Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!!
I loved this book!! I can't recommend it enough!

The characters were very believable, as were the situations they coped with and "Ticket" shows just how much an assistance dog can change someone's life!
You can't help but fall in love with "Ticket" and you quickly learn to care about all the characters as they have been so wonderfully created...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by johnsonkon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read - 3.5 stars
'Me Before You' by JoJo Moyes is my favourite book ever and I read a lot. When I read a review of Alice Peterson's new book, it was compared to it and I couldn't wait to get my hands on a copy. I did worry though - would it live up to my expectations? Would it be too similar and try to copy it?

This book follows Cass after she has an accident and ends up in a...
Published 22 months ago by The Little Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!!, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By My Side (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book!! I can't recommend it enough!

The characters were very believable, as were the situations they coped with and "Ticket" shows just how much an assistance dog can change someone's life!
You can't help but fall in love with "Ticket" and you quickly learn to care about all the characters as they have been so wonderfully created.

Sometimes funny and sometimes sad, this is a book everyone will enjoy! Hopefully it will also help people understand more about what its like living with a disability as well as encourage those who are disabled to do what the main character "Cass" does and make the most of their lives regardless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 18 Aug. 2013
By 
Agi - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: By My Side (Paperback)
I am not totally sure if my review can describe how much I loved this book.
Alice Peterson is author that I always wanted to try, I have her "Ten Year On" on my pile by the bed, it's just that there are so many books to read and there is so little time. But anyway, when "By My side" arrived at my door I was more than happy to start it.
To be totally honest, I didn't know what this book is going to be about. I haven't read the blurb before I requested it, I just knew I want to read it. After reading the summary I have though oh - oh. And I was right. I have never thought that I can produce so many tears. Especially at the beginning of the book, when the accident happened, when Cass was trying to adapt to her new life, with Cass's parents and brother trying to cope with this new situation. And then with the dogs.
Oh my God. A personal note here. I am a world - known dog lover. And animals lover. I can't even watch Disney cartoons like Bambi or "King Lion" because I cry like crazy. Forget "Marley and Me", no way can I watch such films. I am also a dog breeder and I am deeply interested in every dog activity and I know how loyal, brave and lovely dogs can be. And so I could see all what Peterson's has described in her book, all the feelings, every tail - wagging, every move and dog - laugh. It was so real, so fantastic and so beautiful that I just cried crocodile tears reading it. Ticket and his doggy friends are individuals in this book, each of them is a Character and they are lovely described.
Cass I loved from the very beginning. I couldn't help but put myself in her situation and ask questions like "What if it happened to me". I am not sure if I could cope like she has. I think I would be more Guy - like, even with the same end. Cass is strong, lovely, friendly, loyal and funny, she is a wonderful character in this book and it was actually a joy - ride to see how she is coping. She was so intelligent and I loved the dialogues in this book, they were sharp and clever and witty.
Every character is this book was so important. I loved Cass's parent as well, especially her mother, she was amazing woman. Cass's new friends, every one of them had his or her own story and they were all so, so sad but nevertheless they were trying to start a new life. Charlie... There were moments that I wanted to shake him, bang his head on the wall or slap him but more often I wanted to clap on his back and tell him that he's great. In my opinion, he was.
What is so sad about this book is the fact that it could actually happen to all of us, and that there are people like Cass and her friends around us, and only when we read books like this we realise this.
Although this book cope with very hard subjects it is written in a wonderful, light and easy way. There are maybe too many details about disabilities and some organisations but they were really vital to this book and it didn't put me off at all. The chapters were short and engaging, all was fantastically researched and I enjoyed every word of it. It has opened my eyes and let me see some things differently. I would go that far and say it is a must - read for all.

I received a copy of this book from publisher in exchange for a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By My Side (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? I loved this book!!

The characters are believable, the story line unpredictable and I had to stop at times because I could not see through the tears!!!

Can't wait to read my next Alice Peterson...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most special stories I've ever had the pleasure of reading! A MUST READ! xxx, 22 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: By My Side (Paperback)
I had heard so many amazing things about Alice Peterson's books, so I was very excited to start By My Side.

Cass Brooks is enjoying her life, she is a medical student and spends her days happily with her boyfriend Sean. But one day, her carefree life comes to an abrupt halt after Cass steps out into the path of a truck. Suddenly life has changed for Tess - She can't walk, and now her hopes and reams seem out of reach as Cass is uncertain of what lies ahead. But soon, something she least expects comes into her life to help her on her way...

Words cannot describe how much I loved this book! As soon as I started I was hooked! Alice Peterson has created a truly PERFECT story and it was better than anything I could have imagined.

Some of you may not know that I'm physically disabled. I have a brain tumour, and among my many health problems it's caused hemiplegia down my right hand side, meaning I'm paralysed on my right side, so both my right arm and leg have very little function and mobility. I find every single daily task difficult, some days I struggle to get out of bed or dress myself, and I need help to do almost everything in my life, I only have one good arm and as hard as I try it doesn't get me very far with things such as cutting food, opening things, even making a cup of tea or drink sometimes feels like the equivalent of climbing a mountain. And I also can't walk very far at all so like Cass I have a wheelchair that I have to use every time I go out.

The reason I'm bringing all of this up is because being in my position, I could relate to Cass possibly more than I've ever related to any other character in my entire life. I genuinely felt her frustrations at the beginning of the book as she realised just how much her life had changed and began to realise all the things she could no longer do, as well as her new dependency on others. I warmed to Cass straight away, I really identified with her in her new life and I wanted more than anything for her to be happy and progress throughout the story. I got behind Cass and I was very much rooting for her all the way.

The other characters are fantastically written. Dom and Guy in particular were favourites of mine. Cass meets Dom and Guy while she is in hospital after the accident, and they are in similar positions to that of Cass. I liked Dom and Guy's personalities - Dom was a jokey guy who really tried to look on the bright side of things and he made me smile. Guy, like Cass, was struggling to adjust and I enjoyed the friendship that the three of them had, I loved how supportive and understanding they were of each other.

Ticket is GORGEOUS! I fell in love with him straight away - he is such a bundle of happiness! I especially loved reading about Ticket's growing relationship with Cass, I liked the strength and love that they gave to each other, and they had the most beautiful friendship I've ever read about. I felt I learnt a lot in this story, although I was aware of the work that dogs do and how they help disabled people, I was thrilled to read this story and discover more about what charities such as Canine Partners do and how much of a help they are to others!

I especially worry about stories with disability in them, I worry that it won't be true to life and I understand it can be a tough topic to get right. But I needn't have worried at all...Alice Peterson has excelled in her storytelling, I feel she really `got' Cass and her disability. The story flowed beautifully and was told in a way that gripped me and touched me at the same time. I became very emotionally involved in the story...it was like an emotional rollercoaster. I laughed at the humourous moments and at Cass and Ticket's first meeting as I thought that it was wonderful! I also cried a lot during this book ass well, there are many moments that will touch your heart and I admit there were times I had a few tears and one moment where I was full on sobbing.

By My Side is one of the most special stories I've ever had the pleasure of reading. I can't put it any better than that. All I can say is that By My Side is the best book I have read this year, and it is a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspiring, Truly amazing., 21 Jun. 2013
This review is from: By My Side (Kindle Edition)
From the day the postman delivered Alice Peterson's By My Side, and I read the press release that came with it, I knew it was going to be a book I mentally needed to be strong for. I knew half of it would be the thoughts in my head and thoughts I am yet to start to deal with. I was right in my thoughts and I was moved greatly by not only the story, but the compassion that had gone into everything about the book. The words, the research, the honesty. It covers many aspects of disability including severe depression that some people faced with newer conditions struggle greatly with.

I'm not writing a proper review for this book, I don't need too. I'm sure the synopsis above is more than enough to draw in a huge crowd. I just wanted you all to know that you will love it. You may cry and feel sorry for Cass and her friends. You may laugh and think good on you girl too. All I ask is that you take the time after reading this fabulous book to see how you treat people with disabilities. You will see what I mean in some references throughout the book. (No spoilers here sorry)

I will forever be grateful for authors like Alice Peterson. Opening up taboo subjects and showing the world what life is like for some. Yes, it may be fiction, but there are people out there in them said conditions. I take my hat of to you Alice, you're a superstar in my eyes.
Please treat yourself and buy this book, not only do you get a wonderful heart wrenching story, you get a take of love and romance, it's funny and overall fabulous. If that's not enough for you, you also get to see life through somebody else's eyes.

It's absolutely brilliant.
There's not enough stars for this book really, it's worth so much more than the lousy 5/5 I can offer it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that will truly touch you., 29 July 2013
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: By My Side (Paperback)
Every once in a while you read a book that truly moves you and stays with you, and sometimes you have no idea before you start that the next book you're about to pick up will be one of those special ones. Last year, it was Jojo Moyes' 'Me Before You' that was a stunning read that to this day moves me when I think of the story (and I think that's quite true for pretty much everyone who has read it). I wasn't expecting when I started Alice Peterson's novel that this would be my 2013 'Me Before You' book, but it certainly is. With a very touching storyline and an amazing lead character that you'll love, By My Side is my must-read of 2013 so far.

Cass Brookes would admit she had a pretty good life. She's living with her boyfriend, they're happy and she's at University studying Medicine, her dream job. However, that's all completely shattered in a moment when one morning, Cass steps out into the road into the path of a truck. She's paralysed, and has to adapt to a completely new life in a wheelchair, and living back with her parents again. Just as she was struggling to find hope, Cass meets Ticket, a beautiful dog who she quickly falls in love with. And then a on a skiing trip, she meets Charlie, who also seems destined to change her life in other ways. As much as Cass yearns for the life she had before the accident, she knows she has to make the best of the one she's got... can Charlie and Ticket help her find her path to happiness again?

What I found odd about this book is the fact that the blurb pretty much tells you the main crux of the story. It isn't a surprise to the reader that Cass ends up paralysed, and I was sort of wondering where the book would go after that. I needn't have worried, because it is so much more than the accident and Cass becoming a paraplegic. In fact, it is exploring her life after the accident and how it affects not only her but those around her too, in particular her family. Some of the scenes with Cass' parents are very touching, and moved me because of the emotion involved in them. You can see how hard it has hit Cass' parents that their daughter is now paralysed, it's one of those things you dread as a parent for your child, and Peterson really puts across in her writing how emotionally hard the situation is for everyone.

Cass is such a strong character, and you can't help but love her. Yes, she finds it incredibly hard to adjust to a new life, as anyone would, but together with her family, friends she met in the hospital where she started her recovery and her new found friends Charlie and Ticket, she begins to see there is more to life than being stuck in all day, and wants to make her life better for herself and those around her. Peterson does not shy away from the difficult realities of the situation, and writing in an honest style that really does make you want to keep reading to find out what Cass is going to do next. At times, it isn't easy to read, when Cass is frustrated and upset, you certainly feel upset with her, but it's a very rewarding read and certainly made me feel very grateful not to be in her situation, and full of admiration for those who deal with these things day in, day out.

Another thing I want to mention is a few organisations in the book. Back Up is one charity who help organise adventure holidays and such things for people like Cass who have disabilities, and this is included in the book, and where Cass meets Charlie. It sounds like an amazing organisation, I had no idea that something like this existed and reading about Cass skiing was just eye-opening and brilliant. The other is the association where Cass finds Ticket, her assistant dog. Again, I didn't know this existed but this book opened my eyes to what a wonderful thing it is, and how these dogs really can help people with their independence and just generally making them feel loved and cherished. Cass and Ticket have such a special bond in the book, Peterson makes you fall in love with the gorgeous Ticket, and I could have read so much more about the pair of them.

This really is a superb book that will not only emotionally touch you, but totally open your eyes to a world we don't perhaps think about - one where normal, everyday things in our life become a struggle, where the lives of our family are entirely different in just a few seconds, and even how we can perceive people in wheelchairs, and their lifestyles. Cass shows us that you can live life to the full, with the help and care of the people around you, and shows us how much we can take for granted by being about to do such simple things as walk up a flight of stairs, or reach something from the top shelf in the supermarket, things Cass finds she can no longer unaided. Peterson's writing is simply brilliant, honest and frank, emotional and very touching. By My Side is a book you should read this summer, and it will stay with you long after you turn that final page. An utterly amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No book has made me cry before!, 23 July 2013
This review is from: By My Side (Paperback)
I read this book in three nights. By My Side tells the story of Cass who runs out in front of a car and finds herself paralysed from the waist down. Her promising career as a doctor and her relationship with Sean seem further and further from her grasp when she wakes up in the hospital than she ever imagined. After Sean leaves her she hits a low, until her Mum takes her to get a dog called Ticket, who helps her to cope with the hardest of times along with Charlie who shows her that she still can live her life with a little nudge from him.

This book made me cry, which no other book has done before. It is clear that Alice Peterson has conducted a lot of research in to the subject of Canine Partners, and interviewed many people to capture the reality of the situation that Cass finds herself in.

For everyone who has had a dog, you will be touched by this story and all the more for those who have loved and lost too. Peterson writes in an effortless style that draws you in from the first page making you read it in only a few sittings.

The dialogue is believable and emotional and carries you along with Cass on her journey of acceptance of herself in the new body, with a whole new set of possibilities and people in her life.

I urge anyone to read this book, for it reinforces the good work that is done for those who have suffered from terrible accidents and teaches you along the way. I admit that I wasn't aware of just how much support there is out there for these people.

A wonderful way to spend a few hours of my time and I am looking forward to reading more of this writer's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, beautiful, romantic and a absolute MUST READ, 19 July 2013
This review is from: By My Side (Paperback)
Firstly I want to thank Alice Peterson and Quercus Books for allowing me a copy of By My Side to review.

I first became a fan of Alice's when I read Ten Years On, so when I read the blurb for this I knew I was in for a brilliant read that would send me through a roller coaster of emotions. And it certainly did!

Everything you need to know is in the blurb right there, I'm not sure I could add much more but I will certainly give it a go.

So Cass a medical student, suffering a awful injury has to adjust to life in a wheelchair. Recovering in hospital, her boyfriend Sean dumps her, BY LETTER! (I know what a dirty scumbag right, I had to refrain from screaming at him!)

Cass while in hospital meets Dom, a happy-go-lucky joker and Guy, who is finding it harder than most to adjust and is grumpy and frustrated but eventually becomes a bit of a softie.
They become key parts of her life and her recovery, understanding each other in ways family and old friends cannot.

Back living with her parents and giving up her life of medicine, Cass goes through some very low points. Some bits had me weeping because I really felt for her and her frustrations that life was going in the exact opposite direction to what she ever wanted or expected.

On a trip out with her mum they "stumble" across a centre where they train dogs to assist people like Cass to live more independently. And this is where she meets Ticket.
Ticket changes Cass's life, he makes her more determined to live a fuller life and makes her see how life can be.

This leads her to taking a trip skiing (I know mind boggling but incredible) which then brings Charlie into her life. Who, I won't mind admitting I found quite dishy, bit boy did he frustrate me at times.

I adored this book. It was so heart-warming and genuinely lovely. It was superbly written and well researched.

I think Cass was strong willed, determined and vulnerable. Hearing the story through her voice was a real eye opener and left me with a lot of respect for people that live with these disabilities everyday, it's easy to forget how good we have it sometimes.
It also left me with massive respect for charities that train dogs to assist with living, because not only do they provide help, they provide companionship, love and independence.

A truly remarkable read that had me laughing, sobbing and cheering our heroine on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need to buy this book!, 18 July 2013
This review is from: By My Side (Paperback)
No review will ever do this book the justice it deserves, for Alice Peterson has gifted the world with a story that is full of empathy and realness.

Cass one day has everything she knows cruelly snatched from her, as she learns to function and live again, we share in her journey.

By My Side is full of so many wonderful characters all experiencing their own challenges. From Cass our heroine of the story, to her parents who just want to see their daughters eyes sparkle again, to Edward injured whilst serving in Afghanistan.
I loved how the story dealt with the taboo subject of disabilities, how a disability affects the person and also their families.
It was also refreshing to see the issue addressed of how the public treat those with a disability, I was disgusted at the way someone moved Cass' wheelchair.

By My Side is an emotional read, it will make you laugh, cry and fall in love.

I fell in love the moment Ticket entered the story, his love for Cass, was felt throughout and their partnership made for wonderful reading. It opened my eyes to the amazing work that Canine Partners and Back Up do to assist people with disabilities.

In 372 pages my world changed, not in the same way that Cass' did, but I was left inspired and in awe at the strength which came from many of the characters.
I really don't want to go into the story any more than I have, this is a story that you should pick up and experience, it's a story that will stay with you and make you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars young,gifted and in a wheelchair, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By My Side (Kindle Edition)
This is a story of what it is like to suddenly find yourself paralysed and wheelchair bound and to fall in love just as passionately but much more inconveniently than any able-bodied young person. All the characters are believable and come together by a variety of routes. The writing enables you to feel their frustrations and anger as well as sharing their joys and sadness. I feel I learned a lot as I became more empathic with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

By My Side
By My Side by Alice Peterson
£4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews