Customer Reviews
Now


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant & stylish
Elegant and stylish. It is true, no one needs another re-recording. But this is really an exception. The recordings are perfect. And the selection of songs is not the usual. There are two rare pearls "Be aware" & "J just have to breathe" (wonderful new recordings). And I love the new songs. Especially "99 Miles from LA" & "Love is still the answer". I hope that next new...
Published on 3 Nov 2012 by Lutz Hartmann

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful. If she only had taken some more risks...
She is a living legend.
She is the epitome of elegant, sensual and, at times, acrobatic and dramatic singing and phrasing.
In the '60s she was more popular in Europe than in her own country.
In France (she was called "la panthère noire", the black panther), in Italy, in Britan they adored her, almost worshippd her like the Black Goddess of...
Published on 13 Nov 2012 by Tilak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful. If she only had taken some more risks..., 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
She is a living legend.
She is the epitome of elegant, sensual and, at times, acrobatic and dramatic singing and phrasing.
In the '60s she was more popular in Europe than in her own country.
In France (she was called "la panthère noire", the black panther), in Italy, in Britan they adored her, almost worshippd her like the Black Goddess of Music.
Her new album "Now" celebrate 50 year anniversary from her first chart hit "Don't Make Me Over".
On this one she reworks some of her past single hits and sings four new tracks, all written by Bacharack and David, including Bacharach's "Love Is Still The Answer", David's "It Was Almost Like A Song", "99 Miles From LA" (a US hit for Art Garfunkel), and the new single "Is There Anybody Out There?", written by Bacharach with James Ingram and Puff Johnson.
Previously she had done something similar with Dionne Sings Dionne in 1998.
The new arrangements by Phil Ramone are, as usual, very lush, romantic and maybe a little predictable.
Her voice is a little worn but still elegant, warm and pleasant to listen to.
Somebody may be wondering about the reason beyond the celebration factor.
There's nothing really new about it.
All tracks are immediately recognizable, and she sings her signature songs effortlessly, elegantly but a little too safely.
Among the Warwick "oldies" to get a glossy, risk-free makeover, you find naturally "Don't Make Me Over", "Make It Easy On Yourself", "Are You There With Another Girl", and "I Say A Little Prayer For You" in duet with her son David Elliot.
Very nice and easy on the ear: but you cannot feel through them that agonizing drama and soul-and-mind impacting quality which her vibrant voice and sensual body talk were able to communicate to listeners in her yester days.
The originals remain indelible and supreme and Ms Warwick adds almost nothing to them.
"Now" is a nice reminder of her lustrous past and an enjoyable update of those beautiful songs, that have been for so many years the soundtrack of our youth and dreams.
It's kind of a collectible recording, accomplished without really adding any surprise.
Certainly this polished recording will make Ms Warwick old fans extremely happy.
But I am not that sure if it will make many new ones from the current young generation.

The Essential
The Very Best Of Dionne Warwick
Legends
Very Dionne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars played it once or twice., 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Bought this CD as I loved Dionne Warwick in her hayday, I remembered all the songs on the CD but they were sung in diffrent arrangments, so not what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointing Dionne", 26 Oct 2012
By 
Music Fan (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
A new Dionne Warwick album is always something to celebrate but how many more re-recordings of the old Bacharach/David hits does a fan need? It would have been a much more interesting prospect to have some of today's hot young writers create some new material for Ms. Warwick to celebrate her 50th year as a recording artist.

Production values are high but the voice has dropped and her relaxed style could now be described as "throwaway".

It's an OK addition to my vast collection of DW recordings but, to be honest, I don't think I'll be playing this CD very much in the future ... unlike the old Arista albums, where her voice was majestic and she was truly at her peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant & stylish, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Lutz Hartmann "Berner-Sennenhund" (Osnabrück) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Elegant and stylish. It is true, no one needs another re-recording. But this is really an exception. The recordings are perfect. And the selection of songs is not the usual. There are two rare pearls "Be aware" & "J just have to breathe" (wonderful new recordings). And I love the new songs. Especially "99 Miles from LA" & "Love is still the answer". I hope that next new album will be in this style... - with new songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab u lus, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Robert Cooper "Barchetta" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Well another fantastic recording by Dionne, some re- working of familiar songs that sound great, 99 miles from L.A. is fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
If you love Dionne Warwick buy this:) It's great!
What else can I say...
I like this a lot..
bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
I was a little disappointed with this, I bought it on the strength of the single which I love but haven't really got into the rest of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Age improves ones talents!, 21 May 2013
By 
Mr. W. Renner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Experience shows in rendering the songs.A mature voice showing such a vast range.A Fantastic voice. Delivery of CD was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dionne Warwick, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Legend of music-Great songs-Good price-Amazing singer a feel good product from songs that will not be forgotten-Go out and treat yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DIONNE STRIKES GOLD, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
DIONNE IS LIKE A FINE WINE SHE GETS BETTER AS SHE GROWS OLDER
I LOVE THE WAY SHE HAS MIXED OLD AND NEW SONGS ON THIS ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now
Now by Dionne Warwick
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews