Customer Reviews


555 Reviews
5 star:
 (388)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best novel so far xxxx
I've been a big fan of Jill Mansell for many years now, and so like many others readers I was eagerly awaiting the release of her latest novel, Don't Want To Miss A Thing.

Dexter Yates loves his life - he spends his time partying, spending money and enjoying the company of women. But when his sister dies suddenly and unexpectedly, Dexter is left in charge of...
Published 17 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't want to miss a thing
Not one of Jill Mansell s best books- found myself skipping a few pages to get it finished to be honest!
Published 10 months ago by angela hanley


‹ Previous | 1 2 356 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great easy read! recommended! 4.5stars, 3 Aug 2013
as there are so many reviews detailing what the book is about i will go straight ahead with my review.i have read only one other book from this author and quite enjoyed it,but this one was far better.this book is so much more than what is written on the back.there's more than one person's story being told.the characters are diverse and multifaceted and the book is paced well.its what i would term an easy read,though that does not mean that it is dull or contains little intrigue or plot.however,at times it can be somewhat predictable,but it is so well written it doesn't take anything away from the book.
i know some people don't always like so many sub stories told within a book,and i understand that it can take away from the original story,but in my opinion in this book it only enhances it.all the stories intertwine with one another and make up an overall great book.maybe at times its not the most realistic of tales, but its fiction after all,it doesn't always have to be for it to be a good read.
if your looking for an easy read,with colorful characters and a dose of romance then i would recommend this book.if your into realism,an intricate plot or don't like sub-stories then i believe this would not be for you.however for me it was a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Molly and Dexters first meeting is orchestrated by a flying fish - one of the many quirky and coincidental elements of this book that bring together a wide range of characters. From the aged actress to the buxom barmaid all have a story to tell and tying them altogether is Molly, Dexters and Delphis story.
I really enjoyed this book - it was so easy to get immersed in the village of Briarwood and its residents and although there is never going to be a big mystery about the ending of the book there were enough twists and turns in the characters that keep it a page turner. Dexters journey is particularly enjoyable as he faces the greatest tragedy in his life and rewrites his future as a result. It's easy to empathise, not only with him, but with those that become part of his life. I found myself hurrying through the pages to reassure myself that things would turn out the way I wanted!
Overall this is a thoroughly enjoyable book - a charming and amusing romantic comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read!, 1 Feb 2013
Firstly I'd like to thank Helena from Headline Publishing Group for sending me this novel to read and give an honest review. Obviously I have heard of Jill Mansell and seen her books in the shops but I've never actually read one (I'm hanging my head in shame now), this meant that I wasn't sure what to expect from it. Now I've finished I have just one question - why have I not read any of her books before? It really was my kind of book, it felt so natural and comfortable to read and right from the very first page I slipped easily into the storyline and quickly connected to the characters. This is actually a difficult review for me to write because I enjoyed it so much and I want to do the book justice.

Dex's sister had just had her baby and it was clear that he was excited about it, his reaction to baby Delphi was endearing and kind of beautiful. Dex was a little bit cheeky and very care-free at this point in the book and he was just the type of male character that I always fall in love with. Knowing the tragedy that would soon face him I was intrigued to see how, or if, his personality would be affected.

Molly's introduction was a funny one making me laugh out loud and even snort at one point - delightful! I pictured the scene easily (yes I have spent lots of time in the waiting room of various A&Es) as she went to pick up her drunk, injured boyfriend in the early hours of the morning. My initial impression of her was that she was a bit of a soft touch but very likeable.

When the tragic moment came it was heartbreaking, I could almost feel Dex's sadness rolling off the pages. His grief was clear and I think it was written in a sensitive but honest way.

When the storyline moved to Briarwood I thought things would quiet down but the adventures were just beginning... I know I'll think of this book whenever I hear YMCA in the future! The mysterious Sam had my mind working overtime as I tried to figure out who he was and what he was doing in the village, when all was revealed I was completely shocked - I just hadn't seen it coming and it set off a chain of events that put me on the edge of my seat.

Something else that I liked about this book was that there was so much going on, it wasn't just the main Dex and Molly part of the storyline that kept me so hooked - all the characters had their own story to tell and I found myself fascinated by everyone's lives. Some of my favourite moments, and things to look out for, included Dex and Molly's fishy first meeting, the perils of dining out with a baby and a crazy baby borrowing scheme - these were all things that made me laugh and stood out in my mind after I had finished reading.

This was a brilliant book that I just couldn't put down, I will definitely be reading more from this fantastic author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful book by Jill Mansell, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Debra McManus (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Jill Mansell's books. I love them so much I order them from the UK and have them shipped to the US. You can find out what the book is about by reading the description, so I'm not going to repeat that. What I do want to say is that as always, Ms. Mansell has created engaging characters in a charming setting. I like these people. Even the people who don't behave as well as they should. The book is full of love, and laughs, and a bit of sorrow. Just like life. Her books are real. The characters are real. They are people you wish you knew, and could meet at the pub for a drink and a chat. If you like well written, intelligent books about people you come to love, then please give Don't Want to Miss a Thing a try. I think you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Found so now not missing out!, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Dexter works hard and plays even harder. Women are part of the fun, and there is nothing serious that Dexter wants to get involved in. In fact the only love that Dexter has in is life is for himself and the only woman he loves is his sister. Then another female comes into his life - his brand new niece, Delphi and all of a sudden his life changes in more ways than he could ever imagine. Dexter loses his sister tragically and he is left holding the baby - literally.

Can the man who has never much committed to anything apart from having fun change his ways and become a responsible father figure? It will need a complete change of scenery and a starting again from scratch so he decides to move to Briarwood a village in the Cotswolds.

Molly has no luck with men, she simply chooses the wrong ones. The final straw with her latest beau results in the large carp he caught for her being unceremoniously flung over into the next door neighbours garden - just as Dexter happens to be viewing the property. Molly knows the cliché there are plenty more fish in the sea but this seems a rather stranger way of meeting her new neighbour especially when he appears to be drop dead gorgeous. Living next to him is going to be tough.

So along with Molly and Dexter and their will they wont they relationship, we meet other villagers as well and you really don't want to miss a thing that goes on in this place. Even the most outwardly appearing secure relationships seem to have secrets hidden, and they are all exposed in various ways and in some cases heartbreaking moments when you think that no one will find love and that the romantic ideal that you have as a reader is going to be severely tested.

This is Jill Mansell's new novel and whilst I have never read any of her work before, I think you will not be disappointed if you pick this up for some true romance and something that will brighten the winter days until we get to spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Want To Miss A Thing (Kindle Edition)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Want To Miss A Thing (Kindle Edition)
In loved this book, the story is well written but is also light reading, you can pick up where you left off without loosing any of the story. Dex is a loveable rogue who just hadn't found the right person, until he moves to Briarwood. You get a real sense of a living I a village with lots of little twists in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic read!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Want To Miss A Thing (Kindle Edition)
I've read most of Jill Mansells books now & have loved all of them. Yes you do get an idea of what is going to happen but the twists are so well written. Loved this book from the start & the characters are believable & the storyline was great. Can't wait to start another of her books now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T WANT TO MISS A THING, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Want To Miss A Thing (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable, if not predictable story.
Characters at times got lost . A Good book to take away on your holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Jade (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Want To Miss A Thing (Kindle Edition)
Nice easy read that leaves you feeling warm and happy. Characters are believable and storyline is good. I certainly enjoyed so definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 356 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Want To Miss A Thing
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews