Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somebody I'd Like to Know...
I've admired David Mitchell's TV work for a long time - much preferring his panel shows, with their lightning fast wit and theatre-sports improvisation to the scripted stuff like Peepshow or the sketch shows. "Would I Lie To You?" is, I think, one of the most delightful shows to screen on British TV in a long long time, just because of the its unpredictability. In fact,...
Published on 5 Nov 2012 by peekayinhk

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing - apart from...
I'm a fan of David Mitchell, I like his work, his intelligence and his outlook on life, even though he twists himself in knots about it. So I purchased this in hardback straight after Christmas.

He struggles to explain his steady rise to success, but basically it's because he is a swotty, very intelligent man. A combination that eventually pays off. There's...
Published 23 months ago by Hodderz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of paper, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. A M. Brandon "angie" (UK/Tenerife) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute rubbish! Couldn't have been more disappointed as I admire his repartee on tv. This, however, was another of those books by famous folk, hoping to cash in on their reputation . Very let doen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story., 19 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of David Mitchell, and I found his story entertaining, honest and funny. I'd defiantly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book so well written you can hear every word in David's voice as you read it. great tour guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xmas gift, 22 Feb 2014
By 
karen simpson (Lincoln, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my son for xmas and it was an easy and pleasant way to get your xmas presents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Laughed all the way through great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, I'm afraid, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for Kindle for a bit of amusing holiday reading. Somehow Mitchell's autobiographic style didn't really come over in print for me and I gave up long before the end. He seems to be somewhat up his own rear end, as it were.

I was also somewhat unimpressed with the rather frequent use of the unmentionable c-word presumably for some imagined effect of being down there with the kids. Mitchell always seems fairly articulate and there is a rich choice of descriptive words in the English language without him needing to descend to this!

If you are a keen fan of David Mitchell and don't mind the language you could enjoy the book but I'm afraid it wasn't for me. It's a shame because I find him laugh aloud funny in TV shows that he's in, pity that, in my humble opinion, the book wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its ok but nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book - not the print..., 10 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book I'm enjoying - problem is the print size - font feels very small and if you're the sort of person that does not want to constantly squint buy the kindle version or avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly entertaining...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rambling, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the first half but started to speed read as it just rambles on much like David's style of talking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews