Customer Reviews


529 Reviews
5 star:
 (207)
4 star:
 (161)
3 star:
 (100)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instructions for a Heatwave
This novel is set during the heatwave of 1976, which I remember very well. Oddly enough, I read the book during recent hot weather, and it made the heat feel even more tangible. The novel centres around the Riordan family. Gretta is the matriarch and, whatever the weather, she bakes soda bread three times a week. Her day starts as normal - she bakes and husband Robert...
Published 13 months ago by S Riaz

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Just didn't get it, the heatwave seemed irrelevant and the family tedious
Having loved After You'd Gone and really enjoying subsequent novels from Maggie O'Farrell, I was looking forward to this read and was happy to recommend it to the book group as a likely entertaining experience.
I found it impossible to warm to. The heatwave backdrop of the title appeared to add nothing to the plot. The family was tiresome and I felt the whole thing...
Published 9 months ago by G M Holland


‹ Previous | 141 42 4353 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this novel, just as I ahve enjoyed all her novels, though it left too many threads not neatly tied up. Could this turn into a trilogy ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant personal insight of a family in crisis., 8 Oct 2013
I was already looking forward to reading 'Instructions for a Heatwave', as I closed the pages to 'The Hand That First Held Mine' so seeing it on the returns trolley on a recent visit to the local library gave me the opportunity to read it straight away. It was with some trepidation though that I started reading as her writing had a lot to live up to after her last novel. No worries, as this proved to be a brilliant personal insight of a family in crisis, written by a talented lady who seems to be going from strength to strength.

An evocative setting, especially for those of us that lived through it. With her wonderful descriptive prose Maggie O'Farrell brings the heatwave of the summer of 1976 vividly alive on the printed page. The novel centres on one Irish family in London that summer that find themselves with a strange crisis on their hands when one member of the family goes out to buy a paper but never returns! When Gretta realises that her husband Robert is not coming home she expects the family to rally round and help her solve the mystery. The family reunion is not an easy one as the siblings Michael, Monica and Aiofe all have secrets, as does their mother. It is not just the stifling heat that makes them uncomfortable with each other! Set over just four days during that incredible summer we get to know the 'Riordan's' family history as they face this situation together.

Now established as a favourite author of mine I highly recommend this latest novel to those that enjoy well written contemporary fiction. It will have added interest to those of you that remember the summer of 1976.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book ,a little piece of us all in these pages.Very easy to relate to each character and oh how I remember that heat!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good holiday read, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read, a good plot and some very likeable characters, made me laugh and cry, sad when it ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
A great story and very well written as always with Maggie O Farrell. She describes everything and everyone so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent novel, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
Great observation of family relationships. I have read her books before but liked this the most as the 'heatwave' aspect really worked well with the story. Reminded me of the late '70's'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book you would recommend, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
Once I started to read I could'nt put the book down. Maggie O'Farrell is an excellent writer and makes you feel that you empathise with the characters. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy read, good story, likeable characters, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read book with an enjoyable story line. The characters were realistic and likeable. Good holiday book to take on holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instructions for a Heatwave, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
A direct line to thought ,hardly any interruption and no wasted time at all.Excellent ,entire and complete.
Well worth reading ,thank you.

A. Coker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instructions for a Heatwave (Kindle Edition)
Read this to remember those times when family meant everything and life though complicated could be made better just by family being there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 141 42 4353 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Instructions for a Heatwave
Instructions for a Heatwave by Maggie O'Farrell
3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews