Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
In short the best "prison hell" book you can buy. Packed full of incident and detail. The author does not portray himself as some poor victim but simply concentrates on his experiences of the Venezuela prison system. Do not hesitate to buy this book.
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Andrew McPherson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read...
Pretty vivid account of life in the hellish prisons of Venezuela, a decent read overall.
What this lacked was emotion - I never really got to know Frank Kane and what he was feeling, and so in the end I didn't really empathise with him. He was/is obviously a really tough chap, and went through almost unbelievable experiences, but the account didn't really get under...
Published on 2 Mar 2010 by Mr. A. Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Jan 2009
By 
In short the best "prison hell" book you can buy. Packed full of incident and detail. The author does not portray himself as some poor victim but simply concentrates on his experiences of the Venezuela prison system. Do not hesitate to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 9 Feb 2009
By 
James A. Craik "bronzedgod" (north east UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Its certainly a story that will keep you interested. It will also stop you from drug smuggling in Venezuala. What a place to be locked up. The author manages to put a good amount of his 7 years into the book and theres some horrifying tales, I think most normal folk would probably have chucked the towel in and let themselves die rather than takes the beatings and abuse. Not a patch on Papillion but should satisfy most people who like to read this type of books lust for violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And the truth will set you free, 4 Jan 2007
By 
DS Holland "Doghot23" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a book that will keep you glued to the pages. It will give you an insight into the corruption that exists in the world of the 'War on drugs' which is causing so much heartache. Very well written piece, that will take you on this man's harrowing journey through the penal system in Venezuela, to his eventual release and repatriation. This is a life changing story that will blow you away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read..., 2 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. A. Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty vivid account of life in the hellish prisons of Venezuela, a decent read overall.
What this lacked was emotion - I never really got to know Frank Kane and what he was feeling, and so in the end I didn't really empathise with him. He was/is obviously a really tough chap, and went through almost unbelievable experiences, but the account didn't really get under his skin, into his mind. What was he feeling, where was the fear, the terror, the eventual joy of release...facts, events, detail, great, but if you want something a notch above try 'The Long Walk', 'Man is Wolf To Man', or even of course 'Papillon' itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the shadow of papillon, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Shadow of Papillon: Seven Years of Hell in Venezuela's Prison System (Kindle Edition)
I felt I got to know Frank quite well through his sentence for trafficking. Lot of graphic violence which I found hard to read, but felt I owed it to those who suffered and continue to sufferunder the Venezuelan prison regime to acknowledge this awful violence.
I would have liked to have known how Frank first settled back down on his return to the UK, his story ended quite abruptly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scared me!, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow what a read

As bloody and gruesome as Papillion it's self

Quite how the author himself survived I don't know as he must have made some enemies with such an aggressive attitude.

Its pity he didn't take any notice of Papillion before he became a drug mule

The conditions he lived in are about right for people who traffic and would destroy lives in another way.
Ultimately he played and he lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 28 Oct 2009
By 
C. Cousin (Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a top notch read! The vivid descriptions of scenarios and atmosphere in this book truly kept me awake at night! Never have I felt so comfortable and grateful to be wrapped up in my own bed, and not lying on a cold concrete floor in a terrifying Venezuelan "maxima" prison! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 20 Jun 2009
By 
I am not an avid reader but I have to admit this book is very good, I struggled to put it down on the train each day. Parts of the story are shocking yet I had to read on and became emotionally attached at times.

I have read many true crime / drug related books and this is one of the best, I would definately reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 29 Sep 2006
By 
Kelly Parham "Greenishman" (Exmoor Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Totally excellent! I couldn't put it down until the end.....A story of guts and determination in a hell hole worse than anyone could possibly tell............Saying that the author does a great job, the story is punchy and absorbing keeping one reading till the final twist. I can whole heartedly recommend "In the shadow of Papillion" as a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy!, 4 Oct 2006
By 
This is a terrific but disturbing insight into how justice is done outside of the modern world. I encourage anyone to read it if not only for the eye-opening accounts of day-to-day prison life. Many parts of the book lead you to ask yourself "what would i have done in that situation" or "how would i have handled it". The answer is you wouldn't which is why this book is a fantastic advertisement for keeping your feet firmly on the ground and not doing anything as stupid as trying to smuggle drugs through a corrupt ridden country. Buy it, read it, love it - take my word for it you won't be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews