'm delighted to say that he has once again done the same with this fantastic Christmas covers album. It's delightful, soulful and has the warmth and a charm of a hot chocolate on a cold evening

With CeeLo's over-the-top (yet charming) swagger and the current musical state of affairs - you could be forgiven for thinking that a 'modern' twist means rap, synthesised music or heavy club bass... Don't worry - Not so. We have classic songs driven with the modern leading instruments of the piano, drums and bass - Lovingly lavished with a healthy helping of strings and brass, topped off with CeeLo's fantastic voice which, dare I say, rivals the likes of Sinatra

Don't worry if you don't recognise any of the songs (I only knew 3) - You'll quickly be swept up by their charm

1. What Christmas Means To Me - This pretty much sets the scene of what's in store. A faithful rendition of the toe-tapping original that feels a bit less cheesy (just a bit) and more jazzy
2. Baby It's Cold Outside - A charming bluesy duet with Christina Aguilera. The drums take a light backseat here and allow a gentle piano and vocals to deftly lead the song which sounds like it'd find a nice home in a blues club
3. This Christmas - Nothing overly special, but Christmassy all the same
4. The Christmas Song - We take a quick break from the upbeat cheesiness for a slower pace - yet still keeping the warmth of the album
5. White Christmas - I actually know this one! A big, bold, lovable version of the classic
6. All I need Is Love - Ridiculous and over-the-top... but incredible fun! Whoever teamed CeeLo with The Muppets is a genius. The fact that they got the Muppet's 'monnomonon' in a song is brilliant. We even get a closing remark from Statler and Waldorf
7. You're A Mean One Mr Grinch - This one is, shall we say, 'distinct'... It's a quirky cover of Dr Seuss' story-song with the a cappella group 'Straight No Chaser' providing a superb backing. It's weird to think that there's actually no instruments - only their vocals. CeeLo's energy and enthusiastic emphasis help to liven up the slightly duller narration of the song
8. Please Come Home For Christmas - A charming song that really brings the fuzzies. It's sweet and very tempting to sway to
9. Run Rudolph Run - It wouldn't be a Christmas album if there wasn't something incredibly cheesy... And this one is it - Lively and fast-paced
10. All I Want For Christmas - A fantastic cover of Mariah Carey's hit - The backing vocals are simply divine. It's a little slower and driven more by the drum line, but it works really well
11. Mary, Did You Know? - Here the album starts to wind down, with this beautiful cover. CeeLo's vocals really come into their own here. It sounds like a hymn with the soundtrack you'd expect from a Blockbuster film
12. River - My personal favourite. A wonderful, sweet ballad with some delicate strings that compliments CeeLo's soothing vocals
13. Merry Christmas, Baby - A fun duet with Rod Stewart, supported nicely by Trombone Shorty. A nice upbeat Christmassy tune to break up the ballads
14. Silent Night - We finish with a wonderful rendition of the classic hymn. With an unimposing gentle start, it builds into an astounding orchestral finale. No better way to sign off the album

All in all... it's superb. It's cheesy enough that you'd cringe as your parents dance to it, but not to the extent that the songs become a guilty pleasure. Thoroughly enjoyable and impressive to see CeeLo taking his work even deeper into the realms of swing, jazz, blues and soul

Peace... and yes, I know it's only November...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Alternative to the Buble! !!, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
V. Radcliffe (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CeeLo's Magic Moment (MP3 Download)
Full of catchy seasonal songs that I am sure will become annual favourites at thiis time of year. My kids love the song with the Muppets - yes it takes you back to being a kid again! !!! Would recommend to anyone who wants to listen to something different than usually offerred at this time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My lovely C.D, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
What a wonderful Christmas C.D I'm so glad I bought it in November, I can really wear it out by Christmas. There are some fast songs,and slow ones, and the mix of the two make this a great CD to play at any time. The track "All I need is love" which features the Mupetts is brilliant!!!! I have a hip replacement but I would definately consider dislocating it to this heady track!!! Love this music keep it up Ceelo x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Xmas Album, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
I have never written an Amazon review before but just have to for this one. Bought this for my kids as I thought they would enjoy it but boy so do I!!! Cannot undrestand why there is little or no publicity about this album. We have quite a collection of Xmas music from the Sixteen to Phil Spector and after two days this is up there as a Christmas favourite. Great combination of styles, you can hear Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye and James Brown amongst others. Silent Night is stunning and his vocals match Mahalia Jackson at the outset. Whilst this number does build beautifully would love to have heard him without any further backing. Wonderful. Other great Xmas album is Shelby Lynne's with best White Christmas after Bing's. In short, go buy this or even both!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, shame about the song choice., 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
No doubt about it, the man can sing! Like most American artists he feels the need to bring out a Christmas album (and there's nothing wrong with that) it's just a shame that the song choice wasn't more inspired. For the most part the tracks are fairly straight readings of Christmas classics, and he wouldn't be out of place belting them out wearing a fluffy jumper and sitting in front of a log fire on some cheesy TV show about 20/30 years ago. Nothing here pushes the boundaries , with the possible exception of "You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch". So, if you want pleasant enough versions of hoary old classics then this is fine enough, but it's difficult to see what this adds to countless other versions of the same songs. Buy if you're a fan of the man, but be prepared for an uninspiring experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absol fantastic, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
WHAT A GREAT ALBUM,CHRISTMAS SONGS THAT ARE SOO FUNKY.LISTENED TO SAMPLES AND FELL IN LOVE WITH STRAIGHT AWAY.BUY IT!!!! SOMETHING DIFFERENT FROM THE SAME OLD SAME OLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ceelo's Magic Moment, 23 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed ceelo green from his Gnarles Barkley days and later the excellent Ceelo Green Lady Killer, I was reading on wikipedia to find out more about ceelo and I found this album, Ceelo's Magic Moment.
I downloaded it as mp3 album going off the reviews here and i wasn't dissapointed, there are a couple of tracks that stand proud like The River and all i want for Christmas, but generally its a up there with his other work, Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive Fun, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed the sense of enjoyment that is apparent on this CD. Great voice; great energy;great fun. Iove it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ceelo at Christmas, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ceelo's Magic Moment (Audio CD)
Great car CD for the festive period, his distinctive voice does a good job of some classic Christmas favourites and there's even a Muppet song that gets you humming along.
Didn't like the Grinch song but I've never seen the film and it just wasn't Christmassy sounding for me but I liked all the others. Will be an annual favourite now, well done Ceelo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CeeLo's Magic Moment
CeeLo's Magic Moment by CeeLo Green
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews