Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2010
This is one of those books that at times are painful to read, and you can't help but appreciate the fact that we live in the UK. I read "first they killed my father" then this sequel, it is an uplifting story that you will remember for the rest of your life, a must read.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
Part 2 of this amazing autobiography - you must read First They Killed Our Father to get the proper context.
The Cambodians are lovely people with astonishing resilience. This shows in first person terms what happens when evil is allowed to take hold. Some people in the West knew what was happening and yet we nothing to stop it. Such people should hang their heads in shame. Both books are books of hope shining out of complete desolation.
Next time a spoiled young brat gets to you just suggest they should read these books.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
brilliant book but beware also buying Lucky Child by the same author thinking they are sequential. They are the same book published under different titles
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
This book and the previous one gives some insight about what went on in Cambodia. I found it very honest and moving.
We have all benefited by Loung Ung writing this book I believe the world should be aware of what happened to the lovely peaceful people of this small country and hope that the evil that was Khmer Rouge never ever happens again.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
A harrowing read that brings the reality of the war to life. Whilst being painful to read it is also amazing to hear of the fight and determination for survival that Luong and others demonstrated. They are the real heros of this atrocity as they seek to rebuild a country that could have been completely destroyed.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
A follow up to Loung Ung's first book First They Killed My Father. This book is a well written account of life after the Khmer Rouge lost power. It follows Loung's life in America and what she learnt about life in Cambodia from her family - primarily her sister. I would recommend both books as pre reading should you visit Cambodia to be able to get a sense of what this country has been through.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This author is brilliant and this follow-on Book "After they killed our father," maintains the same fascination, force and motive that reveals what it takes to overcome evil, abject poverty, tyranny and the terrible loss of family members. In the end, personal love, determination, and courage prevail as true history is revealed. PLEASE, A NECESSARY READ.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 October 2015
This is the second of a series of three books which relate the author's life; in the first volume, First they Killed Our Father, as a child growing up in the horror that was Cambodia under the Khmer Rouge, and in this book which traces the parallel lives of Luong, who escaped Cambodia to grow up in the United States, and her sister Chou who had to remain behind.

This is a deeply personal story, but one which movingly describes what it is like to be an immigrant trying to fit in, what it is like to try to suppress memories, what it is to miss home, but be terrified of it, and so much more.

A wonderful, moving book which everyone should read - but do read the first volume first
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
A book that everyone should read no matter if you think it is fact or fiction. I believe it is fact. But perhaps thats because on my age.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
I got caught up big time with this book + the first book from this author about Cambodia. Powerful reading + so well done by the author. One has to count their blessings that they have not lived through such tyranny. Powerful read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.