Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think she is the best female martial arts superstar
I expected more. I am a huge fan of Michelle Yeoh. I think she is the best female martial arts superstar. Maybe because of this my exceptions were too high. The plot with character who were supposed to be dead coming back right and left was unnecessary. The love story angle was stupid for lack of a better word. He knew who she was before he married her but made not move...
Published 11 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Such a fun movie but was so disappointed to discover that some scenes were actually missing from my dvd!
There were at least 2 scenes I remembered from the version I watched on tv, which really brought so much more depth, insight and humour to the characters portrayed.
Most disappointed my dvd is not in tact.
Published 14 months ago by Ms. Lea Anne Pinker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think she is the best female martial arts superstar, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Reign of Assassins (DVD)
I expected more. I am a huge fan of Michelle Yeoh. I think she is the best female martial arts superstar. Maybe because of this my exceptions were too high. The plot with character who were supposed to be dead coming back right and left was unnecessary. The love story angle was stupid for lack of a better word. He knew who she was before he married her but made not move against her, nothing with her doing nothing to earn his trust. Someone commented some scenes were missing from the DVD could these have been missed moments that caused their relationship to grow.

The film seemed rushed despite being close to 2 hours long. This is also evident in the subtitles which come at lightning speed. I did have to keep pausing the DVD to read them in case I missed something important.

The martial arts are good I like Yeoh's Water sheath fighting style. Basically she uses a flexible sword that wrap around an opponent's block to cut them multiple times. I thought the extra wire work was unnecessary for a star of Michelle Yeoh's martial arts pedigree. Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon has a lot to answer for. Over all the fights were good but nothing spectular. Like I said I expected more. I have to say having MIchelle Yeoh and a good ending took this film from rounding 3.5 stars up to 4 for me. I would still like to rate it 3.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Karma is a bitch..., 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a complex love story, which is narrated in a convoluted way,
through a continuous interplay of false identities.
The plot is driven by the frenetic quest for the hallowed, mummified remains
of a monk, which still overflow with mystical Qi energy.
A dreaded cabal of assassins called "Dark Stone" has laid claim to the remains.
Under the leadership of the "Wheel King"-who is not what he seems to be-
the cabal intimidate and murder powerful government officials.
Then "Drizzle", the cabal's most skillful assassin, runs away with half
of the monk's remains. After a tragic sojourn with a Buddhist monk,
she decides to seek redemption for a life of violence.
She changes her face and her identity, and begins a new life as Zeng Jing,
a cloth merchant. She meets and falls in love with a courier called
Jiang Ah-Seng. She marries him, but then the past catches up with her:
All hell breaks loose when the "Dark Stone" discovers that Zeng Jing
is "Drizzle". The conflict impels Jiang Ah-Seng to reveal that he also
assumed a false identity, in his quest for revenge.
In the final showdown in a cemetery, a forlorn, wounded "Drizzle"
faces off against her domineering master, the "Wheel King".
There are several exciting fight scenes in the film.
The assassins of the "Dark Stone" employ radically different fighting techniques:
Lei Bin kills with needles, the "Magician" employs pyrotechnics and magical tricks,
etc. These do not overwhelm the love story. There are numerous humorous
situations, and scenes of touching tenderness and marital bliss.
Michelle Yeoh gives a superb, nuanced performance in the role of Zeng Jing/"Drizzle".
The "making of" feature included in the blu-ray is not subtitled in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign of Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the colourful period costumes and Michele is looking so much better as she ages. Interesting fight scenes too. Engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It hold your attention pleasantly., 17 April 2014
Once you start watching, you don't want to close your eyes.

I love the 4 weaknesses that she need to learned in order her to win:
1. Hide weak points intelligently.
2. Retain clarity of mind modestly.
3. Avoid becoming aloof and detached.
4. Retreat in order to advance.
Very good weakness to learn in real life.

Excellent movie. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 24 April 2014
By 
Ms. Lea Anne Pinker (Bega, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign of Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
Such a fun movie but was so disappointed to discover that some scenes were actually missing from my dvd!
There were at least 2 scenes I remembered from the version I watched on tv, which really brought so much more depth, insight and humour to the characters portrayed.
Most disappointed my dvd is not in tact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film.... Excellent Service, 4 July 2013
By 
M. Chabira "Kung Fu Moe" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reign of Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed this film............recommended to all martial arts film fans some great fight scenes, and a good story of a bandit trying to escape her past, but it catches up with her WATCH WATCH WATCH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining with good fight scenes & character development, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
PJ B'ham (Birmingham, U.K. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reign of Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
A very worthwhile watch with many impressive fight sequences. The story is developed well with an unexpected twist that viewers won't see coming. The 'magical' elements of the story didn't particularly add any substance to the attractiveness of the film, in my opinion, but I took them as cultural aspects of Chinese folklore, and focused instead on the main story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Mar. 2014
Great story and amazing fight scenes! Have not seen a martial arts film that is so nicely paced and driven for some time. A good film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing something....., 30 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Reign of Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
..... 15 minutes or so of the full version in fact. What's worse, it's obvious where it's been cut in a few instances.

The film itself is pretty good, but this dvd version leaves you feeling short changed.

So 4 stars for the film, 1 star for this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent., 19 May 2015
This review is from: Reign of Assassins [DVD] (DVD)
I know a lot of people like to over review stuff so let me simplify this. This movie is BRILLIANT my only complaint is that there isn't enough of it. This is one of those movies where you really want to see even more of that world. It's just brilliant, must get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reign of Assassins [DVD]
Reign of Assassins [DVD] by John Woo (DVD - 2013)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews