Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywoods greatest
I couldnt put this book down!What a fascinating lady Lauren Bacall is.For one of Hollywoods all time greats she is incredibly down to earth and endearing in her candour.Her writing style is very personal ,you can imagine her saying the exact words to you over a gossipy chat and a glass of wine.This book has soul and spirit and brings up close and personal to the reader a...
Published on 16 Sept. 2008 by Mr. R. J. HESKETH

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you like her, don't read this and maintain the illusion.
Wish I had never read this book, which I bought after her death as I had always admired her. She came across as a trite, spoiled, gushing and self-serving. She did come into her own during Bogie's illness and subsequent death but that is it.
Published 7 months ago by Rags


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings about the BRONX GIRL, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've mixed feelings about this 500 page book. It's authentic and articulate as the voice of Lauren (Betty) Bacall (1924-2014), born in the Bronx Betty Joan Perske (lived in the Dakota building, central park west NYC, at the end of her life) ... Jewish from an immigrant east European background, but I didn't feel warmth for the author. She's a bit preoccupied with herself, too much of a "party girl", e.g., enjoying drinks/dinner here, there and everywhere with a firmament of stars including Bogart, John Huston, Sinatra, the Oliviers, Jason Robards, Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy, the Nivens, Kirk Douglas, Gregory Peck. She doesn't seem deep.

On the other hand, especially after the death of her first husband "Bogie" (Humphrey Bogart; 1899-1957) from oesophageal cancer, she wanted and needed to work either in films or theatre and she did good work. Before Bogies death and afterwards she showed a passionate interest in USA politics e.g., with friends such as Adlai Stevenson and Bobby Kennedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extended Version Of 1975 Autobiog, 22 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally purchased this book when it came out in 1975.I forgot i had it when i recently purchased the revised updated edition.To me the book really falls into 3 parts.Firstly her childhood in New York,then her time in Hollywood till the death of Bogart and finally her life since 1957.I found the first two parts riveting but the last put less so.I didnt really like the last 50 or so pages which i felt were rather morbid.She goes into great detail about the deaths of many of her friends.It rather left me feeling quite glum.In fact if you were just to read the original book and omit the final 70 pages which have been added to the original you really wont have missed a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended read, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I bought this book a few weeks back I have not had the time to read it until recently. A really fabulous read I had trouble putting it down to go to sleep each night. The book "By Myself" is just one long chapter there is no break until you come to the added section...."and then some". The book just flows through Miss Bacall's life beautifully. Lots of content without it being " full detail" like some peoples autobiographies are. A real insight into the background of the film and theatre industries of the time. Highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You know how to whistle don't ya? . . ., 16 Dec. 2014
Like anyone, there's bits of Betty's life that she doesn't want to tell the world about. A bit over sugared pour moi darling, but pretty good as personal retrospectives go. Her self-awareness is ok, but a little saccharine. Having said that I found myself staying up late to read a bit more, as it's well written and fast paced. Would have liked it to have been a bit edgier, outspoken and controversial, but then it was written years ago by a lovely, clever lady from a bygone era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Myself and Then Some (Kindle Edition)
A moving and fascinating insight into the life and times of Lauren Bacall. Authentically written, full of real life experiences. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Myself and Then Some (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Enjoyed every page of the book
Enjoyed every page
Couldn't put it down
Extraordinary life and people she met
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is the very first time I read a book ..., 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Myself and Then Some (Kindle Edition)
This is the very first time I read a book about LB. She was certainly a character. Her delivery and story make the book interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Myself and Then Some (Kindle Edition)
Really interesting and well written. Amazing how much more you find out about a person in a self written book. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book arrived very quickly and in great condition. I adore Lauren Bacall films and this ..., 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived very quickly and in great condition. I adore Lauren Bacall films and this book is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
D. A. Cannon "dodo" (west cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read, Bogie has always been my hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

By Myself and Then Some
By Myself and Then Some by Lauren Bacall
£4.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews