Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Counterintuitive
This little text flies in the face of modern 'perceived' wisdom regarding diet and cholesterol.

All I can say is that anything that can help reduce the need for dangerous drugs to manage cholesterol has got to be worth it. Some great 'go to' facts to show GP's.

It is counter intuitive though - we are all so brainwashed about 'fats' being bad. But...
Published 15 months ago by Smiley Parcel

versus
34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but its informality and commercial interests of the authors mar its credibility
There's some decent enough science in here with references to back up their claims. It dismisses the long held opinions on cholesterol and fats being the problem so is anti-sugar, largely anti-statin and fits with the more modern trend toward inflammation caused by stress and refined carbs as the main catalyst in heart disease. It's good pop-science but my 2 main gripes...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. A. J. Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Counterintuitive, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This little text flies in the face of modern 'perceived' wisdom regarding diet and cholesterol.

All I can say is that anything that can help reduce the need for dangerous drugs to manage cholesterol has got to be worth it. Some great 'go to' facts to show GP's.

It is counter intuitive though - we are all so brainwashed about 'fats' being bad. But it's sugar that's the real killer and fats are OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that will definitely cause some questions at your next check up!, 6 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. G. Levine (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Cholesterol Myth: Why Lowering Your Cholesterol Won't Prevent Heart Disease-and the Statin-Free Plan That Will (Kindle Edition)
This was a great book. Not the easiest to read, and if you are feeling like you keep waiting for a summary of what to do, there is one right at the end! The book will definitely make you question conventional medical viewpoints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but its informality and commercial interests of the authors mar its credibility, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Bradley "drrinse" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's some decent enough science in here with references to back up their claims. It dismisses the long held opinions on cholesterol and fats being the problem so is anti-sugar, largely anti-statin and fits with the more modern trend toward inflammation caused by stress and refined carbs as the main catalyst in heart disease. It's good pop-science but my 2 main gripes are that it's often informal to a fault with the use of phrases like "pissed-off-ness" and the supplement recommendations in Chapter 7. The slang talk takes away from the seriousness of the whole subject of heart disease and I also question Johnny Bowden's importance in this book. Steven Sinatra is the guy who appears to be more qualified and informed; Bowden is just a sidekick. Chapter 7's supplement recommendations range from good but with possibly unpleasant sides (Niacin) to potentially good (CoQ10) to questionable (D-Ribose, Nattokinase and Lumbrokinase) to just untenable (Curcurmin). What is a further let-down is that when you Google both the authors, their websites are as glossy, commercial and hyped as that of scores of "quack" diet authors. Although I am not suggesting either are, it's just disappointing to see that Dr Sinatra's website is heavily concerned with flogging you the very supplements they recommend in the book under Dr Sinatra's own brand; "TRIPLE your weight loss power! Lose up to 30 lbs in 90 days, Reduce Body fat Percentage, Burn Calories Faster", all with his special Omega-3 oil capsules. Bowden's is not much better. One of his claims to fame is that he was "recently selected by Greatist as one of The Top 100 Most Influential People in Health and Fitness alongside Michelle Obama, Dr. Oz, and Dr. Sanjay Gupta!" I would be gutted to be mentioned in the same breath as Dr Oz, the man who is to general medicine what Sarah Palin is to politics. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On statins?get your old self back, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are on or are about to start on statins you must read this eye opening, fascinating and well researched book. I haven't felt so well now that I'm off statins as I did before I started on them ( so many side effects, muscle pain and weakness, memory loss and poor cognitive effects) I am so glad that this book gave me the courage and conviction to break free. My wife is delighted to get her old husband back. Statins are a big con and don't stop heart attacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is surely a rip-off.., 20 Mar 2013
..of the "The Great Cholesterol Con" by Dr Malcolm Kendrick, published 4 years earlier in 2008. Even the title is a rip-off of the earlier work. How the author has got away with this I cannot imagine.

Of course it is now becoming (more) common knowledge that cholesterol and saturated fat are not the bogeymen we have been told over the years and we should expect more works on the subject (that should only serve to bring the facts properly to the public. But 1) the science in the Kendricks book is far better researched and presented, and 2) if you are going to write a me-too book at least choose an original title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, easy read., 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Confirmed my suspicions that cholesterol is not the 'big baddy' we are all lead to believe. Found this easy to read. Not too much 'Science'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well documented and easy to read, 21 July 2013
Loved this quick to read yet detailed explanation of cholesterol. It served us well when we went to my husband's doctor armed with good questions. He backed straight off of recommending statins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely informative!, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend this book to everyone who is concerned with Statin medication and it's negative influence on overall health. In addition, it clearly explains the dangers of sugar consumption and it\s influence on cholesterol levels and general health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well researched book with plenty of references to get your teeth stuck into!

Has been instrumental in changing the minds of many of my clients!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could save your life!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Cholesterol Myth: Why Lowering Your Cholesterol Won't Prevent Heart Disease-and the Statin-Free Plan That Will (Kindle Edition)
Great information. Well referenced. This is coming from a very biased angle. Can be a bit simplistic in its approach but a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews