Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars up to standard, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
I have been buying the new year concerts for the last six years or so and they have all been of a high quality and it is good to see the whole of the music concert and then also the ballet sections
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars Worth 10., 3 Mar 2013
By 
Thomas D. Knight "Filmmaker" (Lilydale,Victoria,Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
I have all the NYCs all purchased from my great friends Amazon. This one 2013 is just great and the bonus clips are just excellent, the one titled 'Honeymoon' is just great.The concert overall is also fantastic and with DTS sound you could not have a better DVD in your library. I watch this first on TV and those irritating ads and that annoying woman presenting each piece of music well you just want to scream,throw in the TV watermark and you have a spoilt presentation. For music lovers I would suggest you hop in quick to Amazon the copies may not last long. 5 Stars should be 10.

Thomas Knight - Wintergarden Films(Aust)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something old, something new, 3 Feb 2013
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
Having reviewed these New Year Concerts ever since 2000, I'll choose to mention mainly new features this year, rather than repeat the same adulatory comments.

Brief items by Wagner and Verdi are included, not only because it is the 200th anniversary of their birth but also because they each had a great admiration for Johannn Strauss Jnr, the waltz king. Another of his admirers was Franz von Suppé whose "Leichte Kavallerie" Overture is also included. There are also several "first timer" Strauss Family items. And watch to see what cuddly toys are handed out to some of the orchestra's leading players during an item by Johann Strauss, the Father. The waltz king himself conducted his own compositions in this magnificent hall, looking just as dapper by all accounts as this year's conductor Franz Welser-Möst. Welser-Möst even allows the cameras to follow him into the wings when he departs the podium, so we can see what restorative treatments conductors receive between appearances.

Ever modest and generous, the waltz king once said, "I might be the most popular Strauss brother but Pepi (Josef) was the most talented". Judge for yourself as you hear two of their best waltzes: Josef's "Sphärenklänge" and Johann's lovely "Wo die Citronnen blüh'n".

Finally, providing a link to the Strauss Dynasty we see in the audience a great-granddaughter of Josef Strauss, after the playing of "Plappermaulchen" (Chatterbox), an item he dedicated to his little daughter Karoline Anna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEW YEAR' S CONCERT 2013, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed the 2013 concert which I did record on my pvr when it showed live on our television High definition in South Africa - but one cannot keep the recording forever so I bought the dvd to listen to again at some future date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yearly DVD, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
This was ordered for a friend who already has other year's of this DVD. They were more than happy with the purchase and the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gardener, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
I order this dvd each year & have never been disappointed. Excellent value & if you are a strauss fan this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 22 Aug 2013
By 
J. R. Carroll (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for father-in-law and he loves it. We buy him a DVD of this concert every year and it helps him relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
Previously bought it for my dad as a new year gift. Excellent quality. Great enjoyment. My dad loves it. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkeable, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. A. M. Batty "dogman" (herefordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mother as have done every year so far, she has rated it as the best so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD]
New Year's Concert 2013 - Neujahrskonzert [DVD] by Vienne Philharmonic (DVD - 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews