Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all starts here!
Although I freely admit that you probably need to read other 'World of Flashpoint' sets to fully understand this, it works wonderfully well with the supporting material. That is how it should be judged! If you intend to read this as a standalone piece of material then knock a star off as elements of the narrative will be confusing. Howevever, if you're a die hard fan who...
Published on 20 Feb. 2012 by Pricey007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..
Oh that's a bit harsh,meh..
I think because now the New 52 is all settled in & canon that this book has aged in the space of a year making it a bit redundant.I hadn't read it so needed it but for me it didn't have the impact it should have.It felt like a stepping stone.
Still,upwards & onwards..!
(If you think you need this book to explain the gap between...
Published on 25 Jun. 2012 by Miss V. Loasby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all starts here!, 20 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint (Hardcover)
Although I freely admit that you probably need to read other 'World of Flashpoint' sets to fully understand this, it works wonderfully well with the supporting material. That is how it should be judged! If you intend to read this as a standalone piece of material then knock a star off as elements of the narrative will be confusing. Howevever, if you're a die hard fan who wants to understand the prequel story to 'The New 52' then I guarantee you'll want to do a bit more reading anyway. The book itself attempts to get through an awful lot in 5 issues worth of material, and certainly needs a few read throughs to reveal all of its secrets. This is a journey worth taking if you give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Back of the book says it all great stroy and comic book art the way it should be!!, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint TP (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this story. The Flash is the perfect character to use the time travel paradox. As Batman admits if he had the power he would use it to save his parents. The story and the art work are incredible, best of all this is not even an else world. As someone has already said this is the main story so it moves very quickly, and leaves the reader to try and work out many of differences in this world. There are separate stories of each of the main characters if you do want to research it further.

Barry Allen, has woken up to a different world, he does not have the powers of the Flash and his closest friends and allies are different, if they even exist. To find the villain responsible Barry must seek out the one hero he know exists (Batman) and get him to help put the world right. Though like everything in this timeline this person is not who he is supposed to be. I have to say I really enjoyed the Batman Flash team up and hope that DC does a more of them not just Batman Superman all the time.

If you like comic books get this book. Even as a standalone it is a great story, being part of a series it is not a complete standalone like say Justice TP, but it is comic books action and fun at its best. Especially if you are a fan of Batman or the Flash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Written in classic DC fashion., 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint TP (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading enjoyed Flashpoint, even though the story was quite complex, as I got further into it everything started to become a lot clearer. The storyline is a classic DC alternate universe where Wonderwoman and Aquaman are the villians and Thomas Wayne is Batman instead of his son Bruce. Well worth picking up if you're a fan the DC alternate universe stories as this is a really good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted, tragic and epic view into a DC Universe gone horribly wrong, 29 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Flashpoint TP (Paperback)
Barry Allen, the hero known as The Flash, wakes up to find himself in a world he does not recognise. A world where Batman is a ruthless, immoral murderer of Gotham's criminals, Atlantis and Themyscera are at war and there is no Superman. As civilisation falls apart, The Flash assembles all the heroes he can find in a last ditch effort to end the bloodshed and find out what happened to create this apocalyptic landscape - his primary suspect: Eobard Thawne. To save the world, Barry must make the ultimate, devastating sacrifice.

This dystopic DC Universe was a pleasure to read. Geoff Johns creates a story so rich with a new, calamitous mythology that still remains true to the essence of superhero writing, creating complex alternate personalities for the people of this world. Brilliant character development is given to Barry as he learns more and more about what caused this world to fall apart. His final act is so heartbreaking that it's just as difficult for the reader to watch Barry change things as it is for him to actually do it. Emotion pours from the pages, showcasing just how good Johns is as a writer. This was a perfect gateway in creating the New 52's revised continuity of the DCU, giving reason to the change instead of simply rebooting it.

Andy Kubert, as usual, is a fantastic artist, delivering new designs of the characters to fit in with the new world of Flashpoint.

This is my favourite Flash story, and I recommend it to any DC fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh.., 25 Jun. 2012
By 
Miss V. Loasby "comic book girl" (lewes,east sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint (Paperback)
Oh that's a bit harsh,meh..
I think because now the New 52 is all settled in & canon that this book has aged in the space of a year making it a bit redundant.I hadn't read it so needed it but for me it didn't have the impact it should have.It felt like a stepping stone.
Still,upwards & onwards..!
(If you think you need this book to explain the gap between old DCU & New 52,forget it,it's not necessary in that respect,I was none the wiser)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Past!, 6 July 2012
This review is from: Flashpoint (Paperback)
Similar to the Back to the Future movies, Flashpoint is a story that focus's on altering the past and creating a different future. I found the book very well written and with excellent art. I'd highly recomend. I haven't read any supporting Flashpoint stories but I still fully understood this book and felt it worked fine as a stand alone story. Flash is the main character, but this is a proper DC event story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flashpoint, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint HC (Hardcover)
Recommend this story to any avid dc or marvel readers

Top story and graphically illustration is nice ! a must for comic fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading., 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint TP (Paperback)
A must for anyone who reads graphic novels.
I highly recommend the other books in the series also.
Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
D. Coote "King Coote" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint (Kindle Edition)
Would and will read again, you see the deeper emotional sides of characters even as miserable as batman as well as highlighting some heroes normally overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars World better than comic, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flashpoint TP (Paperback)
Having heard about the flashpoint universe I was hoping this would be an interesting read, but was disappointed.

There were alot of things in the flashpoint world that seemed really interesting, such as the war, grodd in africa, and the re imagining of superman, shazam and other characters, but I felt most weren't explored or explained too well with some things just being alluded to.

I've heard these are explained in other flashpoint comics, but id rather they don't hint at interesting things when they could explain it in a few sentences or avoided mentioning entirety.

Overall, the world of flashpoint is more interesting than the comic itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flashpoint
Flashpoint by GEOFF JOHNS
£7.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews