Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Taster
I love this series of books. So I was really pleased to note that Elly Griffiths has written a 40 page story for Christmas! It was a sweet story and could stand alone or be included with the rest in the series. It cost me nothing to download to my Kindle....a bargain indeed!
Published on 30 Jan. 2013 by Giacomo's Gran

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Having read the Ruth Galloway books I knew all the characters but think this would not be a good introduction to them
One of the difficulties with short stories is getting to know and care about the characters. Having read the Ruth Galloway books I knew all the characters but think this would not be a good introduction to them. I did enjoy this but felt it had been taken from a larger work. Worth getting if you have read the full length novels and know the history behind the...
Published 4 months ago by Renee


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Taster, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
I love this series of books. So I was really pleased to note that Elly Griffiths has written a 40 page story for Christmas! It was a sweet story and could stand alone or be included with the rest in the series. It cost me nothing to download to my Kindle....a bargain indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ruth's First Christmas Tree, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
Ruth feels she needs to get a Christmas tree for daughter Kate's second Christmas but she has left it rather late to get one. This is an amusing short story which introduces the main series characters in this interesting crime series featuring archaeologist and single mother, Ruth Galloway.

The book also features a sample from Elly Griffith latest Ruth Galloway novel, Dying Fall. If you haven't read any of the books in the series then you might want to try this story to see if the series might interest you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So nice to be with Ruth again,..., 24 May 2013
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
... and with Kate, her daughter, Cathbad, DCI Harry Nelson and his family and all the other so familiar protagonists of the Ruth-Galloway-series by Elly Griffiths.

It's December, 22 and Ruth doesn't have a Christmas Tree!
The first she ever will adorn - for her beloved Kate of almost two years now. Who knows exactly what Christmas is all about: Presents! And Santa Claus! And a tree with lights and tinsel, all glitter and glamour. But Ruth's first attempt to lay her hands on a wonderful, blessed, real special tree vanishes into thin air.
But for what we have Cathbad, the Druid? He comes to save a damsel in distress and Ruth makes her to-do-list. Because this time there will be Max, too - her friend and lover.
At a certain point not everything goes as it was planned...
But Ruth is Ruth, and everything will come out the right way. Maybe because it's Christmas...

A very nice short story - GRATIS, a Freebie, which I liked very much.
And as a bonus there are the prologue and the first two chapters of her newest book "Dying Fall".
Take it, You can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruth's First Christmas Tree, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
I love reading Elly Griffiths' books! This book Ruth's First Christmas Tree has only one fault and that is it's not long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A small treat, particularly for those who love this character, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
First Sentence: “The Spirits are strong in this one,” says the man in the white robe and gumboots.

For a woman who didn’t do Christmas, forensic anthropologist Ruth Galloway is challenged by making her 1-year-old daughter’s first Christmas special. Nothing is quite going to plan, including learning from her druid friend, Cathbad, informing her that a Bronze Age wooden peg is missing.

Griffith’s Ruth Galloway is a delight, particularly for those of us who have been known to eschew the accepted sentiments and traditions of the holidays, yet find ourselves attracted to them. Some may even relate to the “Doctor Who” reference.

The story contains delightful humor. There is the inclusion of the character’s back story, references to previous books and fascinating factual information which is interesting and doesn’t detract from the pace of the story. Griffith’s provides a very strong sense of place, often using weather to increase suspense.

Like her description of faith…”It’s enough that someone, somewhere genuinely believes that the magic will work.”

“Ruth’s First Christmas Tree” is not overly sweet, but much more a reflection of many of us, particularly those of us in our middle years, but still with a warm ending. It’s not a deep, rich book; it’s a small treat, particularly for those who love this character.

RUTH’S FIRST CHRISTMAS TREE (Short Story-Ruth Galloway-England-Contemp) - G+
Griffiths, Elly – Christmas Short Story
Amazon Kindle Services – Dec 21014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Christmas tale, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
Ruth’s First Christmas Tree is a short story free download in the Ruth Galloway series by British author, Elly Griffiths. While Ruth doesn’t believe in Christmas, her daughter, Kate is now a year old and she realises she will have to do something to mark the holiday in the way of gifts and decorations. She buys a Christmas Tree, her very first, but it ends up being not quite the one she wanted, and further mishaps occur. On December 23rd, she reluctantly attends her boss, Phil’s party, but makes a discovery that allows her to do a good deed for a friend, to set right a wrong.

Even readers who are unfamiliar with the series will enjoy this short story, although, positioned as it is between the fourth and fifth book, it may contain some spoilers. Nonetheless, this is an excellent taster: the characters are appealing and newcomers to this series will certainly want more. An excellent Christmas tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 29 Jun. 2014
By 
Mads (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
I like this series and when i saw this free for kindle downloaded it straight away. Very good read keeps you wondering and then wanting to read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... Thought I'd start the festive season with a feel good story - and what could be more feel good ..., 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
Ruth's First Christmas Tree by Elly Griffiths
(Free on Kindle)

Thought I'd start the festive season with a feel good story - and what could be more feel good than Cathbad helping Ruth to decorate an alternative Christmas tree whilst Ruth earns his gratitude when she discovers and returns the tiny piece of The Henge that has gone missing and that Cathbad feels is causing his friend to be ill. Full of mysticsm.. but why not? - it is Christmas after all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Having read the Ruth Galloway books I knew all the characters but think this would not be a good introduction to them, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
One of the difficulties with short stories is getting to know and care about the characters. Having read the Ruth Galloway books I knew all the characters but think this would not be a good introduction to them. I did enjoy this but felt it had been taken from a larger work. Worth getting if you have read the full length novels and know the history behind the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
C. E. Bevis (Coventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Ruth Galloway series) (Kindle Edition)
Great series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews