Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History
Excellent book relating the period of the lands that are now Iraq and surrounding area. I would recommend it completely.
Published 22 months ago by James Patton

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Brief & concise, yet you get the feeling that it's a first draft of thesis waiting to be peer-reviewed & corrected! Some irritating typos are scattered throughout, but the essence of the work is sound albeit might be slightly out of date in view of more recent studies.
Published 15 months ago by L Louis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
Brief & concise, yet you get the feeling that it's a first draft of thesis waiting to be peer-reviewed & corrected! Some irritating typos are scattered throughout, but the essence of the work is sound albeit might be slightly out of date in view of more recent studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
James Patton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book relating the period of the lands that are now Iraq and surrounding area. I would recommend it completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why oh why?, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
This book was very cheap to download and was an impulse buy. When I started to read it I at first assumed it was a laboured translation of some ancient text, which would have had some charm. I recently read a translation of the Anglo-Saxon chronicle and the eccentricities of the language lets the reader feel that they are getting close to a primary source. Clearly I realised that the History of the Chaldean Empire was not a translation of a Babylonian, Persian or even ancient Greek text but for a few pages I could delude myself that it might be a translation of the 17th century work of some biblical scholar who was perhaps the first to gaze on the uncovered works of Nebuchadnezzar II or of Belshazzar. Slowly I realised that in actual fact this is the product of a modern writer whose first language is almost certainly English.

Robert William Rogers never makes a positive statement if a double negative will do and rarely makes a negative statement if there is a possible triple negative available. Days are 'periods of twentyfour hours' and archaic words struggle for a place amongst some other terms such as 'chiefest' which are timeless atrocities. Some sentences have a sort of charm, but most (e.g. 'Into these years probably went some of the building operations which have already been described') are just painful.

I suspect that this prose style is quite deliberate, perhaps an homage of sorts to the writers of the King James Bible. The 17th century scholars who wrote the King James Bible were struggling to translate from Greek, Latin and Hebrew without losing any of the nuances of these languages. There is no such excuse for Mr Rogers.

I say Mr Rogers, but I truly hope that I have used the wrong title. My impression is that Robert William Rogers wrote this work as part of a quite brilliant PhD thesis. I imagine him in some ivy clad seat of learning, trying to contain his anger while his supervisor tore the offending pages out and threw them onto the fire or into the shredder. I imagine him missing the words of comfort describing his brilliant research and breadth of learning - only hearing the description of his intellectual baby as 'pompous', 'ridiculous' and ‘unacceptable’. Determined to prove his supervisor wrong, I imagine the young Mr Rogers submitting the excluded chapter for publication and his joy when some deluded editor accepted the manuscript: publishing it spelling mistakes and all (it was particularly irritating that ‘had’ was often written as ‘bad’) I truly hope that this sweetened the pill and the revised thesis was submitted. In which case the author is probably Dr or even (by now) Professor Rogers… if not then I fear he will remain Mr Rogers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
helpful in research project
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 25 Dec. 2014
By 
N. Lister "Excel12" (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
An almost impossible read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
A bit disappointing, not enough information, too general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
By 
J. Cartwright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
good service, well priced, nothing to complain about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History buff, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
Again most books on this period cover the period before and after (Assyria and the rise of Persia), but this book attempts to cover the period in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for biblical students, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating read for anyone interested in the history of people mentioned in the Bible. Very absorbing and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of the Chaldean Empire (Kindle Edition)
Just what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The History of the Chaldean Empire
The History of the Chaldean Empire by Robert William Rogers
£1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews