Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Listening
An up and coming artist with an original sound it was very good listening and I would certainly have no hesitation in buying another product.
Published 15 months ago by mike wetson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better
There are hints of brilliance on this album, but also aspects that really let it down.
The female vocal is utterly dire, pointless and detracts from the opening track.
Some songs start, looking like they are going to build on a theme, only to flounder in repetition.

Peter Chivers did a super remix of Mississippi from the first album that knocks spots...
Published 17 months ago by Dr. Michael J. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Listening, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
An up and coming artist with an original sound it was very good listening and I would certainly have no hesitation in buying another product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LISTEN ON HEADPHONES - LOUDLY, 27 July 2013
By 
LOSTBALLS (Wild West, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
Darker and more orchestrated than All things real. Best listened to on headphones - loudly. If you can get through The Field without feeling some kind of ache, then you probably haven't lived yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An artist on a singular path, 7 Mar 2013
By 
I. Kalka "Mufacs" (Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Steve Adey has taken his time following up the brilliant All Things Real (2006), but the wait was worth it. From the opening A few Seconds' through to the epic Tomorrow, Adey has produced a classic album where every track is top draw. He is on a singular path and deserves wider attention. Get the vinyl, which betters the CD. I read an article in a hi-fi magazine about how the LP was transferred straight from the mix and not mastered or compressed. This is great music. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Songs and Dark Arts, 17 Dec 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
There are moments in Steve Adey's new album 'The Tower Of Silence' when
time seems to stand still and the air thickens and wraps tightly around you.
Sometimes a warm blanket; sometimes a shroud. These ten compositions have
an intensity and economy which is both uncompromising and fiercely original.
Mr Adey's passionate dark brown voice inhabits this strangely unsettling
music like a ghost in search of breath and flesh and bone to fill the void.

That it is not the easiest listen should be no bar to discovery. With repeated
acquaintance the territory becomes negotiable and the form and shape of his
inventions gets a grip on your spirit and imagination and just won't let go.

Following a haunting introduction (the gently pulsing electronic instrumental
'A Few Seconds Have Passed') the deeply melancholic first song 'Laughing' unfolds
like a quasi-Elizabethan dirge; disturbing but profoundly beautiful in its own way.
No-less-so the stripped-down but perfectly structured 'Just Wait Till I Get You
Home' with its pastoral synth and vocal punctuation marks. A sublime confection.
The sparkling soundscape 'With Tongues' is a curious diversion featuring spare
percussion and Helena MacGlip's wordless angelic voice dipping in and out of focus.
The final track 'Tomorrow', however, is perhaps the project's true highlight.
A moving conclusion with something approaching hope and redemption at its heart.

Mr Adey is to be warmly congratulated for his singularly affecting vision.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soundscapes With Words, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
The key to enjoying Steve Adey's 'Tower of Silence' is not to expect songs in the normal order of things bit to immerse oneself in soundscapes where the lyrics add an enigmatic dimension giving an impression rather than a clear explanation of any particular scenario. It grows on one like fungus and soon imbed in the subconscious.one of the albums of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
This is a record that connects with the listener right from the off. Yes, you may want to cry on hearing this, but you'll find it a beautiful experience! Go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrushed and perfectly formed, 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
Steve Adey's complex musical vision is unrushed and perfectly formed on this second album, made up of powerful songs, orchestral atmospheric layers and a solid band that sound like they are playing in your living room (if you've bought and renovated a church). His studio is a large church in Edinburgh, and the atmosphere throughout The Tower Of Silence is massive but at the same time uncluttered and beautifully mixed. You get the impression that the years of investment making this album should be matched (even a little) by the listener, so that what you get after repeat listens are songs that reveal beautiful melodies, subtle sonic revelations, all with a truthful delivery. Breathtakingly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 2nd Album., 29 Nov 2012
By 
K. J. Buckland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
I pre-ordered this after hearing the debut album a month or so ago. One of the first albums that I've looked forward to receiving for some time.
After my first listen I thought, wow ! what a follow up. My 2nd and 3rd listening on the train to uni via my Ipod, I was left a bit undecided, however after subsequent listening the album has really come to life. It really is a brilliant recording.
It was recorded in a couple of churches in Edinburgh, and the recording has captured the natural reverb and ambience.
It has a nice intimate feel to it, almost like the guy's playing in your room, or you're sat at the back of the church watching.
A nice choice of instrumentation too, I love mellotron and I like the way it's mixed with live violins etc.
My only minor criticism is that the album is a bit on the short side, coming in about 35 minutes or so, but other than that, it is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are hints of brilliance on this album, but also aspects that really let it down.
The female vocal is utterly dire, pointless and detracts from the opening track.
Some songs start, looking like they are going to build on a theme, only to flounder in repetition.

Peter Chivers did a super remix of Mississippi from the first album that knocks spots off the original.
I would have love to have seen a Steve Adey album with Mr Chivers as executive producer and multi-instrumentalist, as he would I suspect have , as he proved previously allowed Steve Adey`s voice to breathe.
I suppose that really is the problem.
This album promises much, but there is too much sonic sludge and pointless additions on it (lose some of the additional performers) for it to truly breathe.
It is also rather short, and in modern terms more of a minialbum.
Given how long we have waited for it, that looks like a man running out if ideas.

Do yourself a favour next time .
I would have love to have heard this whole album give the same fairy dust sprinkling as mississippi had previously.

it works better on vinyl than CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A bitter disappointment. A fine display of musical constipation, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tower Of Silence (Audio CD)
I bought Steve's previous album and found it be average with one great song. I ordered the second on the strength of the Blue Nile's engineer's input and because I wanted to give him another chance.
Well fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice....

Sonically the album sounds distinctly low-Fi. Having been recorded in a church does nothing to assist songs which sound like funeral dirges. Paul Buchanan of the Blue Nile may have sounded melancholic, but both his lyrics and sound where beautiful and melodic.
Mr Adey sounds like he has listened to Leonard Cohan, drank some Toilet Duck and proceeded to slur like Tom Waits into a microphone, whilst displaying neither of these two amazing musicians ability to either entertain or move you.

I am saddened that this album is being given the critical attention it has received.
Steve Adey seems to have a belief that any old tripe mumbled into a mic whilst attempting to sound sincerely miserable is high art and unfortunately there a people who, wanting to sound intellectually superior and part of some rarefied group are giving him praise.

My copy is going into the bin. I would give the CD away, but I couldn't, in good conscience, do that knowing it might drive another person to contemplate ritual " Hari Kari"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tower Of Silence
The Tower Of Silence by Steve Adey
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews