Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise... the albums are remastered!
Having read some reviews of other "Original Album" boxsets I was expecting to find the usual 1990s remasters of these albums, some of which I have already.
Instead I was pleasantly surprised to hear that they have been remastered, ALL of them! Now the sound has much more impact and presence, and is overall more involving and less 'muted'.
Particularly...
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by S. david

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very disappointed with purchase
The original item had one blank disc in he pack & one of the CDs jumped. I was send a replacement but unfortunately the same disc in the pack jumps
Published 10 months ago by Mr M W A Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise... the albums are remastered!, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
S. david (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Having read some reviews of other "Original Album" boxsets I was expecting to find the usual 1990s remasters of these albums, some of which I have already.
Instead I was pleasantly surprised to hear that they have been remastered, ALL of them! Now the sound has much more impact and presence, and is overall more involving and less 'muted'.
Particularly pleasing is 'The Art Of Tea' which has very good punch and "Tiger in The Rain" probably the most accomplished album of Michael Franks.
I don't talk about the music because the fans will know these albums by heart.
So, Rhino, if you're listening... roll on Volume 2 of Michael Franks' works! Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five michael franks albums, 5 May 2013
By 
M. N. Hart "MH" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The five albums series prove again with this Michael Franks album to be real value for money. I had four of the albums on vinle some years ago, and have now been reminded how good they really are. The Art of Tea is a master piece, the song writing is so good, the musicianship is absolutely stunning, drummer John Guerin and keyboards Joe Sample are absolutely perfect. Franks is a subtle, seductive composer, proving again and again that less is more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Michael, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Love your first album the most, I had it on vinyl when it first came out, late 60ish and still think it is the best. Others are just as good but 'Tea' really stands out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Value, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Just great to have the first five of Michael Franks Reprise albums at such a low price, love the digipak original covers, hate the fact that there are no liner notes or musicians details but hey the music's sounds great!!! Just love David Sanborns contributions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Keith Comley (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
A great collection, on 5 albums almost zero bum tracks and some outstanding wordology. Arrangements as always superb. greta value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great understated music, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
memories and memories, this singer was introduced to me by Eva Illouz and I wonder if she still remembers how enthusiastic she was about it. This music is very understated, with Franks music hardly heard within the jazzy mellow sounds that surrounds it. I have listened to his music hundreds of times and it seems to interact with a good conversation or with the sounds of a home. Reminds me of Stephen Bishops, JJ Cale and the now very popular Jack Johnson, actually I think Franks is the spiritual teacher of Johnson.

It could be considered mellow Jazz-pop.

Enjoy with a good red wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very disappointed with purchase, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The original item had one blank disc in he pack & one of the CDs jumped. I was send a replacement but unfortunately the same disc in the pack jumps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Franfs Original Album series, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The typical CHILL OUT sound. Nothing better to relax and be happy. Close your eyes and enjoy it. Welcome to California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! This is Frank Michael, not Michael Franks!, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
mikem (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The above reviews of this are for a Michael Franks boxset, but this is French singer Frank Michael. The reviews should not be here as they are misleading, and led me to order this in error!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Michael Franks (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews