Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD
This was a present but heard it on Christmas Day - very good buy. Very good selection.
Bexleyheath musical lover.
Published 20 months ago by Carol g

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity!
I'm a little disappointed with this to be quite honest. Some of the songs just shouldn't be on there. Why is there a High School Musical song on a best of musicals cd?! Plus I suppose I was expecting all the songs to be live Broadway/West End recordings, which only some where. Also disappointing to see no RENT, Cabaret or A Chorus Line on there. This album could have been...
Published 20 months ago by Ella-Rose


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity!, 23 Dec 2012
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
I'm a little disappointed with this to be quite honest. Some of the songs just shouldn't be on there. Why is there a High School Musical song on a best of musicals cd?! Plus I suppose I was expecting all the songs to be live Broadway/West End recordings, which only some where. Also disappointing to see no RENT, Cabaret or A Chorus Line on there. This album could have been great but I feel like some songs were just thrown in. Other than that, a good mix of eras, and some real highlights in Connie Fisher's version of All That Jazz, Idina's stunning Defying Gravity and the adorable Electricity from Billy Elliot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
This was a present but heard it on Christmas Day - very good buy. Very good selection.
Bexleyheath musical lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A song for every mood, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
Arrived as advertised, on time. Music to sing along to and sounds for every type of mood swing. Nice present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical Allsorts, 4 Jan 2013
By 
F. Coulson (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
Two CDs full of a vast array of musicals - all the tunes under one CD. Some of the arrangements were outstanding (Les Mis) and others a little suspect - but that is the beauty of this type of compilation CD - something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
This CD is fantastic. It has all the tracks you could want from current musicals. Great to sing a long with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
bought as an xmas gift so it is still all packaged up but came quick and looks suitable, songs were a bit disappointing, def worth checking up on what songs are on CD before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars N T W I C Musicals, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
firstly - i am no expert and wouldn't have much chance of guessing what song is from which musical, but the songs i do know and as a collection it's a great one. love the fact that new and old combined. it may be a guilty pleasure for some people to admit to liking musicals but i definitely think this is worth adding to the collection. i've really enjoyed lstening to it and i'm sure it'll be played many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
This is basically a collection of cover versions of popular songs rather than the original artist, very old recordings or Lloyd Webber numbers. Incredibly dull collection. Don't waste your money - if you like Lloyd Webber music then buy the original CDs. 'Now' usually have a number of 'wow' tracks in amongst unremarkable singles that you would never buy, I only found one here and I had it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Again another loosely stuck to collection which only has a passing resemblance to a definitive collection, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Mj Plevin "asterickjones" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
NOW albums are collections that you expect to be if not definitive, or at least you might not expect them to be because of commercial realities but you do realise that they would work best in this way. They should function as a good anthology on whatever it is they are trying to make a popular CD listing out of. Once it really was just chart and dance music, but they've started to branch out into anything else they think could become a guilty pleasure, we used to get fairly trusty collections of nearly all that was current in the charts, but as they turned to try and use the popular format as a catchall with themes like Classical music the results have been more than a bit hit & miss. Now Britain and Now Disney though actually hit the spot really well, but just like with NOW Classical which was really awkward and lacklustre, this isn't really a good overview of all things "musicals", we only get a skimming of the true classics that fanatics of musicals would be bound to want included, one or two here and there such as Singin' In The Rain are rightly included, but where's Sound Of Music, Oliver! or Willy Wonka to name but a few examples, the listing on this collection lays bare the rights that they seem to always stick to, disappointingly Disney songs are used rather a lot again for this despite the availability of Now Disney which any NOW collector would surely have already got and they are targeting the casual market again with TV ads about anyway, and wherever a pop track will suffice that they could easily feature which could be loosely called "musical" they have done it even annoyingly at the expense of a genuine "musical" track, a good example is they have used Queen - We Will Rock You when more ideally they would have used the version of We Will Rock You from the musical itself which would be far more fitting.
I only give it two stars because some tracks could be borderline interesting such as the alternate version of "A Whole New World" from Aladdin, NOW is such a bold and authoritative brand that it would be nice if the selection on these themed CD's could actually be as bold and authoritative as the brand itself, instead it's a study of the way EMI rights seem to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now That's What I Call Musicals (Audio CD)
I can always rely on this company to be the best....the quality of the products sent are outstanding...you will never be left dissapointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now That's What I Call Musicals
Now That's What I Call Musicals by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews