Customer Reviews


415 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (143)
3 star:
 (93)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cosy short story
I love christmas stories and I really enjoyed this cosy short story about four villagers competing in the Skipley Christmas bake-off. It's only 25 pages so there's no deep mystery or intriguing plot, but it's a lovely light coffee break read which manages to give personality to each character, all of whom are very likeable.

It took me about 15 minutes to read...
Published 20 months ago by Cianta

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading
A very short book more like a short story in a women's magazine. Ok for a quick read but nothing gripping.
Published 11 months ago by Andrew Heath


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
This little story Isn't too bad, It's meant to be short but It could have been made Into a longer one because there were storylines which could have continued!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming story, yummy biscuits, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Sarah Hague (Montpellier, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
This is a charming story, with the action centring on four main characters. They are all keen to win the bake-off competition but disaster strikes on the big day.

Nicely written and an entertaining warm-up to getting into the Christmas spirit. I followed the cinnamon stars recipe at the end of the story, and they were absolutely delicious. I'll certainly be making more for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy!, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
Like the best Victoria sponge: sugary, light, easy to consume, and just a little too sweet. It's all very cosy, with no real rivalries among contestants for the Christmas baking contest. Though there's a little bit of devilry, it's understandable and forgivable, exactly in the Christmas spirit. And, of course, there's a Christmas kiss at the end, not to mention a couple of yummy recipes. Bring on the yule log!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
Nice easy read. First book I've read by Clements. A lovely bit of Christmas spirit. Worth a read. The words short and sweet spring to mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely xmas short, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
charmimg xmas short read sweet village set story, romance and baking
you even get 2 recipes at the end!!!!! to get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Puts you in the Christmassy mood, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
A nice short story to get you in the Christmassy mood. Nicely written and kept me wanting to read it. Would love to read more about the villagers of Skipley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great xmas recipes, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
Bought this for the xmas period and for FREE gotta love a bargain!! Cant wait to get stuck in and bake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
A charming festive short story, I read it in about half an hour but it was a surprisingly good read for a short story. Should it have been longer ? Yes - definately , it had the potential to be fabulous chick lit !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Christmas "Bake" down has started, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
Tapping into two markets at this time of year Christmas and Baking brings us this little short story by Abby Clements - The Christmas Bake Off.

Rachel just wants to win something and be recognised for her efforts for once. John is perhaps having a go but his skill is putting together flat pack furniture than a cake and then there is Katie who has a reputation to uphold as she bakes for a living and wants to be talent spotted for her baking by the famous TV baker - Joe Carmichael.

Things do not go to plan in fact there are some suspicious ingredients in it. True colours are shown and well you will just have to read to find out what happens.

A quick Christmas read to get you in the mood for some more Christmas themed reading and if not then some baking at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying quick read, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bake Off (Kindle Edition)
What a sweet story, I felt as if I were pressing my nose up against a bakery window, with accompanying smells and yumminess. A bonus pair of recipes features at the end of this light but satisfying quick read. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Christmas Bake Off
The Christmas Bake Off by Abby Clements
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews