Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blandings
The beginning of the Blandings canon and a joy to read. Wodehouse at his best in the world of the landed gentry.

Note that the second Blandings novel "Leave it to Psmith" comes between the two main stories in this book and should be read in conjunction with the "World of Blandings" for continuity.
Published on 30 July 2010 by M. T. G. Croxford

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blandings Forever!
Lord Emsworth is a fantastic figure with an even more fascinating brother in Gally!
Published 5 months ago by Mr Kevin Grindrod


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blandings, 30 July 2010
By 
The beginning of the Blandings canon and a joy to read. Wodehouse at his best in the world of the landed gentry.

Note that the second Blandings novel "Leave it to Psmith" comes between the two main stories in this book and should be read in conjunction with the "World of Blandings" for continuity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hysterical........., 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of Blandings: (Blandings Castle) (Kindle Edition)
and written very much in the style of its time.

I have never read any of P.G. Wodehouses work before until I saw the recent dramatisation on BBC1 on Sunday nights. OK, after reading the book I disovered that the production wasn't accurate but it made me laugh so that's why I decided to buy the book.

Clarence the Earl of Emsworth lives in a world of his own, pockets things that don't belong to him absentmindedly and is in love with his pig The Empress of Blandings. For her, he will do anything. However, skullduggery is lurking........

He has a totally idiotic son, who can't do anything right, a newphew called Freddie, a sister who could frighten Piranhas, a secretary who keeps on organising things and a brother who is writing his 'Reminiscensces' not caring whether they are subject to libel or slander.

The whole book is a 'bally' good read and had me laughing out loud particularly when his Secretary appears to lose the plot in the middle of the night and is nearly killed by the Earl wielding a shotgun.

Really recommended for a good hoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to P.G. Wodehouse, 26 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This is the first P.G. Wodehouse that I have read. I immediately went out and bought a second book by the same author. I normally don't read humor but I going have to change my reading habits. This book is hilarious. Full of wittism and imagination, it is hard to put down. I wanted to quote my favorite line here but I would have to copy the whole book. Wodehouse is a genious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Plum, 13 Dec. 2004
By 
Mr. R. M. N. Wharram "wij201" (Brighouse UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first story is perhaps a little too concerned with romance at the expense of pace and wit but is nevertheless hugely entertaining. The remainder of this compendium contains some of Wodehouse's finest writing. It blisters along like the 4:30 from Paddington with more twists than a poodle's coat. More chuckles per minute than even the finest Wooster stories. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse is a master., 24 May 2013
By 
K. D. Cooper "ecola" (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally only knew his Jeeves books, which themselves rate 5 stars; and this series carries on the gentle laugh at the upper levels of English society. In the former it needed the steadiness of Jeeves to sort out the messes his master and those around him got into; but in the latter, the hilarious incompetency shown in attempts of the Efficient Baxter, to do the same is one of the great features of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing bland about this idyll, 29 April 2012
By 
S. Evans (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely evocation of an England in which good eggs triumph and rotters (the ones who didn't go to the right school) get their just deserts. I have come to PGW late in life, but this one bumper volume has me hooked. I am still chuckling over the superb one liner "She wore an expression which might have occurred to Ibsen in one of his less .frivolous moments." Pure genius from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blandings - a sublime slice of old England, 13 Sept. 2004
A hugely entertaining book. Blandings is a repository of sleepy, unimportant chaos. True love always prevails, the young men are good at tennis, and his Lordship is as eccentric as his pig is fat.
And, as always, Wodehouse has a wonderful mastery of the English language, making anything he writes a pleasure to read.
A literary classic without the boring bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd-4th Books in the Blandings Castle Series, 30 Dec. 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 127,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Blandings Castle comes alive when the Empress of Blandings arrives, which she does in Summer Lightning. All fans of romantic comedies will enjoy these books very much.
Be sure to begin the series by reading, Leave It to Psmith, which has an outstanding plot and introduces most of the major characters in the series
Summer Lightning is better than many other P.G. Wodehouse books in that the plot and character development are more thorough than most which keeps the fun going longer.
Clarence, the ninth Earl of Emsworth, is at home in his castle in Shropshire where he dotes on his famous prize-winning pig, the Empress of Blandings. Having dispatched his earlier secretary, Baxter, Clarence is at peace contemplating how his pig will win again when he learns from his brother Galahad (Gally) that the neighbor's pig man is offering 3:1 odds against the Empress. Clarence and Gally presume that their neighbor, Sir Gregory Parsloe is planning to knobble the Empress. Their worst fears are borne out when the Empress disappears!
At the same time, Parsloe lives in fear that Gally will publish old stories about his wild younger days in Gally's new book. Clarence's and Gally's sister Connie wants to stop publication as well. Soon the castle is overrun with manuscript thieves!
At the same time, love is in the air. Clarence's new secretary, Hugo Carmody, is secretly and unsuitably in love with Millicent Threepwood, niece to Clarence, Connie and Gally, and Millicent is in love with him. But they need to get some financial help to pull off the merger.
Ronald Fish, a wealthy young man whose money is tied with Clarence, is also in love with an unsuitable person . . . one Sue Brown who is a chorus girl. Ronnie has proven himself to be a poor judge of investments in the past, and Clarence is skeptical of allowing any more money. It doesn't help when Clarence finds that Ronnie doesn't truly share his love of pigs!
Will love win out? Of course! It's a P.G. Wodehouse book. But before love wins, humor will take the day in many silly scenes worthy of Shakespeare's best in the forest of Arden.
Heavy Weather picks up where Summer Lightning leaves off. Ronnie Fish's jealousy gets Sue Brown and him into trouble when his mother, Lady Julia Fish, arrives to sunder the pair. Gally's manuscript continues to play a role throughout as does the Empress. This book would only be a three-stars book if you didn't read Summer Lightning first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reccomended, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of Blandings: (Blandings Castle) (Kindle Edition)
Well read and a delight to read. It lightened a dreary winter with this splendid dream world of sunny lawns and eccentric inhabitants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PG Wodehouse Life at Blandings Omnibus, 18 Nov. 2010
If you want to escape from the world and relax then there is no better method I can recommend than to enter the wonderful world of PG Wodehouse. Better known for his Jeeves and Wooster stories Blandings is another of his creations where life is a constant world of humour,quirkiness and never-ending joy where the sun always shines. Once you have entered this world I can guarantee you will never wish to leave and with hundreds of stories and books in his catalogue you will become a firm fan. Plum Wodehouse received his long overdue Knighthood just before his death, in my opinion he should be put up for a Sainthood. St. Plum.....fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews