Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best
This is wonderful, even better than the old radio version headed by Pauline Collins and a host of old time radio stars.
Published 9 months ago by genesis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shades of Mapp and Lucia
Interesting period piece - if you love the Mapp and Lucia series it well worth a read. Some of the characters are a bit 'samey'.
Published 16 months ago by Carol


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is wonderful, even better than the old radio version headed by Pauline Collins and a host of old time radio stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Lives (Kindle Edition)
I read this about 30 years ago and it is one of the few books I have ever reread because I loved it so much.E.F. Benson was a genius at recording the petty snobbishness, jealousy's and small mindedness of ladies of a certain age with time on their hands in a small English community during the early 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shades of Mapp and Lucia, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting period piece - if you love the Mapp and Lucia series it well worth a read. Some of the characters are a bit 'samey'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars E.F. does it again, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Kindle Customer (Manachester U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Lives (Kindle Edition)
Brought back lots of memories from when I read this the first time. I am hoping to rediscover all my favorite books as e-books in the future. I was impressed by the speed of whisper net delivery when in outback Australia. Minutes and their I was reading great books by my all time fav authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars E F Benson, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Lives (Kindle Edition)
Having only recently "discovered" the writing of E F Benson, I find the stories set in the early 20th century, both interesting and alluring. A very different world to the one we now live in, but enjoyable non the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Neglected Treasure, 24 Jan 2012
By 
I am puzzled that Amazon is asking me to review this book again. I submitted a review a few weeks ago, that was detailed, insightful and witty, if I do say so myself. However, that seems to have disappeared into the aether. Lest the same fate befalls this piece, I shall confine myself to saying that this is one of the funniest books that EF Benson ever wrote. It ranks alongside his wonderful Lucia books - and the main character here, Susan Leg, makes a reappearence in the final Lucia novel. This deserves to be much better known than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Benson Best, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Lives (Kindle Edition)
If you like the Lucia stories than you'll like this too. The characters are wonderfully exaggerated and camp. Bring back gossip columnists of that ilk, I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it enormously, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Acerbic examination of the social mores of English life in the early twentieth century .Small gem of a vanished world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Lives (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written, the humour is gentle and delightful. I would recommend any of E F Benson's novels. They are an easy read but full of content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical World of Benson, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Lives (Kindle Edition)
Mapp and Lucia fans will be delighted with this glimpse into the lost world of gentility and wit of the 30s in England. The novelist Susan Leg, the subject of Secret Lives (1932), re-appears in Trouble for Lucia (1939) however somewhat differently portrayed, more starchy and remote. The character of this book is young and sprightly with 'a past.'

Either way, all the charm and fun of E F Benson's characters are here. Accept no imitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Lives
Secret Lives by E. F. Benson
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews