Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portray of a motoring Hero.
Touching, tradgic and enjoyable. 3 words out of a possibly endless amount that could sum up this book and Gille's Villeneuve's life. Donaldson does the most wonderful job of bring to life Villeneuve. Starting from his early life in Canada, through to being an adored hero to countless millions, the auther brings to life every aspect of this extraordinary person. Despite...
Published on 8 Jan 2009 by S. J. M

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but you won't read it twice
Gilles Villeneuve is now very often considered to be one of the greatest / fastest / most heroic F1 drivers of all times. This may be true and Donaldson's book has surely added to this belief. From a real biography, however, I would expect more objectiveness than Donaldson provides. His book contains a lot of detailed stories of GV's life and of F1 from 1978 - 1982 and...
Published on 12 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portray of a motoring Hero., 8 Jan 2009
By 
S. J. M (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Touching, tradgic and enjoyable. 3 words out of a possibly endless amount that could sum up this book and Gille's Villeneuve's life. Donaldson does the most wonderful job of bring to life Villeneuve. Starting from his early life in Canada, through to being an adored hero to countless millions, the auther brings to life every aspect of this extraordinary person. Despite the tradgic ending, there is something uplifing about finishing this book, and its nice to hear about the era in which Gilles lived. His life may have ended in Belgium 1982, but the Gilles Villeneuve legand will continue for as long as people race cars.

"Gilles Vivo" (Gilles Lives)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book on the Canadian Daredevil, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
What can you say? Gilles was one of the greatest. He was up their with Senna in terms of passion and as Donaldson states at one point Gilles said that he only felt truly alive behind the wheel. He was a racer's racer. This not only charts his career, but also his life and passions. It has interviews from the greats like Mr. Ferrari,Laffite, Prost, Lauda, Arnoux and so on. Buy this book now, you won't regret it, it's fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography, 27 Dec 1999
By A Customer
Donaldson has writen the ultimate biography, and even if you can sense that he genuinely liked Villeneuve, he doesn't put his subject on a pedestal. This is a must for anyone who followed F1 in the early 80's, and especially people like me who has never been able to forget the fast and fearless Canadian who died much too early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The must have for any Villeneuve fan., 18 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This book is the best of all the material written on the late great Gilles Villeneuve. It is well written, interesting but above all it is more than just a list of race statistics, it is about the man and what he thought and aimed for.
There are many quotes from the starts of F1 past and many excellent photos (b/w & colour).
I can not recomend this book enough, if you are a Gilles fan buy it, if you are a general F1 fan buy it if only to get to know that period better. It is an absolute must for any serious F1 fan. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down, 17 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. G. P. Nottage "eylant" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting read. Well written and seemed to cover plenty of facts. I enjoyed reading about a hero who was before my time, as his legend lives on. I can see why other reviews say there is barely a bad word about him, as this book does give a strong impression of a committed racer who wouldn't do anything other than give 100%. I think it's worth reading to learn about how he rose to the top of motorsport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put it down, 28 Dec 2003
Bought it yesturday, haven't been able to stop reading since. Excellently researched. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still mourning the loss, 26 Jun 2010
By 
David J. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every F1 fan should find this a good read. Interesting thoughout and puts you well into the mindset of F1 in the Gilles Villeneuve era. Certain other F1 drivers may come close, but this guy was 100% racer, unconditionally, and this book reflects that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilles Villeneuve - How he run his life on the edge !, 5 Mar 2008
By 
Ferreira Pinto (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author describes Villeneuve life with passion ,keeping the reader alwalys
interessed in his private and racing life , specially in the Ferrarri days , showing how he gain the respect from other drivers .
Enzo Ferrari is shown , has a man , that we thought was rutless , and cold , showing a deep attachement to this little crazy and impetious driver , who always was forgiven and understood by Enzo .
A outstanding well written good book , to read on those cold and rainy days.
I truly recomend it ,to everybody who misses the good old days of F1 drivers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilles Villeneuve: The Life of the Legendary Racing Driver: The Life of a Legend (Kindle Edition)
I remember watching Gilles from his debut in F1 until his final GP in 1982. A great loss to the sport. This book delves behind the scenes to give us an insight into his past and what he was really like away from the track. A good read I just cant believe it has taken me this long to get around to reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something Special, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being born in 76 I was unable to witness this guy in action. A 1/8 scale helmet sits proudly on my desk at work in rememberence and recognition of how special he was and indeed could of been before being thrown from his Ferrari like a ragdoll. Ultimately his inner demons defeated him and is most certainly in a better place. I am enjoying this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews